We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time and Good Cause” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours

Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours
Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
+66 53 818 932
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$425*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Book a visit thru our website and *Not* via viator. Elephant Nature Park, a unique conservation project set in Chiang Mai Province, Northern Thailand has been in operation since in the 1990's with a goal to provide a sanctuary and elephant rescue center. We have been involved in dozens of rescues and sustain a natural home for this endangered species. Mission: To protect and conserve elephants in a natural environment and to provide a healthy and fruitful life for all those creatures under our care
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
“Amazing Time and Good Cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I am so glad I had a chance to stop by ENP when I was in Chiang Mai. Lek is doing amazing things trying to provide a safe haven for these abused and tortured elephants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,163
    286
    63
    23
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“TOP EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

amazing in every way. great staff, organisation, principles and overall excellence. "LEK" the lady responsible for this sanctuary to be there is a true animal right's warrior. there are also hundreds of rescued dogs, cats and a bunch of buffalos. the land is gorgeous and the many programs that are offered are highly educational and fun. I WILL DEF GO BACK!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited the Elephant Nature Park in November 2012 on our honeymoon and it was without doubt one of our top two highlights in an action packed 3 weeks holiday.

It's amazing what Lek and her team is doing here and they deserve all the credit they are given. We will never forget the amazing day we had here.

You don't get to ride an elephant or watch it doing tricks but you get to see rescued elephants in their natural habitat, up close and personal, plus you get an education as to the reality for most elephants in Thailand.

The elephants are so large yet so gentle and fun to be around. We loved putting the food right in their mouth and petting and talking to them, then watching as they flap their ears (a sign of contentment).

Washing and soaking the elephants in the river was a fun highlight for us as was getting to see the baby elephant Naavan and the naughty elephant called Hope - what a character!

The whole day is a great experience and great value for money, plus lunch here, provided as part of the day, was delicious.

Elephants are amazing creatures and Lek is such an amazing person for what she is doing here. We hope to get back to volunteer for a week at the nature park sometime in the future.

Tips for the day: Bring some high deet mosquito repellent - some of the people on the tour got nasty bites on the day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A sparkle of HOPE . . .truly magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This refuge is truly deserving of more than 5 stars. A highlight of our trip to Thailand, we encourage you to take a day and visit this little piece of heaven on earth for the elephants that have been mishandled (and tortured) for the benefit of 'tourism.' I know, we are tourists ourselves, but here we are educated about their abuse, we see these beautiful creatures in a natural environment, we feed them, we bathe them and we know all our entry fee money is going directly to their cause. Lek is an amazing Thai woman who had a vision - to preserve what is left of a dying population of elephants in Thailand (and other parts of the world) by bringing awareness to humankind of the cruelty associated with the 'training' of these animals for our pleasure and filling the pockets of their owners. You will leave here uplifted and in awe of this experience. So much more can be said, but just GO! Situated in the hills outside of Chiang Mai, the jungle, river and valleys are breathtaking!
We will never smile at an elephant and his mahout (trainer) on the city streets of Bangkok or in any unnatural environment again. These animals don't belong there and need to be rescued. If you only knew the 'how' and the 'why' ... you'll stop supporting that too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Dream come true. If you are enamored of elephants, go but be prepared for the heartache of these elephant stories. Stay overnight if you can, for as many days as you can. Accommodations are divinely rustic, food is awesome. If you get there on a Monday, as we did, you have the opportunity to participate in the blessing of the new volunteers - a memory I will treasure. I would LOVE the opportunity to return for a longer visit as a park volunteer and we will look forward to doing that when our kids are a bit older. The overnight lets you get a bit more in-depth with the elephants and a chance to walk around the park with them as well as meeting the mahouts more personally.

Cautionary - if you are afraid of dogs or have children that are, there are a LOT of dogs roaming the property. Our guides kept talking about how elephants and dogs are not friends, so it was a little strange. This could be a negative for some, and was at times for us although we love dogs. We did view more than one dog fight during our stay. Nobody likes to be in the middle of that.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Nature Park - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.