We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in homely environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Shilton Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Shilton Resort to your Saves list
Royal Shilton Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159/8 Jedyod Soi 7 Jedyod-Changkian Rd | Changpuek Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand (Formerly Bura Rumpa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
PA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great experience in homely environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed for four nights and felt that we were at home and not in a hotel. This is located away from the main city, in the neighbourhood. We had a nice private cottage with a large living room. Breakfast was basic but promptly ready at &am. Coffee/tea is available throughout the day from 6am. Dining area faces the pool. Costs 150Baht[5$] to go to airport or night market/city center. Food is cheap locally. The foodmarket which was about two blocks away, served local food. It cost about 3$ for two adult and a child, freshly prepared.. Cant beat the price. There was a large Bathtub but did not use it. Bathroom is small. Free Wifi is available. The owner lady cannot speak proper English but is helpful and try to get someone if she cannot get things done for us. They arranged for a private taxi for a whole day for about 2000Baht which was a good price. To go to the golden triangle it cost 4000 for about 9 hours. It was cold the first night as there is only airconditioning here. This year was unusually cold but got better the following day. There are two pools, one in front and another in the back. Overall we had a nice experience after staying in the 'routine' hotels in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for the private cottages in the front portion for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place and wished we had stayed here longer! Excellent prices and accommodation. Was slightly worried about location but taxi or tuk tuk costs 100 - 150 thb to old city (15mins) and cost 150 thb from airport. The hotel is on quiet side street of local area and we ate at local restaurant on main rd called K and Ts best food we had in thailand and cost around 2GBP for 2 course and drink ! Flight path above hotel but was'nt disturbed by the noise. The lady owner doesn't speak good english but was so sweet and tried to help us with taxi etc. Rooms spacious and clean with mini bar with water and cleaned every day. Breakfast basic but good. Overall an excellent hotel and I am glad of the location so we got to try all local food stalls and food. People were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in september 2013. We had a wonderful time here. We booked a villa (bungalow). It was great: clean, authentic, a seperate bathroom en showerroom, a very nice big bed (the best we had during our holiday) en everyday new towels.
The bungalows are in the garden. Beautiful; lots of nature. There are two small swimmingpools. You have breakfast near the swimmingpool. The breakfast is ready at the time you asked. There is a microwave to heaten it up when you're a bit late. The food is covered. Fresh fruits and toast everyday.

The owner speaks some english. She is really friendly and helpfull, The place is outside the centre of Chiang Mai (10-15 minutes drive by car). You can order a taxi at the reception. If you ask the phonenumber from your taxidriver then he can pick you up when you want to return to the hotel. So we didn't mind that the hotel wasn't in the centre. The hotels offers free wifi.

Outside the hotel there is a long road with plenty opportunities to eat (local food, sushi, fruit). The hotel is located on the way to Mae Rim (tours to the Tiger Temple, Elephants, trekking, rafting, etc.).

We would definitely return to the Royal Shilton Resort if we'll decide to go back to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that a villa is a small but nice bungalow. Look at the prices; you get what you pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

When you enter the area you immediately notice the great atmosphere. It's really quiet and green. The look and feel of the rooms is great: it smells super nice, it is really clean and looks just very welcoming. The rooms have a large bathroom, air conditioning, a tv and a refrigerator. The bed is nice as well, not as rock hard as most of the other beds in Thailand.

The breakfast is simple but nice. The hotel manager is really friendly but her English is not that well. She does clean the room every day, makes the bed and supplies with new towels. Overall, we really felt like home and had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and payed £20 for one night in a villa. On arrival we thought the villas were beautiful, the bath tub was fantastic unfortunately never got to use it with only staying the one night, we had booked for 12 nights but felt we could not stay due to a few issues we had. First there was no safety deposit boxes or safes. The next morning when we went for breakfast it had already been cooked and left uncovered outside on the table for probably over an hour,there was a microwave to heat it up , not ideal. After breakfast we deceided to relax round the pool but were told there was no sun loungers.We also found it hard to find no one seemed to know were it was.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide Brits
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We paid about £12 GBP per night here which was ridiculously good value given the nice room and unusual hotel. There was a good sized pool, security at the gate and friendly service from the manager and staff.

Breakfast was good with coffee served all day (serve yourself).

It is not that close to the centre of Chiang Mai and it is pretty 'local' around the hotel but the people are friendly and it was not expensive to get into town and back.

Would stay there again for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel when we first arrived at Chaing Mai. I think we were the only guests there, the gardens are lovely as are the two pools.The staff asked us what time we wanted breakfast and it was all laid out for us in the morning, felt like our own private retreat. It is a little out of the way, but it only cost £1.50 in a taxi to the town.We loved how tranquil this hotel is, would go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Shilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Shilton Resort

Address: 159/8 Jedyod Soi 7 Jedyod-Changkian Rd | Changpuek Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand (Formerly Bura Rumpa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Shilton Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Shilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Shilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.