We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Visit to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai to your Saves list
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 765 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Day Visit to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

10/10

about 20km from Chaingmai town is possibly one of the region’s most outstanding resorts, offering offers day visitors (like us) a choice of restaurants, a glorious coffee shop (with real coffee), and a selection of shops offering quality merchandise at often very, very reasonable prices.

As soon as we set foot on Dhara Dhevi soil, we were greeting by a polite, informative and extremely helpful hotel representative who not only welcomed us like we were royalty (despite our flip-flops, trekking attire and day-packs) but gave us the most enticing and precise 90 second pitch I’d ever heard.
We commenced our day at Dhara Dhevi by taking in the majestic sights of the historical pavilions and manicured grounds.

The variety of merchandise in the 6-8 shops is enough to keep you entertained for hours – and it’s hard to walk away with a heavy wallet.

We lunched at the Chinese restaurant “Fujian” specialising is dumpling and handmade noodles. Both were excellent. The Espresso Vodka cocktail is a must.

We then took afternoon tea and cake (and macaroons) at the cake shop. Despite being already ful from all the dumplings we’d eaten, the éclairs, cakes and macaroons were all perfect and offered some less than usual flavours like black truffle and chocolate and green tea and wasabi.

Definitely worth a visit…

Room Tip: We did not say overnight at this hotel, but it's looks amazing and the people we spke to said it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jasmine P,

It was a pleasure to read your great comments. Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience to all. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Kad Dhara as well as our Chinese restaurant and Cake Shop. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    59
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
190
342
23
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed for one night only but had a great time. Lovely villa with lots of space. One thing I am not too thrilled about is that you need to walk through an outside staircase to get from bed room to living room. so you better be dressed as people can see you. Otherwise great place. Breakfast was amazing and the variety and quality of food amazing. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is a bit out of town so you cannot walk anywhere. It takes about 15 minutes to airport and about the same time to downtown Chiang Mai. Pool was great and spa looked nice too though I didn't use it. I come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear asiatraveler1964,

It was a pleasure to read your great comments. Thank you for sharing your recent experience to all. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and our colleagues took good care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and to our resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, beautiful luxury resort with two gorgeous huge pools, great for adult and kids as they have a nice kids program as well as babysitter options. 60 acres includes their own rice paddy for kids to learn how to plant! Perfect place for adults and kids to be pampered. Only downside,lots of Mosquitos, but resort try their best with extermination, not really their fault! Overall, for someone usually finding fault at resorts, I list this as my personal favorite around the world!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear chezmoi,

Thank you for your generous compliments and for choosing to stay with us. It brings me pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here, frm our comfortable beds to delicious meals and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to our resort and to the beautiful Chiang Mai.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It is one of my favourite places ! Amazingly big and beautiful hotel with superb rooms. Highly recommended for honeymoon and wedding photography. Very Peaceful too. The Bakery and food is Mind-blowingly Amazing. Must Try Its Bakery Items without fail. Just an elegant place for a short and relaxing holiday !

Room Tip: Paddy Field Facing Villa ! Must Go For That One !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear KaivalPatel,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. It brings us much joy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. We will definitely share your kind compliments with our service team and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again during your next visit to Chiang Mai.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed (family of 4) at the Dhara Dhevi for three nights. After an initial mix up - we were advised to go for a villa with two floors but it really wasn't suitable for two young kids as there is no inside staircase) - the hotel delivered perfectly. The new rooms (interconnecting junior suites) were delightful (and a lot less mosquitoes!) with lovely views towards the pool area. While the hotel is spread out, nothing is too far to walk although we mostly used the golf buggies (amazingly prompt!). Breakfast excellent, pool area lovely - very serene, underwater music, very attentive pool people - and an incredible picturesque building / setting. Not cheap (!) but worth every baht. Oh, and if you're looking for an incredible day with elephants, the Patara Elephant guys are simply amazing. One of the most enjoyable experiences ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear BenRog39,

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and our colleagues here took good care of you with warm and friendly service. Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Dharra Dhevi Chiang Mai and I look forward to welcoming you again the next time your travel plans bring you back to Chiang Mai.

Warm regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I came here for drinks and intended to have dinner here and was not overly impressed although I understand that reviews from those who have stayed here likely carry more weight. The resort is undoubtedly impressive when approaching and in a way, the sheer ambition of this project is amazing. However, I would agree with others that maintenance could be better and would say that J.W. Marriott resorts in Phuket are far comparatively much better maintained. Service was fairly so,so; No greeting, offered a seat at the bar in a virtually empty bar, staff could not provide a menu for the Thai restaurant etc. Whilst security measures can sometimes be a pain for guests, I would suggest there is virtually no security here. I drove up in a cab and was free to walk around as much as I wanted which was nice in a way but may be a concern for some guests. I had considered staying here and recognise that the hotel has received some excellent reviews but I would not be in a hurry to return personally based on my limited experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear andrew_2587

We appreciate you taking time in sharing your most recent dining experience at Dhara Dhevi. Feedback is the breakfast of champions and our guests’ critique helps us to improve on our shortcomings.

I was most disappointed to read about the service in our bar, especially as all our restaurant menus are available there. Rest assured strongest action has been taken, to ensure similar incidents do not occur.

Your comments about security are well noted, however, being such a large resort area, we have extensive security and all vehicles entering the lobby area, are documented. We also have security guards stationed in strategic locations.

We do hope you will have the chance to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Possibly the nicest hotel I've visited to date. We got one of the villas, huge and beautifully decorated bedroom, enormous bathroom with a central bath, inside and outside shower, wooden floors throughout, and a romantic pergola linked to the villa via a wooden arched bridge with koi swimming amongst the lotus beneath. An absolute dream. The central hotel, where the reception and restaurant is, is magnificent in its architecture. Breakfast is delectable with a choice of European and Northern Thai dishes. You sit at the foot of the central mount where water buffaloes roam amongst the rice paddies. Service is impeccable. Experience was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Go for the villas, £££ but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DharaDheviCNX, General Manager at The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Natalie K,

I am pleased to read that you had such a memorable stay at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai and that the wonderful staff here took good care of you with warm and friendly service. Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and we hope you will have the opportunity to return again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.