We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel but nice and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winner Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Winner Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winner Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19/1 Sridornchai Road, Soi 2 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small hotel but nice and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was very clean and lose to night bazaar. I booked from agent in Bangkok ( tongchai tours) . I didn't expect to much for the quality because I pay just 900 baht/ 2 pax with breakfast . When I arrived at there with superior room . It is amazing small hotel more relax and comfortable.so if you rie looking for some small hotel nd not too much this one good choice for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
3
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room and bathroom seems very clean. However,the dirty part are the bed sheet, blanket, towel and the toilet cloth. The bed sheet couldn't even cover 100% of the bed leaving the mattress and mattress protector shown. And there are still hair (Long) left on the bed which clearly not belong to myself. The towels are stained. The window of my room are not able to shut tightly and ppl might be able to climb up and climb into the room. The bed are very hard too!

The good thing is, their mini bar item are relatively cheap if you do not want to walk out to the 7 Eleven for a can of Coke or peanuts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are rather bad maintained. The bathroom had some spots and wasn't really clean. The A/C was poor and did not really cool down the room. The staff was far from friedly but then motivated when you book some tours with them. However, haven't seen serious problems with cleaness nor totally ignorance by the employees. A little breakfast incl coffee is 100 Bhat, which is just okay. It is situated close to the old town and only 10 min walk away from the famous night bazar. Anyway, for the price there might be better choices.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Room and bathroom were very clean. We stayed 5 nights without any problems. The breakfast was not so good, it was quite limited. Cleaning lady visit every day. Location was ok, easy to walk to downtown or take a taxi. Staff was okay, I wouldnt say they were very friendly but ok. Wifi worked very badly in our room (5.floor) but in the lobby it worked well. Beds were very (extra) hard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was prepared not to like this hotel after I overpaid for three nights to a "travel agent" in Bangkok. I was charged over twice the amount I found on the internet or was given for extended nights at the hotel. However I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are simple, beds a little hard, but the warm, helpful staff more than compensated for these negatives. I booked all my tours with them and the price was comprable or less than other agencies. A simple breakfast was included and laundry service provided at 60 bahts for two kilos. The walk to the old part of the city and night bazaar was a little more than 10 minutes for me, but doable. I felt very safe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this hotel because the travel agent told us it would be crowdy in Chiang Mai and we shouldnt go without any reservation upfront. When we arrived we saw a lot of other accomodation for a lower price with rooms available.
If you are looking for a nice, clean (rather small) room, than this hotel is ok for you.
Dont expect a friendly staff helping you out, exploring the city.

All ' things to see and do ' are a walking distance away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Winner is located just on the outskirst of Ching mai city but also conveniently located within walking distance to the night market and Ping river. So whilst its not in the middle of any notable place its just right to get anywhere you want on foot.

We found the hotel team to be generally not of any use to us. Maybe there was a language barrier but I felt they could have been a little more enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. We were there for the loi Krathong festivel (huge) we asked where was the best place to go and they pointed us in the direction of the old city moat. Luckily the 20000 lanterns in the sky gave away that we should be heading in the opposite direction and did so.. So either they didn’t understand or just did not care. But I think the 1 meter lantern in my hand on the evening of loi krathong kind of gave away my intention. It wasn’t a shopping bag!!!

The facilities offered by the hotel are basic, and they can arrange excursions at decent prices.
The room was ok. Size was ample with a good electric shower TV and Fridge( stocked)
Air conditioning worked. The general cleanliness was ok but the corners and windows were dusty. The Wifi was poor. Always on but the room we were in had an intermittent weak signal.
The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced. Even worse than the sleeper bed in third class on Vietnams railway. And they are worse than sleeping rough!!! Really poor choice of mattress and although already stated on here by others( wish I had taken your advice) the hotel had a stockpile of new exact same mattresses in the corridor blocking the fire escape. What made it even worse was the yellow stains on the blankets they were clean but it was off puting . Which brings me onto the rest of the hotel.

The standard of cleanliness was questionable. Im not sure it was if they maybe about to have a refit or something but there was just crap everywhere. Mattresses, window frames and bits of carpet laying around randomly. Walking through to my room just reminded me of being in my garage at home.

Overall average value for money, but don’t rely on them. And don't think for one minute you will feel like your sleeping on a bed.

Room Tip: Every room will have a bad mattress so just go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winner Inn Hotel

Address: 19/1 Sridornchai Road, Soi 2 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winner Inn Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Winner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winner Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.