We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Bupharam

Wat Bupharam
Thaphae Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 208 things to do in Chiang Mai
Attraction details
Serris, France
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is one of my favourite Wats in CM as it was so different from all the others. The decorations and sculpture are really stunning and they have lots of statues of animals everywhere around. This wildlife theme is carried on by the number of chickens and roosters that wander about

Felt very peaceful here as the inside of the temple was not crowded and you can take your time taking it all in.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
274 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very different than the other wats I visited. It can be easily visited when walking between Old Town and the markets. When I look back on my trip, this temple still stands out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Largest teak Budha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Pleasant Wat, which was a kind of cultural centre with different style buildings. Very pleasant to stroll around for a few minutes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Have a look - worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This Wat is a larger property and has interesting setting with pleasant gardens. One of the locals tried to highjack us probably to sell a tour or transport but just ignored him as he was getting aggressive. Whilst many places of worship can look similar in Chiang Mai and there are lots of them, a close look shows lots of differences.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Special Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our guide took us here as a bonus while on our scheduled tour. We came back a few days later for a second visit. It was a quiet, peaceful temple..if you like animals you will certainly enjoy the atmosphere. My husband had the opportunity to release some birds into the wild here also. Lovely history here too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Bupharam also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Bupharam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Bupharam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.