We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inexpensive hotel with helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winner Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Winner Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Winner Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19/1 Sridornchai Road, Soi 2 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice inexpensive hotel with helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was prepared not to like this hotel after I overpaid for three nights to a "travel agent" in Bangkok. I was charged over twice the amount I found on the internet or was given for extended nights at the hotel. However I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are simple, beds a little hard, but the warm, helpful staff more than compensated for these negatives. I booked all my tours with them and the price was comprable or less than other agencies. A simple breakfast was included and laundry service provided at 60 bahts for two kilos. The walk to the old part of the city and night bazaar was a little more than 10 minutes for me, but doable. I felt very safe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    25
    14
    16
See reviews for
3
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this hotel because the travel agent told us it would be crowdy in Chiang Mai and we shouldnt go without any reservation upfront. When we arrived we saw a lot of other accomodation for a lower price with rooms available.
If you are looking for a nice, clean (rather small) room, than this hotel is ok for you.
Dont expect a friendly staff helping you out, exploring the city.

All ' things to see and do ' are a walking distance away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Winner is located just on the outskirst of Ching mai city but also conveniently located within walking distance to the night market and Ping river. So whilst its not in the middle of any notable place its just right to get anywhere you want on foot.

We found the hotel team to be generally not of any use to us. Maybe there was a language barrier but I felt they could have been a little more enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. We were there for the loi Krathong festivel (huge) we asked where was the best place to go and they pointed us in the direction of the old city moat. Luckily the 20000 lanterns in the sky gave away that we should be heading in the opposite direction and did so.. So either they didn’t understand or just did not care. But I think the 1 meter lantern in my hand on the evening of loi krathong kind of gave away my intention. It wasn’t a shopping bag!!!

The facilities offered by the hotel are basic, and they can arrange excursions at decent prices.
The room was ok. Size was ample with a good electric shower TV and Fridge( stocked)
Air conditioning worked. The general cleanliness was ok but the corners and windows were dusty. The Wifi was poor. Always on but the room we were in had an intermittent weak signal.
The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced. Even worse than the sleeper bed in third class on Vietnams railway. And they are worse than sleeping rough!!! Really poor choice of mattress and although already stated on here by others( wish I had taken your advice) the hotel had a stockpile of new exact same mattresses in the corridor blocking the fire escape. What made it even worse was the yellow stains on the blankets they were clean but it was off puting . Which brings me onto the rest of the hotel.

The standard of cleanliness was questionable. Im not sure it was if they maybe about to have a refit or something but there was just crap everywhere. Mattresses, window frames and bits of carpet laying around randomly. Walking through to my room just reminded me of being in my garage at home.

Overall average value for money, but don’t rely on them. And don't think for one minute you will feel like your sleeping on a bed.

Room Tip: Every room will have a bad mattress so just go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of times now. It is well located in the city of Chiang Mai, within walking distance of the night markets and the old city. Tuktuks are readily available to take you anywhere. The staff are very helpful and will arrange tours, transport, etc. and also try very hard to fix any problems. For example, we had a room where the aircon was not working, so they moved us to another room pretty smartly. The rooms are very comfortable and quite large, with ensuite bathroom. Their prices are very reasonable and include a basic cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently booked 3 days at the Winner Inn and after reading some reviews were concerned that we had made a mistake. We have travelled extensively through Asia, India and the Pacificand are used to low cost accomodation with no service, however this hotel was recommended by a tavel agent in Bangkok. After reading the reviews saying 'that the place was dirty' and 'one couple left at midnight', I was not looking forward to arriving
Fortunatley we were pleasantly surprised.... The rooms were neat and quiet. The staff were excellent and gave great with service with a smile. They helped us with trips, shopping and generally gave us good advice.
The place is value for money. Would go again if on a budget.

Les and Olia Hewer

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

we had a trekking in the jungle the day we were leaving the hotel.they charge you to keep your liggage for a couple of hours.and when we got back we asked if we could take a shower and they put us into a toilet in which there was a hole through which water fell. it was very disgusting and no hygienic at all. and thhere was noone at the hotel at all!"

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

we stayed at winner in for 4 nights, we found the staff really friendly and the older lady was really sweet and helpfull bless her!!! she was always trying to give us free bottles of water because it was hot and she wanted us to stay hydrated!!!! we did have one small probem with bedbugs, my friend gt bitten in the night and we found one in the morning, we went down and told then and with in minutes they had moved us to a different room and had 5 staff in the room cleaning and searching, the location of the hotel is great, and the food was very nice to, the rooms and bathroom was clean!
appart from the bedbug a very nice stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winner Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winner Inn Hotel

Address: 19/1 Sridornchai Road, Soi 2 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winner Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Winner Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winner Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.