We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleece central... still you gotta go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltribe Villages

Hilltribe Villages
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 102 Attractions in Chiang Mai
Type: Other, Cultural
Attraction details
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fleece central... still you gotta go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Interesting experience, biut not a great ethnic experience... pretty well commercialized and that's about all there is to it. Fleece targets beware! Still, ya gotta go, even if only t say you've been.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    28
    16
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kind of Disturbing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I'd like to hope that my entrance fee and the scarf that I bought directly helps these people, but I can't shake the feeling that I was at a zoo or museum staring at the exhibits. It felt unnatural and sad that the only way for these people to maintain an existence is to exploit themselves in this way.

I don't want to deteur any money from flowing their way, but please be aware that the village next to tiger kingdom seems contrived and may leave a disturbing mark on your soul.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Tourist attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited Baan Tong Luang Hilltribes Village 40min drive north of the city. It's a well organised and highly touristy place.

The good:
- You get to see the much-talked about long neck tribe (Karen)
- You get to see how the hilltribes live (Karen, Lahu, Hmong, Akha, Yao etc) , what they do for living (eg weaving)
- Kids running around happily, well trained to interact with tourists, eg when you pick up your camera, they will give you a smile immediately. Lots of photo opportunity
- very clean washrooms

The bad:
- Expensive admission: 500B per adult, 300B per child. I am 'justifying' to myself that I am helping to support the tribes.
- It's not a real village, everything is staged for tourists

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Phototaking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Its good experience and phototaking for memory. actually nothing so exciting. see them at their hut. and buy souvenirs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The villages were a great eye opener to how these hill tribes live, they were all happy and content and the children were adorable running up to meet us,.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltribe Villages also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Hilltribe Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltribe Villages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.