We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Chiang Mai, a GHM Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extended Stay Saving
Ranked #8 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Liechtenstein
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our first one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

That's our first Tripadvisor Review ever! Stayed atr "The Chedi" for 2 nights earlier this month. We are touring Asia Pacific for the next few months to come. The Chedi is a really nice, well designed and beautyfully kept Hotel. Great dining is available - which is a bit pricey. Close to many local attractions and buzzling markets. Great staff that made us feel warm and welcome from the first minute.

Room Tip: Join the Executive Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Reed and Clara,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed the hotel experience thoroughly and it will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team.

I have noted your comments on the pricing of our food and beverage and whilst we are charging higher prices than local restaurants in the area, our pricing is very comparable to other five star hotels within Chiang Mai and in fact very competitive.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    196
    47
    16
    7
See reviews for
224
840
74
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with modern decor and facilities but also Tai sytle, Chedi is your best choice. It has a stunning view of the entrance, nice building for the afternoon tea and cocktail. Long swimming poor along with a lotus pond (colorful fishs inside). It is that kind of hotel when you checked in you won't to check out. We stayed for 2 nights and cancelled all our following plans (massage and food outside) just to stay longer in this hotel. Food selection is many and price is very reasonable. I definitely will come back again! But for the spa, price is a little overrated, I recommended the "Oasis" in the old town.

Room Tip: Try the hotel cocktail and room service in your balcony. Price is very reasonable. But for the spa I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Zoe_ama,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I am glad to know you enjoyed Kerry Hill's design of the hotel and its ambiance.

Your kind comments on the Food & Beverage experience are much appreciated and it will be a great pleasure to share them with the team.

I have noted your comment on the pricing at our Spa and whilst we certainly charge higher prices then our surrounding neighbors, we also offer fully organic products and work with the best trainers in the industry. Most of these products have to be imported as they cannot be found locally and are therefore subject to import duty and taxes.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights while touring Thailand. Beautiful hotel really calm and relaxing. Good location for seeing the sites as within walking distance of the old town and all the markets( their are dozens of markets, Sunday night Market in the old town the best). treat yourself to afternoon tea, expensive but excellent. Had a meal in the restaurant, ok lovely setting by the river but better food at a more reasonable price to be had in town. Good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear MillierBristol,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the overall ambiance of the hotel and that you found the location to be favorable.

Your kind comments on the overall quality of our Food & Beverage are much appreciated. I have noted your comment on the prices at the restaurant, in particular on the afternoon tea and would like to mention that whilst we are certainly featuring higher prices then surrounding local restaurants, we do practice a very competitive pricing within our competitive set.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My partner and I just spent a few days in this hotel, the day that we arrived we were welcome by a very professional young fellow who made us feel very special. For a little extra money we decided to join the executive club lounge with the opportunity to have a bigger and nicely decorated suite with the use of the mini bar, canapés and cocktails later on in the evening.
The hotel is right in the center of Chiang Mai along a river, surrounded by trees, plants, green escapes and above all peace and tranquility, the ideal place to unwind and to be looked after. You would not see any of the management team around but the staff has been trained to their best knowledge and abilities, always welcoming people through the day with a massive big smile.
The breakfast is something out of this world, everything is so fresh and exquisite you can order hot dishes at the a la carte if you wish.
We did not leave the hotel during the 3 days we were there.
The restaurant is very nice too, they provide Mediterranean, Indian and Thai dishes every single one cooked and presented with lots of love and passion.
An opportunity not to be missed if you are in Chiang Mai.
Thanks to everybody we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Asiabcn,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.

Your kind comments on the overall experience and our team at The Chedi are much appreciated.

I am glad to know that you found the upgrade, which we offer for a reasonable surcharge, to be of good value.

I appreciate your comments on our very favorable location. Whilst we are in town and close to many attractions and the night market, you will yet have a feeling of being in a resort when looking out onto the river whilst enjoying your breakfast on the restaurant's terrace.

It'll be a pleasure to share your kind comments with our culinary team. Most of our guests appreciate our combination of a cold breakfast buffet and the wide selection of hot dishes, which are prepared a la minute. Especially our Indian food is very popular amongst our guests and the local community and we are very privileged to have such great Indian chefs, who have been with us since the opening of the hotel.

Once again many thanks and I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Chedi proved to be a wonderful hotel in a very interesting city. The Chedi is in a great location. It is right on the Ping River and within two blocks of the night market. Despite a fairly long walk it is possible to walk to most of the temples and the center of the city.
Our room was large with a terrace that ovelooked the river.
There is a very nice pool. Perfect for swimming laps.
The restaurant is very good. We had several meals there and they were all very well prepared. The buffet breakfast is extensive but they also have menu items.
The staff is exceptional! Everyone from housekeeping to front desk are friendly and helpful. They all seem to really enjoy their job.
The fitness facility is excellent. The equipment is clean and up to date. There is a wonderful yoga/pilates studion available too.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view and an upper floor room. We were on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear CathyNewHampshire,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I am most grateful for your very kind comments on the hotel and indeed we are situated very favorably on the banks of the river Ping. Many of our guests make use of the close by night market, which is literally a two minutes walk away.

Whilst you can certainly walk into the old town, it is less than US$ 5,- by tuk tuk and the drive in one of these is a first time experience for many of our guests.

I appreciate your comments on our restaurant. Whilst we serve Thai and Western food there, it has build a reputation for its Indian food and is known as one of the best places in Chiang Mai for the very same. Our two Indian chefs have been with us since the opening and many local residents return for the butter chicken.

Your comments on our staff are much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed our gym, which has a large variety of resistance and cardio machines. We regularly offer Yoga classes, but conduct private classes, too.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is very beautifully designed and even though it is in the city, it gives one the feel of being in a resort. There are lots of space to laze around and just relax amidst very tranquil surroundings.
Booked a suite and was given a room #01 at the end of the building. The suite is spacious and well designed with a large balcony but it is looking tired and in need of a refresh. King bed looks smaller than usual king bed. The view outside of this room is nothing to shout about as it is at the end and looks out to the roof top of part of the hotel and just plain concrete. The rooms in the middle of the building have much nicer views and would have been great to be assigned one of those. So it feels a little disappointing to be given this room but just my luck. The two complaints I have was the noise of dogs barking at night and the lighting in the room seems to be inadequate making it quite dim at night. This may be due to the intention of creating a romantic feel but it just feels so dark with no option to increase lighting to read properly. this may be just my personal preference. Suite benefits came with free 7 pieces laundry daily (Great!) plus breakfast plus free drinks and snacks from minibar. But minibar only has a small bar of toblerone chocolate, good range of soft drinks plus they also provide half bottle of whiskey, gin and vodka which is not branded and they refill it up to half bottle. The hotel only has one restaurant. Food quality is decent but service can be inconsistent as the layout makes it difficult to catch the staff's attention at times. Sitting al fresco is definitely a charming experience especially for afternoon tea and during breakfast where you look out to the river and the November cool morning makes it really a pleasure. Spa was expensive and therapists average. I went to Oasis 2 nights later at half the price and had a really good time there. Overall, I think this is a really nice place with so much potential. I would rate it a 3.5 out of 5. Above average but not very good yet, taking into consideration the price they charge at more than 10,000 baht a night.

Room Tip: If you book suites, avoid rooms that are #01 or #23. If given #23, need to use keys to lock the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear PNYL,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor.

I am glad to know you enjoyed the space and design of the hotel and am sorry you did not enjoy the view of your particular room. All rooms are assigned subject to availability on arrival, we will make a note on your profile to ensure you are assigned a different room in the future.

As far as the lighting is concerned we would be glad to set up additional lamps if you prefer to have more light in your room, our housekeeping will happily assist with this.

Whilst the minibar has a limited stock of complimentary snacks, we offer a selection of biscuits at the club lounge and complimentary canapes and cocktails during the cocktail hours at the lounge. The whisky, vodka and gin are all branded, however for presentation purposes we set up glass decanters which have been made for the hotel.

Your comments on the Food & Beverage experience have been well noted and I will share those with our Food & Beverage Manager for further improvement.

I have noted your comment on our Spa pricing and whilst we certainly price ourselves above the local Spa places, we have a full range of 100% organic products and work with internationally awarded trainers from the most prestigious brands within the Spa industry. Our Spa has become popular within the community and guests of other hotels. I regret that you have not enjoyed the experience and will share your comments on the quality of therapists with our Spa Manager and trainers.

I hope we may welcome you again in the future and I would like to encourage you to contact me personally in order to allow me to look after your reservation.

Best regards

Stefan Noll
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The Chedi is a wonderful hotel, well located, comfortable and a perfect peaceful location. The pool and gym are excellent. The breakfast is good and here are many places to sit and enjoy the hotel. Transport to the hotel via taxi is easy and takes 15 minutes. The staff are well trained and very kind.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Gregcmorly,

Thank you for staying with and for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your experience at The Chedi Chiang Mai and I will be glad to share your comments with the team.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Chiang Mai, a GHM Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chiang Mai's traditional culture from riverside luxury Hidden between a towering wooden wall and the picturesque Mae Ping River in Thailand's beautiful northern city, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa is a luxurious sanctuary of striking contemporary style, accented by traditional Thai and colonial elements. Relax on your balcony daybed, admiring courtyard gardens or the peaceful flow of Thai river life. Find more tranquil seclusion at our Chiang Mai hotel with lazy waterfront pool days, exotic spa rituals and revitalising yoga, or delve into local culture with Thai boxing, cooking and massage lessons. Explore Chiang Mai's traditional arts and crafts, countless ornate temples, bustling markets and street food delights, as well as quirky cafes and galleries amidst a cosmopolitan vibe. Satisfy cravings for culture and nature with elephant treks and river rafting, visits to spectacular national parks and floral gardens, hill tribes and handicraft villages, or enjoy adrenalin pumping jungle adventures. Savour refined culinary journeys, from our famous Afternoon Tea and High Tea experiences, to impeccable Indian, Thai and western cuisine. Toast the sunset aboard a river cruise and celebrate days well spent with the sophisticated pleasures of our colonial bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Splendia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.