We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning awakenings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Save Saved
You added Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Don't miss 2+1 offer!!
Ranked #1 of 330 hotels in Chiang Mai
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Morning awakenings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Spent five days at Mandarin Oriental during February, 2013. Was there on Valentine's Day. Place was very busy at the time with mainland Chinese celebrating Chinese New Year. Unfortunately, this put a bit of a damper on the place.

Stayed in the Delux Villa # 3. This villa is close to the lobby and restaurants so we did not always need a buggy to get around, could just walk to the lobby in five minutes. Room was very clean and nice. Was overlooking the rice paddy and was very close to the pool, restaurants and spa. Found the outdoor stairs a bit of a pain as you had to go in and out to go to the bedroom and the living room in the main floor. As a result, did not use the main floor living space that often. Also with the number of mosquitoes, one had to be careful when one did go in and out. If you left the door open a little too long ten you had tonnes of mosquitoes in the room. This was not too bad for the upstairs bedroom as they had mosquito repellant plugged in and they sprayed the room during dinner time. But they did not have this for the main floor, so we saw many mosquitoes in the main floor living area at times. Did not really sit outside much either due to the mosquitoes, even though they gave you citronella spray by the gallons.

Dining was excellent. We loved the restaurants though we did not eat in the Chinese restaurant. Had Valentines seafood buffet, breakfast buffet and Sunday brunch in Akiligo and found servic to be wonderful. had the manager (Kanthokorn) continually roaming the restaurant making sure all was well, she was very hands on as well, helping out as needed. Servers - Winhai and Pidock were very frienldy and helpful. They would actually help get your food if they saw you standing around waiting for your food order. Restaurant was very large so the food stations were spread out so no large groups of people hanging around blocking others from getting food. Also outdoor grill so even more spread out and with a very large selection of different food. The Oritenal shop (bakery) had the best Thai ice tea according to my wife. Horn bar was run by Sand who was just a deligth - speak French to him as he is learning it. Had the in room villa BBQ and this was amazing. Went for the highest level and they accomadated my wife's food restrictions. They set up + candles around the table and hund a light above the table. they had low playing music and the amount of food provided was enough to feed four people to the point of bursting. We had tonnes of leftovers at the end of the dinner. La Grand Lanna was nice with good thai food. Ferang Ses was the French restaurant and service and food was at a high level. Unfortunately, ambience was not the best but this was no fault of the hotel (more later on this)

Concierge and Trip bookings were very helpful. We booked a day trip for 150us per person and unfortunatley had a bad guide. The booking desk refunded money after we advsied them of the tour guide. Wasn't evem complaing just doing the opinion survey and they refunded us money!

Pros: - Restaurants provide good variety and one does not need to leave the resort for dinner.
- close to sites and good tour booking facilities
- interesting on site activities for free, esp rice planting and water buffalo riding


Cons: - mosquitoes! lots of them, so need to use tonnes of citronella
- suggest getting colonial suite as villa may not use as much due to outside stairs
- lots of mainland chinese at times - loud and let their kids run around (Farang Ses) thereby
potentially ruining ambience, also somewhat pushy and smart casual to them is shorts and
tees
- biggest con may be the fact that there is a mosque close by, so expect to be awoken at 5:45
am everyday by the call to prayer. I am a light sleeper so I was awoken very day at this time.
Something to think about if yoo are a light sleeper or find it difficult to get back to sleep if
abruptly awoken

Room Tip: away from the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    54
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
175
327
20
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay for 4 nights during our trip thru the north of Thailand. We where upgraded to a spectacular villa which I would book again on a next stay, because it' s worth every penny! Wonderful view to the rice-fields, you have your own huge pool and inside plenty of room. The service and staff is more than 5-star, I sometimes thought they'll read my wishes from my eyes!! The whole complex is enormous, plenty to discover and wonderful in day and night-light. Breakfast buffet is 1a, the other restaurants for dinner are ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sadly I got acute bronchitis during a recent visit but the staff could not have been more helpful or understanding to my wife and I. The setting is magical, the attention to detail superb with very friendly staff to whom nothing is too much trouble. Good food, splendid service together with wonderful smiles made our stay as good as possible in the circumstances.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

What a spectacular property. Where do it even begin? The hotel grounds are huge - almost like the imperial palace in bangkok. I would call it campus - complete with rice fields, colonial style buildings as well as thai style buildings. Stunning architecture. Spotlessly clean and impeccable Mandarin service. We first stayed at a villa a(which was huge) and then got upgraded 2 grades to a grand deluxe colonialsuite which was even nicer. Anyway, let me just post the pics and let that d the talking.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Held our wedding celebrations at the Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai on Valentines Day having stayed here on a number of occasions in the past.

It does not get any better than this anywhere in the world!

The property is magical, the architecture stunning, the service refined and the overall experience of staying here is truly memorable on each occasion.

I cannot say enough positive things about the Resort and its staff.

To Khun Tew and the staff who made our wedding such a magical experience (all our guests were 'blown away' by how wonderful it was) thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at many hotel all over the world. The Mandarin Oriental was definitely one I will remember. We stayed three nights which really was not enough time to take advantage of seeing everything locally and participating in the many wonderful things to do at the hotel e.g. cooking lessons, rice field planting etc. The spa is absolutely gorgeous and rated one of the best in the world...incredible. Try to spend time there and not rushing the experience. The hotel architecture is stunning and I would say the best hotel to stay in Chiang Mai. I decided not to stay at the Four Seasons as I was impressed with the architecture and grounds. The service was outstanding and after many years away from Thailand I forgot how good the service can be. The buffet breakfast was amazing with plenty of staff waiting to help you. I loved all the interesting freshly squeezed juices. My husband hurt his ankle and after mentioning it to the front desk we arrived back in our room and found a bucket of ice, tiger balm and a lady offering to help him....amazing. The hotel is expensive but well worth it for a lifetime of memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed from 1/31/13-2/3/13 as part of our 2 week Thailand vacation. We stayed in a Deluxe Villa on the rice paddies. The room was better than the photos and our deck and gazebo were larger than expected. We enjoyed drinks there in the evenings. The spa tub was large enough for the 2 of us and my husband is 6'3". I enjoyed using the outdoor shower.

We had room service and the staff was quick and efficient, making our cocktails in our living room. The food was hot and tasty. We had breakfast included and the buffet had lots of wonderful choices every day.

We had a 3:20 hour spa treatment and the spa and the staff were fantastic. The entire property was large and beautiful. You could get bikes from the fitness area or you could call and get golf cart services around the property.

We had no issue with mosquitos when we were there and there was even a rain storm.

We used their shuttle to the Night Market and that was very convienant. We also used their limo service and went into the city for the Flower Festival. Every employee was friendly and attentive.

Our favorite part of our stay was our cooking class with Chef Aum. It was just the two us with the chef and her sous chef. Our class started with a trip to the local market. The chef showed us around and explained the food products available and what we would be using in class. We tried the local sausage, sweet and savory small, round pancakes and iced Thai coffee. I must say I am addicted to Thai coffee now. The class was fun and they made it so easy for us. Everything was terrific and we loved eating the results. I can't wait to try the recipes here at home.

We have stayed at 3 Mandarin Oriental's and they never disappoint.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Villa #68. It was close to the spa and about a 5 minute walk to the lobby. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand.The resort’s unique design draws from the region’s rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.