We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Beautiful but Mosquito-Infested Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Pat Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sri Pat Guest House to your Saves list
Sri Pat Guest House
16 Soi 7 Moon Muang Rd, Sri Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Expensive and Beautiful but Mosquito-Infested Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

LOCATION:
+ Excellent proximity to Sompet Market and all the nearby tasty and cheap restaurants and street vendors. Easy to get to Tha Phae Gate and rent a bicycle to get to the rest of the old city and beyond. Within walking distance across the moat is Cat House, a great restaurant just outside the old city.

SERVICE:
+ Friendly and attentive service at check-in, but there is no bell-hop to help you take your bags up the beautiful teak stairs, which are unfortunately a little slick after you take off your shoes (which is required when you enter that area of the guesthouse).
+You're welcome to leave your bags after you check out or before your room is ready.
+After hours, there's a security guard out front. His English is not so good, but he's very friendly.

ROOM:
+/- The room itself is spacious and beautifully appointed with wood panels, teak floors, a comfortable bed, mini-fridge, TV, closet with hangers, and a charming balcony with a small table and chair. Unfortunately, the door to this balcony has no screen, so at some point before my arrival, it must have let in a flock of mosquitos because I spent about the first 30-45 minutes killing them. I left one light on to lure them to one area. See the attached picture for just a few of the casualties that landed on the bed.

AMENITIES:
+/- Wifi was ok, but sometimes there was difficulty connecting or it was slow.
+ All the usual toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.).
+ As others have mentioned, the pool is very small and is more decorative and for lounging about rather than any serious swimming.
+ There is about one liter of free bottled water per night.
+ It looked like there was free tea and water in a little kitchen area by the lobby, but I didn't use it.

- In this price range (around USD 50 per night during high season), breakfast should really be included as it is at the locations of some of Sri Pat's competitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    82
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
119
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The Guesthouse is situated just off a main road with the Old Town Walls (convenient for restaurants, corner shops and street food).

The staff were welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was a Standard Double. It had a balcony looking over to the pool below but was very quiet, tranquil, relaxing, spotlessly clean and a lovely shower.

Will definitely stay here again when we visit Chiang Mai in the future, such a lovely City.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked Sri Pat based on recommendations from friends and are so glad we did - the guesthouse is absolutely immaculate. You can wear shoes in the main lobby but when you go to pool area or to your rooms you take off your shoes. The floors are beautiful hardwood and tile and they are absolutely immaculate - as are the railings - just like at home. We stayed on the third floor with a little balcony and it was absolutely perfect sitting out surrounded by palm trees and having a drink, playing cards or just relaxing. Location is perfect - within walking distance of the old town. Staff are extremely helpful. The do book tours although we didn't book any while we were there. The pool is small but looked very refreshing even tho we never used it. We enjoyed talking with Wit and his mother Pat who is quite a character but doesn't speak (private joke). Thank you Wit & Pat - if we ever have an opportunity to visit Chiang Mai again, we will definitely stay at Sri Pat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I loved this hotel! It was a perfect start for our trip in Thailand! The staff was friendly and helpful, though...I wish they were more honest with the quality of the tours they have brochures for. The two we booked through them were mediocre, though not terrible.

Perfect location close to everything, however I got woken up in the morning by the sounds of the passing scooters.

Overall I would definitely recommend! We will be back next time we are in Chiangmai!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

A great hotel, located on Soi 7 Moon Muang Rd. Chiang Mai. Great location in the Old Town, with fantastic friendly staff. We stayed for 6 nights and highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were big and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Location is good. floor, stairs of polished teak. very small swimming pool, more of decoration value. No room service, not even for carrying your luggage to room which on 2nd or 3rd floor & no lift.
Highly commercialized management, charges Five BHT for printing one page, tries to sell various tours at so called reduced prices which are higher than market, will get you a motorbike from a shady dealer having ill maintained bike at higher rental. Limited staff, cleaning of rooms takes long time; non co-operative management, but always smiling Fai & kai in reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The deluxe rooms are beautiful, comfortable and quiet. Tasteful furniture complements the luxury of a balcony overlooking a quiet courtyard. Staying in these rooms was a highlight of our trip.
The standard rooms, unfortunately, are not as nice. Still, the standard rooms facing the deluxe rooms provide clean, quiet and inexpensive accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sri Pat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Pat Guest House

Address: 16 Soi 7 Moon Muang Rd, Sri Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sri Pat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Pat Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Pat Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.