We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility midst the hubbub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 485 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tranquility midst the hubbub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When the gate to Charoenraj Rd. closes behind you the tumult of the city immediately begins to slip away. My wife and I stayed here for a week and enjoyed the whole time immensely. I suspect that we will be back. The welcome from 'Pepsi' was most warm and he and other staff members carried our luggage around to our room, which was very comfortable and decorated tastefully with teak furniture and local silk and ceramics. The grounds are stunning and along with the tasteful layout of the buildings in the compound, make a extremely tranquil setting.

Other guests were quite an international and sympatico group as well - open to chatting, but not forcing themselves on you.

Opus, the owner, was around daily and available if you asked for him. My wife needed to replace some asthma inhalers and he drove me around to a couple of drug stores to secure the correct items. This took a couple of trips, but he insisted on taking me. Service above and beyond.

I would highly recommend Baan Orapin to other readers and will be doing the same with my friends.

Room Tip: Hard to say, but I would think one of the rooms in the inner courtyard/area would be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    459
    70
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
116
301
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights at Baan Orapin over New Year 2013. We are a family of four and had the family suite at the back of the property which has two large interconnecting rooms with a lounge area. The rooms were gorgeous and the showers were the best we found in Thailand! The hotel is beautiful, it's so tranquil, you would never know you were so close the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai. The staff were welcoming and helpful, but never overbearing. The breakfasts were great too. Opus the owner arranged a white water rafting trip for us which was fantastic fun, well priced and safe! The hotel is in a great location, so easy to get around Chiang Mai, but right by the river with lovely restaurants nearby. Chiang Mai is a wonderful place to spend New Year, so much fun and Baan Orapin is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Family Suite at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Baan Orapin is a delightful bed and breakfast located near the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai while maintaining a peaceful ambience. It reminded us of going home to grandma's house without having to deal with the family! The owner has done a wonderful job of keeping up the property in a classic Thai style without compromising on modern-day amenities. We split our stay between a standard room and a suite (once little sister joined the trip). The standard room is quite roomy and would have been a beautiful place for just the two of us. The suite was surprisingly spacious for the price, especially since we've seen small rooms in these areas. The bathrooms are also spacious and clean, so one does not feel cramped and uncomfortable when trying to clean up for a relaxing evening after a day of strolling about town.
The location is on Charoen Rat Rd. just across the river from the old city, a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from all the markets, temples, and dining options that Chiang Mai has to offer. It is actually quite nice to sit at any of the restaurants (we recommend Regina, just a couple minutes heading south on Chaoren Rat) and watch the occasional boat passing or the lights and movements of the Warorot Market.
Breakfast at Baan Orapin is a good way to start the day. Again, sitting on the veranda next to the pool and amidst the tropical garden, we feel very much at home. There are both western and eastern options for breakfast, although we never ordered traditional Thai breakfast in time (day prior). A cup of well-brewed coffee, fresh orange juice, fruit, with eggs and bacon or perhaps fried rice, put enough calories in our system for long days of walking. Ok, we didn't always walk everywhere. The shared taxis around town are a nice option. Just flag down the driver of those covered trucks and explain where you would like to go (a map is indispensable) and expect to pay 20-30 baht for the basic trip. We asked the staff questions frequently at Baan Orapin, and they were very helpful with tips, such as which markets to visit on particular days, which restaurants had the most authentic food, how to get to various landmarks, and where to get our laundry done cheaper (just a couple minutes up the road!) At the end of each day, we were glad to return to Baan Orapin, our Thai home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic B&B. Gorgeous architecture in a fantastic neighborhood. Rooms were beautiful and clean and the staff was attentive and courteous. Easy walking distance to old city and night market. Nearby restaurants that cater to both Thai and Western tastes within easy walking distance. Make sure you walk up the road (away from the night market) and visit the Khao Soi ghetto. Go to Lam Duan--packed with Thai's, it's not easy to get a seat and you have to sort of point your way around the menu, but it's well worth it. Also, the Hinlay curry house is about a five minutes walk and serves up amazing curries. If you're adventurous, go for the ghost pepper curry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This gem of a boutique hotel (B&B) is situation just minutes away from the old city. We did tons of tours out of the hotel, all of them pick you up directly from within the gates. The manager's name is Pepsi - a truly kind hearted man. He provided help any time we needed to confirm our bookings with local companies for tours by calling them on his cell phone.

The staff are working non-stop to keep guests happy and the grounds as spotless as they are. It really was a special stay. My wife and I were thoroughly impressed. The breakfast options are extensive and the coffee is DELICIOUS. Rooms are clean and big. You will experience guaranteed happiness with your stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were in Chiang Mai for Christmas with our children ages 9 and 11. After reading many reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try Baan Orapin. What a dreamy oasis in a busy city! The grounds, house and bungalows are beautiful. We stayed in a two room bungalow near the pool. Our accomodations were so comfortable and roomy, the breakfast served by pool was delicious and the staff was always so friendly. After very busy days visiting elephants, seeing tigers, learning how to cook thai food, it was always so nice to return to Baan Orapin. Tuk tuks are easy to find right outside the door and it's a quick walk over the bridge into town. Great restaurants, shops and cafes are right outside the main gate doors. We'll be back!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong, but it's probably quieter at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent our stay in Chiang Mai at Baan Orapin and we would definitely do it again. The place is outside the city walls, and positioned along the river next to several bars and restaurants. It's also a quick 15 minute walk into the city walls.

The estate is lovely and calm, with colonial-style architecture with lots of teak wood. We stayed in the junior one-bedroom suite and it was very lovely. I'm an early riser, so I could close the door to the bedroom while my wife slept, and not disturb her while watched the news.

The staff was very lovely and pleasant, and very detail-oriented. Breakfast was amazing, western and Thai, and very tranquil next to the swimming pool. They even provided guests Thai candies as a gift for the new year. I would definitely recommend this place to friends, and would return on any future trips to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: We had the junior one bedroom and it was lovely. Given the price for the place was very affordable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list