We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic setting with amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yaang Come Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yaang Come Village to your Saves list
Yaang Come Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90/3 Sridonchai Rd | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Scenic setting with amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I only stayed one night here with my cousin but we were blown away by the comfy room, the beautiful grounds and amazing hospitality. So much the we very seriously thought about blowing our train tickets and extending out stay.

The staff was welcoming, the check in process was a beeze, they helped us book the elephant care trip, showed us the nearby sights, reopened the restaurant when we came in late as the staff was closing because we looked really hungry, and they helped us track down our elephant trek pictures and mailed the disk to me in China with no charge (the CD wasn't ready before we had to leave to catch the train). I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    150
    36
    16
    8
See reviews for
165
289
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you like a quiet and peaceful environment and yet near the city, this is perfect. Lots of greenery around the compound to make you forget you are living in the city. Walking distance to the night market and good eateries.

We stayed in the family suite. It has a King bed and 2 single beds, perfect for a family of 4. The room is clean and spacious and well-equipped. However, the ACs need to be upgraded. The one in the master br is noisy and is leaking on our last night. Other than that, no complains about the room. Fresh fruits and bottled water are replenished everyday.

Pool is a little small but because of the limited rooms in the hotel, it was fine. There was no feeling of "overcrowded-ness". Breakfast is ok, not fantastic but good enough.

Another plus is the free shuttle service to the Central Plaze Mall for shopping.

Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yaang Come Village is perfectly located on the east side of town, near the finer restaurants, and walking distance to the many Markets, restaurants and bazaars. The property has a very tropical look to it, with open air lobby, open air restaurant and bar, and wonderful gardens, large plants and flowers. We stayed in 513and 514 which is in a secluded area in the back...a wonderful place to be. The rooms are very nicely appointed, with comfortable beds, solid AC, fresh fruit in the room, and free bottled water daily. The bath is standard but there is a step down to get to it, which can be a shock if you are walking in there late at night.

The staff here was wonderfully sweet and accommodating, except for one surly bartender who worked the afternoon shift around the pool. He was the reason we chose to eat only one meal at their restaurant in the evenings.

We had a couples massage at the adjoining spa that was very nice and relaxing. I have had better and I have worse, but the prices were reasonable.

With all of the hustle and bustle of the city, this property is an excellent choice for rest, peace and quiet. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break of Chinese New Year. I arrived before my room was ready but was offered a cool drink and towel. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout my stay. Location is great, walking distance to old town, night bazaar, etc. note that many hotels and retreats in Chiang Mai are actually located out of town, this is a good option if you want to stay closer to the centre. Lots of restaurants located close by.

Rooms are sparse but large and clean. There is a swimming pool which was very nice. Breakfast buffet was good, not the best I've ever had but nothing to complain about. I also really liked how they arranged to take me back to the airport via hotel van, cost not much more than a regular taxi.

As for negatives, there was nothing significant. Hot water was lacking, although a cool shower was ok in te hot weather. Air conditioner was a little noisy, beds were a little harder than I am used to but again nothing too bad. My only real complaint would be the value - it was more expensive to stay here than at a 4 star hotel in central Bangkok. This can perhaps be explained by the fact that CNY is a peak time, but although my stay was pleasant I thought it was relatively expensive for the experience.

Overall a good stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were ambivelant about this hotel when we first booked with our travel agent. It looked a bit cheesy on some of the photos. It was a wonderful surprise when we arrived. Very tasteful, excellent service, beautiful pool area. Very good buffet breakfast. We started in a superior room but upgraded to deluxe for bit more space and to spoil ourselves. We were happy we did, it had a better feel, though the superior is very nice as well. Both rooms were nicely furnished and had lovely tapestries. Great bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I have no idea where people get their negative comments from. This place is perfect. Outside the city walls (80 baht Tuk Tuk) right next to the night market. It is so green and relaxing that you forget that you are in Thailand second biggest city. On the days we weren't on tours we had the pool to ourselves. If you want to chill out and relax and sleep at night this is the place. If you want to party and have your kids run wild, go elsewhere. And the Mosquitos aren't that bad, it's northern thailand, you can't escape them no matter how hard you try!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Yaang Come was the only place of the four places we stayed in Thailand which actually went the extra mile since it was our Honeymoon. The hotel is a boutique hotel and is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are in cottages interspersed between large trees, food was decent but since it is in the city we had only breakfasts there.

The location is brilliant, we walked to the Old City area and went to all the Wats in the day. And its a stone throw away from the night market, which btw is awesome!

The tour to Wat Phra Doi Suthep was very reasonable in price and well arranged by the hotel.

A lovely lovely place, highly recommend it and Chiang Mai as a city too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yaang Come Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaang Come Village

Address: 90/3 Sridonchai Rd | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaang Come Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yaang Come Village boasts of Thai architectural buildings amidst verdant greens which shelter various exotic birds and squirrels. It is truly an oasis of beauty surrounded by an ever-increasing area of new high rise hotels. The hotel embodies the charm and elegance of its picturesque surroundings. The traditional Lanna ambiance engulfs you into a peaceful retreat. Guests are ushered in with warm and friendly hospitality. Exceptional accommodation facilities make memorable stay for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Yaang Come Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaang Come Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Yaang Come Village Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaang Come Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.