We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Anantara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Chiang Mai, a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extended Stay Saving
Ranked #3 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 1,338 Reviews
Colne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Anantara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Anantara is a beautiful, stylish hotel. The rooms, architecture, gardens, furniture and art are all amazing.

Staff are all really friendly and welcoming. We had a couple of meals which were absolutely delicious and offers choices other than Thai food (for when you are all noodled out!).

The only slight negative comment is that there are some times quite a few mosquitoes. The hotel does its best to keep them at bay but the architecture of the building means that the corridors are open to the outside. And of course the hotel is set by a river so has to be expected.

Don't let this put you off though, just go with good insect repellant and be choosy were you sit.

Other than that, a fab place offering easy access to Chiang Mai and is a 2 minute walk away from the markets which are fascinating.

Room Tip: Its been said before but it's well worth paying the bit extra for a room on a higher floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear yeahman

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. However please accept my apologize regarding mosquito problem whilst we hope that all of our guests enjoy the resort’s scenic riverside location, tropical environment and exotic nature, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimize disturbance from mosquitoes. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. In addition we provide mosquito spray in every guestroom and mosquito repellent at all of our restaurants, bars and public spaces for guests’ convenience. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    175
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
202
763
68
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Castleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and it was Wow all the way. We opted for an exec suite and were not disappointed from airport to room to bed. Clean, spacious, the service was anything can do, cocktails were fab, superb gym facilities and I guess everything you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. My only feedback relates to children being loud around the pool which did spoil the yen atmosphere, maybe a kids pool? We would definitely come back, recommend to others and now use Anatara hotels else where. A massive thumbs up from us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Bracken50

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai and I am delighted to hear that you rank us so highly. I would age that this resort is designed more with couples in mind and certainly a great base to relax and recharge in the center of Chiang Mai. As such, I feel it was indeed a tad unfortunate that you were disturbed on this occasion as we generally do not have too many families at one time. I certainly apologise for any issue this caused at the time and appreciate your suggestion. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I just didn't like this hotel. On the positive side it appears very tranquil when you arrive, very open with seating around a pond which is beautifully lit at night. There is seating around a swimming pool and a good breakfast is served next to the river which is lovely. However I disliked the bedroom. Where we were it was quite a long way to the room along a corridor open to the outside so you have to swat away the mosquitoes. The room has a sort of open lobby which serves no other purpose than to house mosquitoes and we were asked to take off our shoes and put on the bedroom shoes. I would not have minded had the bedroom warranted it. The room itself is extremely dark, dated and shabby. For some reason the bathroom is in the bedroom until you close the folding doors. The bathroom is ok but in need of refurbishment I.e grouting. Also for this standard of hotel I don't expect to use a refillable bottle with a pump for shower gel and shampoo. I thought we were coming to the Chedi hotel but I understand it has now changed hands so I presume the new owners are going to invest in refurbishment.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear elliepoppy

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience here in Chiang Mai.

Having said that, you raise some good points for us to consider.
Rest assured that we do not consider ourselves perfect and will always look at ways how to improve. We will certainly discuss all the issues you raise and see if we can indeed raise the toiletry to be individually. However I certainly apologize for mosquito problem, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from this matter. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. In addition we provide mosquito spray in every guestroom and mosquito repellent at all of our restaurants, bars and public spaces for guests’ convenience. We do thank you for the time taken to share such thoughts and we do hope that you may return to Chiang Mai and to Anantara in the future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent four nights here in a Club Suite during the time of the Loi Krathong festival in November and my only complaint is that we did not stay longer! The hotel grounds were gorgeous - hypnotically Zen-like, and the floor to ceiling views across the pool to the river made it feel like we were living in a postcard. The stylish room was delightfully ambient and one afternoon my husband and I stayed in to read our books just so we could spend some extra time in it - from the Thai-spiced nuts to complimentary mini-bar and excellent espresso machine, our senses were sated. In addition, the cocktails and canapés in the club lounge were wonderful and the attentive service by the staff each evening there was perfectly warm but not intrusive. One morning we couldn't figure out how to dial our credit card company from our room and the club lounge attendant insisted on calling the U.S. right on the spot on his personal cell phone lest we have a moment of discomfort.

Because we had pre-booked several excursions we did not have a chance to enjoy the pool or spa, but our experience in the fitness center was top-notch. As Chiang Mai is said by some to be the best place in Thailand to experience Loi Krathong, which is celebrated together with Yee Peng, the timing of our trip made for an absolutely unforgettable experience. Chiang Mai spends days celebrating with fairs, parades, and fireworks and the hotel is conveniently located so that you can walk to the Night Bazaar and other festivities. Anantara also had a very special evening planned. It was a costly event but worth it to experience the amazement of these festivals from an unforgettable vantage point. A canapé hour with local artists and performers, and a decent (but not exceptional) buffet dinner precluded an evening of entertainment set up poolside, at riverfront - dancers, fire-breathers, puppeteers, musicians all skillfully blending ritual and local color. As the festivals are intended to seek atonement and celebrate one's blessings, a truly other-worldy, magical environment enveloped as candle-lit floats were released up the river and flame-driven lanterns high into the sky. Hundreds of points of light surrounded, drifting everywhere the eye could see. Of course the hotel welcomed everyone to float their own krathongs into the river and fly their own lanterns. Just about as perfect as an evening could ever get. Luckily we travel with ear plugs and a "white noise" app on our phones and they came into great use later that evening when we went to bed, shutting out the sounds of fireworks being set off along the river literally all night long - those would be highly recommended if you come at this time.

The breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful, and the staff pleasant and helpful. The hotel had just changed management days earlier and manager Nick Downing was highly visible and welcoming throughout the festival dinner and our entire stay. I am not sure when our lives might bring us back to Chiang Mai but if it gets to happen you can bet we will be returning here - for a week next time. At least.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mok43

Thank you for a wonderful review of your recent experience with us during the Loy Krathong festival. It was certainly an amazing time of year to be in Chiang Mai. The people, the lanterns covering the entire sky and the fireworks! Sights and sounds to remember for a long time. I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels. And yes, there is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai. I also glad to hear that you like our breakfast and thanks again for sharing such a great review and very big thank you to Mr. Nick Downing who had done a wonderful job while he was here and very smooth hand over this stunning property to me. Once again thank you for your time you've taken to share such an excellent review and we do hope that we can welcome you back...perhaps for the Loy Krathong festival next year.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Loved the look of this hotel when we first arrived and our room overlooked the gardens so we were well away from the road (request one of these if you would be bothered by road noise) and the room was a good size with everything you would expect from Chedi hotel. However, the rooms were badly lit, the bathroom particularly so, so much so that i struggled to see in the mirror to put any make up on. Lots of dark wood also added to the gloomy atmosphere. We were absolutely bombarded with Mosquitos every time we opened our door. We requested our room to be sprayed, had extra mosquito tablets provided but we still were inundated with the things. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was ok, again very low lighting and dark wood make for a very oppressive atmosphere. Nice pool area with the extra sun loungers on the upper level so plenty of space to sit out, and the staff were lovely. All in all though wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the gardens away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Maryanne202,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience here at Anantara Chiang Mai.

I am happy to know that you like the room design and hotel ambience. Our lighting configuration is set by the designer to set the overall mood and atmsophere of the resort. There are a lot of postive comments from our guests for the hotel design with its detail. You can see the details with their creative design start from entering the lobby to the reception, the restaurant, the cooridoor and the guests room.

After the cold season has passed, we do have mosquito presence in the hotel and we have been working closely with the city mosquito expert and our pest managment company to deal with this issue.

Once again thank you for feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We struggled for a while when choosing where to stay. At the beginning, my wife was attracted by Mandarin but we come to know that the management contract had ended and that is no longer under Mandarin. We then decided to choose somewhere near the night market and we are also interested about the scene behind where the movie Andy Lau had participated as well as the previous English embassy.

We booked a Kasara suite with complimentary pickup to and from airport. The hotel is very nice indeed and the feeling inside outweighed those mosquito and noise outside. Most the rooms are very close to the road with many cars passed by even during midnight but this is acceptable to both of us.

Thanks for the complimentary birthday cake offered by the hotel for my wife's birthday also. Blueberry and mango... Taste fantastic.

Next time, we will stay here again for longer duration and for suite with river view this time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear bremen1018

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

I fully appreciated you have chosen to stay at Anantara Chiang Mai for your vacation. As you realized that our team do our best to impress guests and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us.

However there was a minor experienced of noise disturbance and mosquitoes which I apologize to these inconveniences you had have cause and kindly noted that we are currently working on with pest management company to get rid of mosquitoes problem which hope it will be solving soon. Regarding noise disturbance which we are urban retreat located in the heart of the city. There is no doubt we cater to guests who are looking for a retreat and escape but still wish to have the easy access to the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.

Once again thank you for such a value comments that I shall pass on to our team and hope to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

we had a dinner in this hotel's riverside restaurant, it was quite a little creepy in the lobby and restaurant and we people crowed in the restaurant we all felt better. Service was excellent,but food was not good as their price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear m L

Thank you for coming at our The Restaurant.
Regarding food quality, I do apologize as it was not up to standard which I had pass this matter to our Executive Chef who will look into issue as well as the price that we are the same rank as our competitor hotels.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Chiang Mai, a GHM Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chiang Mai's traditional culture from riverside luxury Hidden between a towering wooden wall and the picturesque Mae Ping River in Thailand's beautiful northern city, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa is a luxurious sanctuary of striking contemporary style, accented by traditional Thai and colonial elements. Relax on your balcony daybed, admiring courtyard gardens or the peaceful flow of Thai river life. Find more tranquil seclusion at our Chiang Mai hotel with lazy waterfront pool days, exotic spa rituals and revitalising yoga, or delve into local culture with Thai boxing, cooking and massage lessons. Explore Chiang Mai's traditional arts and crafts, countless ornate temples, bustling markets and street food delights, as well as quirky cafes and galleries amidst a cosmopolitan vibe. Satisfy cravings for culture and nature with elephant treks and river rafting, visits to spectacular national parks and floral gardens, hill tribes and handicraft villages, or enjoy adrenalin pumping jungle adventures. Savour refined culinary journeys, from our famous Afternoon Tea and High Tea experiences, to impeccable Indian, Thai and western cuisine. Toast the sunset aboard a river cruise and celebrate days well spent with the sophisticated pleasures of our colonial bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.