We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you Love Elephants, this is where you want to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours

Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours
Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
+66 53 818 932
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$345*
and up
Ranked #10 of 333 Activities in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Elephant Nature Park, a unique conservation project set in Chiang Mai Province, Northern Thailand has been in operation since in the 1990's with a goal to provide a sanctuary and elephant rescue center. We have been involved in dozens of rescues and sustain a natural home for this endangered species. Mission: To protect and conserve elephants in a natural environment and to provide a healthy and fruitful life for all those creatures under our care
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you Love Elephants, this is where you want to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This week was my 3rd visit to ENP (warning: it may be addictive). Lek is an amazing woman who is treating animals the way they should be treated. You will be able to interact with the elephants and not feel bad about it. You will feel good about not riding on the back of one or watching them perform in a way they should not be forced to. And...the food is really good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,767
    249
    59
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still Love It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is my second trip to ENP. on my B'Day. And I plan to volunteer there every year. I met so much of incredible and interesting group of people from all over the world. From young to the elder. We all come with one thing in mind, have fun, help with the work, bring back memories and educate other people that our eles are wonderful social animals. They need to be treated with respect and kindness. Just watch them in the open space of ENP. is so peaceful. I can't wait for my next B'Day in Jan'14

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I visited the ENP recently and totally enjoyed the day. While others have commented negatively that the day was too slow, that was one of the things we liked about it. On many tours you are rushed through everything with too much to see and no time to experience. Not at ENP. It is a peaceful, serene place and the pace of the day reflects this. Nobody is rushing around and the elephants don't have to contend with harried visitors. There are many comfortable vantage points from which to watch the elephants doing their thing and we enjoyed having time to just observe them in their habitat. We picked ENP because it is not a typical tourist attraction -- they do not have elephant acts or rides -- and we were pleased that we felt like guests, not tourists to be entertained. The long delicious lunch afforded plenty of time to visit with other guests from all over the world and then relax a bit before the afternoon activities. Personally, I would not change a thing about ENP. It was an amazing experience to learn about and interact directly with these beautiful animals. They are treasures and that's just how they are treated at ENP.

If you are debating among other elephant "camps" and ENP, I would encourage you to choose ENP because all of the elephants there are rescued and some of them have injuries which are treated by the park. The fee you pay to visit goes back into supporting this wonderful work and giving these noble animals a safe, kind home. On the way back to Chiang Mai we passed some of the other camps where the elephants were tethered with chains on cement pads -- this doesn't happen at ENP. The elephants at ENP are free to move about in their social groups and are not forced to interact with visitors. All in all, ENP as probably as close as the average person can get to having a safe, natural experience with elephants.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 weeks in Thailand and our day at Elephant Nature Park was one of our favorite days of the whole time. What a beautiful place and a beautiful story. The time we spent with the elephants was really laid back - you almost felt like you got to know them. We got to feed them, hear about their stories and watch an eye-opening documentary about elephants in Thailand. I have so much respect for Lek and what she's doing to give these injured/retired/abused elephants a peaceful life. We enjoyed everything about the day - from our small group of friendly tourists we spent the day with to the food and the guides...and of course, most of all, spending time with and learning about the elephants in the park. At first I thought the price was a little steep, but after looking at other places and knowing what the money is going toward, my husband and I thought the price was right on.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a marvellous place to visit. Run as a save and conserve as opposed to let's make money for ourselves from the poor creatures. What an amazing experience, walking around with guides to see the elephants, feeding and petting them. Even get to wash them down in the river too, and see a tiny little one with its Mother. They also show videos which I avoided as I'd heard there could be some sad stories involved. We instead sat on the riverbank watching elephants at play. I really can't recommend this highly enough and all the money goes in to keeping these elephants safe from harm which many of them experienced before they were rescued. Highlight of my holiday and some. Lunch was also provided and was great all vegetarian with plenty of choice. Not a cheap day out by Thai standards but so worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.