We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of People Place (1st Building)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added People Place (1st Building) to your Saves list
People Place (1st Building)
9 Soi 8 Charoen Prathet Road, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“good spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

good location as described by others. we were in the older building but used the internet in the lobby of the other building. our room was clean and on the 3rd floor and it is a bit annoying not having a lift. aircon worked fine. it is so close to the night market and has lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Our tour group used this as buget accommodation. We were in the older & cheaper of their two sites so there was no internet and no elevator. The layout of the rooms seems to differ so you may want to ask for one of the rooms that has a small balcony.

The rooms do have the basics - a mini-fridge (noisy), air con, shower, and a Western toilet. It wasn't too noisy but climbing up and down the non-air-conditioned stairs was a little annoying.

Going out of Reception and turning left takes you onto one main road. To your left is a 7/11 and a karaoke bar that's really a brothel. To your right it's a short walk to see a kangaroo sign across the road marking a good internet cafe. Keep walking up that road and you can turn right into the night markets or keep going straight ahead for 20 mins to reach the Walking Street Market on the weekend.

Going out of Reception and turning right takes you into a carpark which you can shortcut through to be in the Night Markets within a couple of minutes.

It's also possible to walk from the hotel to the Old City; it takes about an hour allowing for casual browsing along the way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was first introduced to People Place hotel along Sridonchai Rd by a group of cycling friends in May 2011. I found it to be a gem of a place, so it was an obvious choice for me when I went again in August 2011. I opted to stay in their Building 2, which was newer and had an elevator. Excellent location, less than 5 minutes walk to the famous Night Bazzar, an excellent Chinese restaurant nearby, with many amenities like a Seven-11, laundry, and a nice noodle shop all a short walk away. And the price was really good value. Rooms are clean and spacious, with a comfy bed. For a hundred baht, you could get a decent buffet breakfast at their Building 1 cafe. Everything worked - aircon, hot-water, TV, lights etc. Efficient reception svc.
I may be asking too much considering the price of the room, but it would be great to have free wifi (it's now 15B for 15 mins), more movie cable channels, and in-room safe (free lockers available at the reception counter now). I've actually booked 8 rooms for November for my cycling group.
Chris de Souza

Room Tip: Their Building 1 rooms cost 100 Baht less than the rooms in Building 2, but I found the aircon a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

reasonable priced . paid about 700bhat per night.close to night market. there is a corner restaurant with nice food nearby.
u can take tuk tuk or taxi to nearby tourist destination.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place has a great location near the Night Market. There have been muggings (according to the poster hanging up in the hotel) nearby... so just be extra careful when walking around solo. Breakfast is good and in the new building. They charge for WiFi. (annoying) and it's not in both buildings - just the newer one. Good location for visiting hill tribes or taking a cooking class.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the People place hotel while we mountain biked around Doi Suthep. The hotel is off the main road, so it does not get much street noise. My room overlooked typical Thai side road suburbia. We were housed in the New Wing.
Rooms are clean, and cosy. Toilets are simple shower, sink, loo affairs, but well-maintained. Rooms may not have a direct window views. There is a small balcony where the air con compressor is housed.
Nearby are the night market, laundry service, massages Starbucks and 7-eleven.
Overall, a value for money hotel to hang out in Chiangmai.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Right round the corner from the night bazaar. Basic hotel but for a short stay all you need. Nice friendly staff, great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to People Place (1st Building)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about People Place (1st Building)

Address: 9 Soi 8 Charoen Prathet Road, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your People Place (1st Building) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
People Place Hotel Chiang Mai
People Place Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage People Place (1st Building), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.