We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Beit Hillel, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location, spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights during April 2014. The hotel's location is convenient as it is a few steps away from the colorful night market. The rooms are spacious. It is very annoying that the wifi is not free though!. Overall - it is a comfortable place to stay for a family. Don't miss the Songkran Festival in Chiang Mai!!! a wonderful experience! recommended for families!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our products and services. We are currently reviewing the issue of internet charges and overall connectivity with a view to making changes that will allow a greater flexibility in this area of concern

We are pleased to learn that overall your stay with us proved to be enjoyable and thank you for your positive recommendation of our hotel with regards to the location and room accommodation

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    479
    322
    142
    78
See reviews for
194
411
104
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I recently travelled to Thailand with our three boys aged 13,12 and 7. After our travel agent made our booking at the Centara Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai I decided to read a few reviews on trip advisor about the hotel.After reading a number of very negative reviews about the hotel I was very close to ringing my travel agent to cancel the booking, but after some discussion with my husband I decided that it wouldnt hurt the kids to stay somewhere less than perfect for the first week of our trip.On arrival at the hotel I was expecting the worst and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised and relieved. Everything was fantastic!From the reception to the rooms ,breakfast and pool area we really couldn`t understand how anybody could complain at all.And as for the location it was simply unbeatable. All I can say is that there must be some very fussy hard to please people travelling out there.Maybe those people should take a look around the country they are travelling in to gain some perspective.

Room Tip: We requested a refurbished room on the non smoking floor with laminate flooring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have stayed here many times as its ideal walking distance to the night markets and the bars in this area since I have been many times before I am automatically upgraded to a suite so I book a basic room every time the breakfast is good and the rooms are clean

Room Tip: find the express elevator as this is a better faster way to get to your room its sign posted but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Booked this hotel for its location . Very close to Night Bazaar. Reception was friendly. We booked a corner room 1701 , the room size was decent, the wash basin was outside of the bathroom, just as well because the shower , bathtub and toilet was a real squeeze. Mattress was very hard. Curtains did not close well and the morning light came into the room very early.Breakfast had a good variety of Western and Asian and they changed the Asian dishes . I stayed 5 nights . It is a old and very tired hotel. The room prices were very , very reasonable ,so do not have high expectations. Not a hotel for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive communication to us concerning your recent stay

I have asked our House Keeping Manager to check all the condition of all beds and curtains to ensure that no other guests are inconvenienced as you were – our sincere apologies.

Despite the issues that marred your stay we are buoyed by the fact that you appreciated the ideal location of the hotel and staff as well as the breakfast service and we look forward to welcoming your back on a future occasion

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had originally booked the Dusit D2 for our honeymoon stay in Chaing Mai, but the rates were so good at the Centara (during a sale) that we cancelled the Dusit and booked the Centara – we kind of wished we hadn’t.
It feels mean to be critical as the staff are doing the best that they can with what they have – and you certainly get a good service for what you pay. However it isn’t a brand new luxurious hotel, and even though we should have realised this before we went their webpage definitely shows the hotel in the best light possible.
We booked a club room and this provided us with round trip transfers to the airport which were great.
We also had breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails in the lounge. This was a little confusing as we are used to club lounges in other hotels (Hiltons, Hyatts etc) where you get soft drinks in the afternoons in the lounges this is not the case here, its water or tea/coffee, then in the evening the ‘canapes’ are crisps and nuts with two drinks each. I can understand why they offer such a limited service (it was very quiet there and they do not charge that much more for the lounge access) but nowadays most hotels offer more than this. Having the cocktails made fresh for you was nice and they tasted lovely, but it made the lounge very stuffy and formal, a help yourself to more basic drinks may create a warmer atmosphere?
The pool area (along with other areas in the hotel) is again very tire d and in need of a revamp. Our room was certainly very large and very clean but lacked modern touches. Staff try to be very helpful but their English is not very good (yes I know its in Thailand but most large hotels have staff with a good grasp of English) and I wish they would just say they didn’t understand instead of giggling at you, talking to their colleagues and laughing some more etc – quite childish behaviour when you’re seeking assistance.
We had room service – again quite old fashioned – good value for money I guess but food was very mediocre.
If you need an umbrella you can ask at reception and they will find one for you, but would expect touches like this to be in the rooms.
As another reviewer as commented I also did NOT like the shark fin soup advertisement in the room. If the manager is trying to come inline with other Centara’s why not scrap this?
Most disappointing for us is that we were there on our honeymoon and this so far is the only hotel we stayed in that made no mention of this (I had emailed letting them know and asking if there we could have a room with a particularly good view or if they offered any additional romantic packages, they emailed back stating my honeymoon was noted on my file so i left it at that – but no greeting or anything-really disappointing and room not ready for us either which again disappointing when they knew when we were arriving and collected us from airport themselves.
Location was good. Would I stay here again? I’m not sure. I wouldn’t recommend for a special occasion but if I wanted somewhere cheap to stay on a normal holiday maybe if the price were right. But for what we paid we were disappointed-in Thailand you tend to get a great deal, I would expect this level of hotel for the money we paid in the UK.

Room Tip: Club rooms are very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback – I have already forwarded your comment on the limit of food and beverage presentation to the Food and Beverage team who will now gauge how we can substantially improve this for all future guests

Your comment regarding the umbrella in room is well noted and you are correct in assuming that this a standard for our hotel also however for reasons I am now investigating the umbrellas were not placed in your room.

The issue of sharks fin soup is a contentious one and into the future I am pleased to inform you that all new restaurants opening at any Centara Hotel into the future will not be offering sharks fin soup.

Our Human Resource Teams group wide place a high amount of time and resources training our staff on guest contact skills – I am sorry that you were let down when your Honeymoon arrival was not recognized and for your wait for the room to be prepared. I have personally spoken to the House Keeping Manager and Front Office Manager who are tasked with discussing with each other on a daily basis the arrival of guests and ensuring that special occasions are recognized and given priority service – my sincere apologies that this was not the case when you stayed with us – it is an embarrassment to all of us and serves as a great lesson to our Team that we only get one chance to make a good first impression.

We hope that on a future occasion and visiting Chiang Mai you will consider staying with us again so as we show you the improvements made

Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Suffolk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our first stop after 3 flights from England and they made us very welcome even though we arrived very late at night. The rooms were very spacious with views over the markets on our first visit and views over the outdoor roof concert area on the second visit. If we went again I would ask for this side of the hotel. On our second visit our room was upgraded but to be honest we could see very little difference unless they counted the view as an upgrade so just book the cheapest.. The roof top pool on floor 4 was lovely places to sit in sun or shade and a great place to relax and recharge your batteries. The breakfast was excellent although on 2 days of our stay they ran out of 'crispy bacon' and they did put the bacon on bread in the containers. Normally this would not be a problem but as our daughter has to eat a gluten free diet there was not a great deal she could eat even with the help of a Thai speaking member of our party. We were there for Thai New Year and have never had so much fun with water and the hotel knew just how to cope when everyone came back soaked. An excellent base not just for the night market but for all the other things you can do around the area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the roof top concert area seemed quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great value and location! Feeling very old and has a large but old bathroom with mold under the tap plus had an horrible shower head. Breakfast in the morning was great though and would not hesitate to stay again just for the location and price!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments – I have asked our House Keeping Manager to check all of our rooms to ensure that the issue you faced regarding a dirty tap and shower head is not encountered by future guests.


We are pleased to learn that overall your stay with us proved to be enjoyable and thank you for your positive recommendation of our hotel with regards to the location and food service

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.