We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Chiang Mai, a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extended Stay Saving
Ranked #3 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a truly great, well run hotel. Again, this was a recommendation of ma & da and it didn't disappoint. Courteous, friendly staff, clean rooms, an ok breakfast and location. A little bit on the expensive side, but worth every penny. Will definitely come and again, a little desert island in bustling Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Connor O,

We love it when guests recommend our hotel and we thank you as well as ma & da.
Keep telling the world about this little desert island in the middle of bustling Chiang Mai and come back to see us soon again at the Chedi Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    174
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
201
762
68
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is Ok. But what wondering me is it belongs to leading hotels in the world website. People get crazy about how good it is. It is normal. OK. Food ok wine list OK for Thaiand anywhere else small choise and expensive.
This hotel can not be compared with Shangrila or Meredien in Ciangmai but trays again and again. If you have good price stay there but don't believe this is the best hotel in CM.They fooling you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Georg K,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We regret that we were not able to impress you with our hotel and service. We do understand that guests have different tastes and expectations. We always try our hardest to provide memorable experiences and are sorry if this was not the case for your visit. Fortunately most of our guests appreciate everything we do and enjoy their stay as you can see from all the positive testimonies we get on this forum. We leave it to the readers to judge if they are being fooled.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is by far one of my favorite hotels! From the beautiful sleek modern design to the impeccable service, not to mention the location by the river and night market, the Chedi was our oasis for 4 days. We booked the suite which had ample room for two adults and our 10 year old son. And we loved the extra amenities that came with the suite. The daily laundry was definitely a plus after all our other activities (same day service if in by 10am). Also, after trekking all day and our biking/white water rafting trips, it is absolutely luxurious to come back to Chedi for a hot rain shower and complementary cocktails and canapé at the lounge. The suite and the extra amenities (airport transfer, laundry, evening cocktails, etc) are definitely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Marjoret,

Wow - Thank you for making The Chedi Chiang Mai one of your favorite hotels. It was a real pleasure to have you and your family and we are glad that you enjoyed the luxuries offered with your suite. We would love to have you back and would like to recommend another oasis with a sleek modern design and impeccable service - The Chedi Muscat in The Sultanate of Oman.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and i stayed in the Chedi for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place. It was our first time in Thailand and, although we wanted to see the sights and wander off the beaten track every now and then, we knew was wanted a luxury hotel to return to every evening (it was our honeymoon after all!). I picked the Chedi as it was so highly rated on this site and the photos, both company and customer, were stunning. We were not dissapointed.

Firstly, it's is an amazing piece of architecture, blending the old Consulate building with the clean-lined extension modern extension seemlessly. The grounds are wonderfully maintained and at night candles are lit making the whole hotel very romantic indeed!

Location-wise, it is perfect for exploring Chiang Mai. We both liked to walk into the town and it took us around 10-15 minutes to do so. A tuk-tuk ride will take you in 5 mins. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, all nice and all cheap.

We paid extra to stay in the suite, bragging to our friends that it was bigger than our flat! The room was stunning, spotlessly clean and well maintained. We loved having the free mini bar and laundery service but the biggest plus point of going for the suite option is the cocktails and canapes every evening. This were delicious and something we really looked forward to.

The breakfast was lovely, either served in the chedi lounde (for suite customers) or the restaurant. We found that as the week progressed, the lounge got more and more busy and we would often find only one or two memebers of staff in the area. All rushed off their feet (all still smiling of course!). Because of this, we started to use the main restaurant which was better staffed and had more variety on offer. Plus they gave me a whole jug of coffee rather than a small cup in the lounge! The food was all top quality and, given the standard of breakfast, pool snacks and canapes, we knew the dinner would also be amazing. This we saved for the last night, as it was obviously very expensive compared to nearby restaurants but we wanted to treat ourselves. It was by far the best meal we had in Chiang Mai, and the romantic atmosphere in the restaurant made our last meal very memorable indeed.

On the point of expense, I will say that clearly the Chedi, being a luxury hotel is pricey in many aspects. The restaurant is expensive for the area, we paid £80 for two courses and a bottle of wine but we would pay that in London fairly easily and, like I said, it was the best meal we had.

You pay a premium for trips as well which we knew to start and only opted to take one trip with the hotel as we wanted a half day excursion to Doi Suthep. For the money (around £40 each), we got a driver and guide. We happily paid this premium as the service was excellent and the guide informative and passionate. They did try to take us to several craft places after the trip where the sales people really put the pressure on but we politely requested to be taken back to the hotel which they did.

The Spa is massively overpriced which is the only let down of the hotel. However, we took advantage of the buy one get one free offer on the Burmese 3hr session (I think it was that!). This worked out at around £80 each - even with discount around twice the price of anywhere else! We did this on our second day and the treatment was brilliant. The staff were superb and the facility is second to none. I am a novice at this kind of pampering but I really cannot rate the treatment highly enough. We visited another spa later in the week which is very highly rated and paid around £40 each for a 2.5 hour session. This was lovely but for some reason no it the same league as the Spa at the Chedi.

The gym was well stocked which was a great plus and always very quiet. The pool was lovely and we spent a couple of days just relaxing on the loungers enjoying the hotel and the watching the boats on the Ping river.

The staff are superb, very professional and friendly. I have never come across better staff in fact. I understand that this is a trait in Thailand and is one of the reasons we will be going back to the country in the near future!

Overall, we had a perfect stay. The only down sides were the standard price of the Spa and some stray dogs barking outside the hotel late one night!

I hate it when people rate average hotels on Trip Advisor as full marks for everything as it is massivley unrealistic. So even the amazing Chedi does not get full marks. I believe this is an honest way of rating it. Had the Spa been more affordable it would be 5 stars - hence the poor rating for it here. This rating does not reflect the quality of the experience just the value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear LondonIslingtonian,

Thank you for choosing The Chedi Chiang Mai for your honeymoon. We are very happy that you had a memorable and romantic stay and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for complimenting our staff, they are in deed superb.

We realize the the prices in our Leading spa are quite higher than what you would pay in some of the local spas but, as you highlighted yourself, the experience we offer is quite above what the rest do. By using some of the finest branded products available and with the expertise of our highly skilled wellness professionals, our guests are experiencing pure holistic pampering.

Thank you again for your honest rating and we look forward to welcome you again soon in paradise.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

One of the 3 hotels in town worth staying. One have to try all of them, but Chedi is the place to return to. The location is perfect – right on the bank of lazy Ping river 5 minutes walk from Night Bazar. Old town, Wararot market and Riverside bars are also in a walking distance.

Service is perfect, Spa is one of the best in the whole country. Go sit on the table near the river in the morning sun for a breakfast, take benedict eggs, tropical fruits mix and green tea and tell yourself: am home.

There are 2 types of rooms: ordinary rooms and Chedi suits. Take a suit if you can: it is triple size, free laundry and minibar and transfer on Mercedes is included.

Room Tip: chedi club suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Kostia L,

Thank you for pointing out the obvious. We are delighted that you felt right at home at The Chedi Chiang Mai and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel in an excellent location. This hotel is just perfect from the amazing breakfast beyond anything l have had before at any hotel or cafe. The service is exceptional. The club room is huge and the benefits with it. I hope all ghm hotels are this fantastic as would love to try others. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear snoogstaaar,

Our success is the result of hard work and persistence and nothing rewards us more than hearing that our guests had a perfect stay. Thank you very much for sharing and we can only recommend you to try any other of the GHM hotels as they all strive to deliver memorable moments.

We hope to see you again and please do not hesitate to contact us if you need assistance to make arrangements in any of our sister hotels.

With warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely hotel, close to many attractions in Chiang Mai. The property itself is beautiful and serene, with lily ponds, a Koi pond and lovely natural landscaping.
The pool is gorgeous and the service at the pool was outstanding. One afternoon I fell asleep at the pool and the attendant gently woke me up by saying "sorry to wake you madam, but the rain is coming", and boy, he was right! Within fifteen minutes it was pouring!
Location is great, near many good restaurants and a short walk to the night market. There are always tuk-tuks waiting outside if you need to travel further.
When it was time to leave, I booked an early morning taxi to the airport at the front desk. The attendant asked me what we wanted for breakfast and I told him we'd grab something at the airport. When we were checking out early the next morning there were lovely boxed breakfasts and French press coffee with to-go cups waiting for us! The boxes contained fruit, yogurt, breakfast sandwiches, croissants, water and juice. It was such a lovely, thoughtful sendoff from our friends at the Chedi. I would return to this hotel anytime, and hope to do so soon!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the pool and river. From what I saw it would be hard to have a bad room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear rmak2009,

All your friends at The Chedi Chiang Mai thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to your return soon.

Andy Kunz and the Team at The Chedi Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Chiang Mai, a GHM Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chiang Mai's traditional culture from riverside luxury Hidden between a towering wooden wall and the picturesque Mae Ping River in Thailand's beautiful northern city, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa is a luxurious sanctuary of striking contemporary style, accented by traditional Thai and colonial elements. Relax on your balcony daybed, admiring courtyard gardens or the peaceful flow of Thai river life. Find more tranquil seclusion at our Chiang Mai hotel with lazy waterfront pool days, exotic spa rituals and revitalising yoga, or delve into local culture with Thai boxing, cooking and massage lessons. Explore Chiang Mai's traditional arts and crafts, countless ornate temples, bustling markets and street food delights, as well as quirky cafes and galleries amidst a cosmopolitan vibe. Satisfy cravings for culture and nature with elephant treks and river rafting, visits to spectacular national parks and floral gardens, hill tribes and handicraft villages, or enjoy adrenalin pumping jungle adventures. Savour refined culinary journeys, from our famous Afternoon Tea and High Tea experiences, to impeccable Indian, Thai and western cuisine. Toast the sunset aboard a river cruise and celebrate days well spent with the sophisticated pleasures of our colonial bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.