We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hibiscus Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Hibiscus Guesthouse to your Saves list
Red Hibiscus Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 Soi 2 Arak Rd., Sri Phom, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great budget choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Sweet, older guesthouse in a lovely Thai neighborhood, away from the busiest tourist sections of town but with easy access to all. The owner and staff are gracious and helpful, and always very sweet. We had the large room, #14, a suite with a beautiful mountain view out of the bathroom window (the bathroom is huge). The bed is comfy, water is hot but the water pressure is a bit low, though it was never a problem for us. The only problem is the air conditioner doesn’t work very well, you can’t have it under 25C (77F) and with 90+ weather it was uncomfortably warm. The owner lent us a fan, which helped, and once the sun went down it was okay for sleeping.

The owner and staff really go out of the way to make your stay a pleasant one! I would recommend the Red Hibiscus for a good value stay in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: #14 the suite is large & comfy, but air con is not good Definitely ask for a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
14
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We moved to room #11 at the Red Hibiscus after a disappointing first accommodation choice. We loved the suite! Our room felt like we were staying in someone's house and this was our big, beautiful bedroom. The bed was comfortable which is not to be taken for granted in Asia.

The location was very convenient to everything in the old city and as you were right on the edge by the moat, it was easy to leave the walled city.

If you are a bath lover, just know that there isn't enough water to use the bathtub in the suite so they don't provide a plug. When I asked for one, I was told it would take too much water which was disappointing. The only other thing is that there is no place to sit in privacy outside the suite which is a shame. There are a few tables in front of the hotel but that is not the same as having your own patio or balcony. However, in our suite, we had lots of comfortable chairs and a sofa to sit on which was very nice.

The family that owns the guesthouse were very friendly and helpful. The little decorative touches in the suite were also appreciated and added a lot to the ambience of the place. Overall, it was a really great stay and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you can book suite 11, go for it. The space is wonderful and it doesn't feel like a typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I wanted to mark this family guesthouse higher only because the staff was fantastic, so helpful and upbeat, but the fact is the guesthouse is in need of refurbishment. The aircon barely worked in my room so I asked for a fan to supplement. The fan was brought promptly and cheerfully and was sufficient most the time as it wasn't so very hot. The window on the veranda barely locked and could have easily been jiggled open. This was true of the door as well. It was very old, poorly fitted and needs replacement. The room was in no way secure though I had no problems during the 5 days I was there. The bathroom needs updating and it was quite a struggle to slide the closet doors open and closed.

Having said all that, it was immaculately clean, the bed was very comfortable and it's in a quiet part of the old city. I like to walk so managed to walk everywhere from there but it might be too far for some. Best of all was the Staff. Nothing was too much effort and all requests cheerfully met. Only two staff speak English but a phone call was made to them if I needed something. It was not a problem.

If you do choose to stay here ( it's near the big hospital) have breakfast and other meals at Birdsnest Cafe, one street over.

All in all, you can find cheaper, nicer, better value elsewhere in the old city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed 7 nights due to family being in the Ram hospital across the street. We had room 8 on the second floor with large windows. It is a double room (king size bed) with air con, fridge and tv.
The room was serviced daily.
Staff was very kind and accommodating.
The laundry cost was high compared to street vendors/shops, but convenient.
It was a pleasant, quiet stay. Definitely recommend.
We were shown the suite which looked very nice. For $40, it looked like a good deal for those that can afford it.

Room Tip: room 8 has good natural light with big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petree
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Red Hibiscus felt like our home away from home. The positive energy and attitude of everyone who works to keep the place running is felt in the air. Being there, we felt at ease.

The rooms are tastefully decorated in Lanna style and they are all unique. They are spotless and the sheets and towels are very clean. Something one would expect from every place, but unfortunately not all have the same standards even if the rates are comparable.

We booked a car and scooter through reception and they went out of their way to make sure we got the best deal (on the car rental, scooters are all about the same 200 baht/day).

We enjoyed our stay and would gladly recommend The Red Hibiscus to anyone. The hospitality is top notch and we felt we got great value for our money.

Thanks Red Hibiscus!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Cozy guesthouse in the old part of town .Try to make reservation long ahead fore your trip to Chiang Mai , the guesthouse is very popular with many European travelers and the rooms could be all taken .Shopping centers open air markets , good restaurants near by all, in walking distance, the area is very safe . Very helpful staff

Room Tip: I like all the rooms so far, but if you can pick get a room that is on the second floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's a homely guesthouse with so many other incentives. Gay (a staff) hooked me up with the best clothes and beauty products at a ridiculously affordable rate. Incase you are looking for the fashionista wow factor for both men and women.....do ask for Gay. The guesthouse is located in a quiet area far from the Chiangmai honking fiasco. The rooms are well-sized and always cleaned every morning. The owner and the entire staff radiate positive energy which helps every time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Hibiscus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hibiscus Guesthouse

Address: 1 Soi 2 Arak Rd., Sri Phom, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Hibiscus Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Red Hibiscus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hibiscus Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.