We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chiang Mai Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 / 10 Suriyawong Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 335 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Decent place, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here about two years ago, we liked it then and still recommend it for anyone looking for a reasonably priced 3 star hotel. The buffet breakfast is ok and good enough to get you started. If there over the weekend it's a easy walk to both the Chiang Mai Gate and Thapae Gate markets as well as many other sites in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    147
    94
    29
    5
See reviews for
37
94
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seremban
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Looking back at all the reviews,I would just comment that I love hotels that are quiet but within the distance of travelling from point A to Z. I like the pick-up from the airport at 100 baht, you reach to the lobby with familiar smiling faces greeting you and getting a room that I would hope be the same one.. collecting the keys after exchanging chats with Nongzi, Wealla and Thanadol and checking in my simple Standard Room, then resting for a short while before collecting my rented scooter. It is not a 5 stars resort but it suits me, affordable, quiet, sat television, a safe and a comfy double bed. Love the coffee, smiles from the dining area, love the pancakes or french toast when available and white rice with vegetarian side dishes for my Asian tastebud. For the price I paid and for what I get, what is the big deal about getting this or that? You can always choose the many many other places around the Night Bazaar or the River Ping for the complete Continental set including imported cheese or cereals or juice, there is always an alternative. I am comfortable here, sleep well, the cleaning lady on the 5th floor is a lovely one as whenever I am there, the room gets cleaned, the towels are replaced and I come back to a simple comfy room.. after my stat, thanks all around and I will be back again.By the way, WiFi is okay around the lobby and Palm Tree Restaurant, try NK Internet just across the street for super surfing and printing, both the owner and his wife are wonderful people.. just 20 baht per hour.

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor Standard Room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was ok, but it doesn't have the quality that you expect after visiting their website. The rooms are nice, but are not being cleaned daily (we stayed for four nights). They only change towels and make the bed (and didn't change the sheets during our stay). The breakfast was ok, and we had cheeseburgers for lunch that tasted good.

The swimming pool was nice, with good service at the poolside area. I tried getting a massage, but the prices where a lot higher then a few salons down the street. I never saw anyone there during the stay.

I was dissapointed that we had to pay for wifi. It was only free in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a great hotel. It is very reasonably priced and the rooms are cozy and clean. It has a good location from which to explore the historic city of Chiang Mai, to the many attractions you can walk. The staff are helpful and courteous. Very happy I stay here again, it is really cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good enough if you need to sleep there only. For breakfast go to tge bakery in the same street and for finner to the little pub opposite the hotel.

Rooms are adequate but do not expect 5 stars here.

Staff are friendly and the pool serves its purpose.

Location is excellent

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice hotel with a swimming pool but a bit overpriced for what we got. It's not far from the old town, shops, restaurants etc. are all within a walking distance. The breakfast is poor though, we had to tell the staff that the pineapple went off and that there are dozens of flies flying around the food. This should not happen at a hotel that consider themselves to be on the higher end. One of our room towels got lost somehow (probably left it at a swimming pool) and the receptionist kept grilling us about it every time we went to the reception, that was really unpleasant - it's just a towel so why bother your guests in such a way?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Soso hotel ideally situated near old town and at 20 min walk from night market.
Sort of no nonsense family-backpackers hotel.

Laundry and pharmacist at the opposite side of road. Pubs restaurants, scooter rentals nearby. Foodshops at chang mai gate nearby.

Good wifi at the lobby, not in rooms.

Room was not ready when we arrived, but we were offered to shower and change clothes at the pool. And were offered a free upgrade to superior room. Good reaction from the staff. Friendly and active staff, clean rooms. A bit of hard beds. Good tv set , nice rooms, a bit outdated, but original and authentic in opinion.

Nice public space with cosy and no nonsense tv corner, bar, next to the pool, ideal for following sports events as" tour de france".

The hotel gives the impression of a lively and no nonense backpackers and family hotel.

Cons and advice to the staff:

- you should have serious word with your neighbours: the simple fact of being waken up every morning at 5 AM by the noise of at least 5 competing roosters is not my idea of a good holiday. If I would have known this issue on beforehand, Chiang Mai Gate hotel would have been a nogo for us. Good sleep is very important, and crowing roosters are incompatible with this.

- the breakfast is frankly said lousy and some small steps can make a big improvement. Provide yoghourt and or cheese. Set some cornflakes for the kids aside (the cost is not so big, isn't it?). I agree that you don't want to win a gastronomical prize with your breakfast, but the service now is simply sub-par. When you see guests bringing in their own supplies, then you should do something about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiang Mai Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Address: 11 / 10 Suriyawong Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 335 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiang Mai Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Chiang Mai Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Mai Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.