We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit D2 Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Chic hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We still talk about our stay at this hotel because it was such a fun experience. This hotel is located in the heart of Chiang Mai's night market. It was so much fun to just walk right out of the hotel nto the night market and be able to take a break back at the hotel room when we got tired before returning to the market again. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again when I return to Chiang Mai for a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    300
    69
    23
    4
See reviews for
161
494
71
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fortunate to have some outstanding staff who make what would otherwise be a somewhat cheesy hotel shine. You can't beat the location if you want to walk Chiang Mai's markets, find little restaurants, or choose between dozens of massage joints.

The orange-themed modern chic look comes off as just odd, considering Chiang Mai's lean toward backpackers, temple tours, elephant treks, and other outdoorsy things. The hotel gets high marks for friendly staff, a good breakfast buffet, and super-efficient airport shuttling. They fell short of my expectations with slow check-in, constant audio/microphone system goofs during our conference in their basement-level meeting room, a shortage of simple supplies like irons and ironing boards, and what was the hardest bed I've tried to sleep on since my stay in a Borneo jungle camp. I also think 1-2 more power outlets in the rooms would help a lot, so those of us with phones and laptops don't have to unplug stuff to charge up. That's pretty common these days for most travelers.

Nice people, great location. Given a choice, though, I would prefer something a little more toned down. Chiang Mai doesn't need a hotel trying to look like its in Miami Beach.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. your comments will certainly motivate us for further improving to continue our strive for excellence.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose the D2 after reading some reviews on here and were glad we made that decision.
The hotel is right by the night market but only 10-15 minutes walk to the old city.
The staff are SO friendly it makes the stay so enjoyable.
Breakfast buffet was good and the food in the evening was truly great (we booked a room which gave us 35% back to use at the spa or restaurant/bar) so didn't mind that it was slightly more than other restaurants nearby.
A highlight that we stumbled across accidentally was the 2pm shift change where all the staff perform a dance routine in reception - brilliant!
The bar is great and boasts one of Thailand's best cocktail mixologists - he was preparing for a competition in Bangkok when we were there so we were privy to some of his routines - stunning!
Didn't use the pool or gym but checked them out and they both looked adequate. Hotel was more than happy to let us borrow a couple of pool towels though on a day when we went elephant trekking.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend - fun place to stay with good facilities and location but great staff.

Room Tip: Check if there are any offers on the D2 website - club rooms come with some extra privileges
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found the location is convenience, breakfast was good, staff shift change was brilliant as well as a great mixologist.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our fun and funky hotel again in the near future

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you want to stay in a modern & funky hotel, I highly recommend the DusitD2 in Chiang Mai.
All staff we encountered were really friendly, smiling & caring. Nothing was a hassle for them.
The rooms were a good size, we had a twin room. There was a couch to relax on & the standard desk. Every day we recieved a little gift in a perspex orange coloured box. It was fun to see what we would get each day. Then at turn down we got a fortune cookie every night.The bathroom was a little small.
The pool area was nice just not much shelter from the sun & also the pool is on the smaller side but still pleasant enough. Didnt get to the gym but went to have a peak and facilities were good.
The hotel is in a good location for the night markets, right at doorstep. You are walking distance to the old city, maybe 10-15mins slow paced. Also close to the local Warorot market, which are well worth a visit. This is here the locals shop so prices are cheaper!
Can't say enough about the friendly staff, they realy make a difference to your stay. I was sick with a cold and each staff member I encountered asked how I was and if I was feeling ok which was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you were really impressed with our hotel and we thank you for all your positive comments to our staffs that we have already share with the entire team.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya Janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every visit to Chiang Mai, I wanna try a different hotel for accommodation. This time it's Dusit D2. Its downtown location near night bazaar would be delightful for some, but also trouble for others due to traffic. Hotel is styled as boutique. Room was spacious packed with necessary amenities, though bath towels were clean but quite stiff after several use and wash. There was no body lotion however. The room provided free wireless internet which is very pleasant for my business use. Breakfast was pretty average, not many choices to choose (given the hotel was 5 star status). All hotel staffs were very helpful in everything. In conclusion, Dusit D2 was not a bad choice to choose. But if your budget is not an issue, other hotels (e.g. Shangri-La) may be better in overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel has a good service and wifi signal is benefit for your business.

your special mention about our choice of breakfast and no lotion in the room have been noted and forwarded to chef & housekeeper for further improvement.

thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading a lot of reviews and doing research, we finally settled for Dusit D2 during our stay at Chiang Mai from Nov 8th to Nov 11th 2012. Feedback, as below-

1) Location: Walking distance to the night bazaar; 10-15 mins ride by tuk-tuk/car to the old city. Personally, I found the old city location much better than where we were staying at the D2. Lots of restaurants, bars etc and things to do in the old city of chiang mai.
2) Room Type: Trendy decor, comfortable beds, average size - can get bigger rooms at similar properties at the same price.
3) Food: Good. All 4 of us are vegetarians and one of us had special diet requirements. Breakfast on day 1 had limited choices, however, on speaking with the hotel staff and the front desk, good arrangements were made the next 2 days to take care of food as per our diet restrictions.
4) Service: Good. Friendly Staff. They took care of our room type requirements as per our email communication. However, I was disappointed since they gave us rooms on a lower floor after specifying that we wanted something on a higher floor.

Other tips-
1) At Chiang Mai airport, we met a taxi driver named Chai (don't remember his Thai name). Extremely friendly and helpful guy - He dropped us to the hotel and we made sure to take him for all our trips for the next 3 days in and around Chiang Mai. Fluent in english and took us around to a lot of local places for shopping and sight-seeing.

2) Go for dinner or lunch to this middle eastern restaurant (forgot the name) that is just before the traffic light where the night bazaar starts. Excellent food - best I've eaten in Thailand. We had a guy called Mint who waited on us - GREAT service! and made all possible arrangements since we had special diet requirements!!

Would I stay again at Dusit D2? Probably Not. Given the price and location, I would prefer something within the old city of Chiang Mai. Better options available at the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai.

thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. i am thrilled to learn that you appreciated our service as well as the staff who take the best care.

the team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Delightfully,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Dusit D2 met and exceeded every single expectation I had. From landing in Chiang Mai with a driver waiting for us and extremely kind and friendly upon our arrival, to thanking us for our stay...everything at this hotel was perfect. The service was absolutely fantastic. Every day the same guy would ask what we did the day before, what our plans were for the day, and there was no pressure to buy or book things, just for us to enjoy ourselves.

In addition to the immaculate service, the hotel was located about a 30 second walk from the night bazaar which was extremely convenient, and a mere 5 minute tuk tuk from the old city (or about a 30 minute walk). Everything was easily accessible.

The room was large with a good size bed (probably queen or king), a couch, desk and tv. Everything was spotless and it had a very nice modern feel to it, while still seeming "thai". All in all, the 5 days we spent in Chiang Mai were the best days of our trip and if we ever travel to a city that has a Dusit, we will certainly stay there.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukanya J, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence. i am pleased to hear that you can feel the thainess (sincere, modest, respect and care) that we cultivated to all staffs as a "Dusit" brand and glad to know that you had a good time with us as well as the room and the location are satisfied you.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
sukanya janchoo
guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.