We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things have improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BP Chiang Mai City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BP Chiang Mai City Hotel to your Saves list
BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Rachmanka Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Felix City Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 337 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Things have improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here the year before and were not too impressed with the up keep of the hotel but remembered it for the location and the good price. We got back here in July 2013 and were wonderfully surprised to find some improvements in the establishment like minor internal renovation, availability of wireless internet connection (albeit with not too strong signals) inside the room. Breakfast is sufficient, make sure to order omelette in the dining hall. Will come back here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    27
    24
    23
See reviews for
13
33
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I didn't pay a lot to stay here and I'm sure that if i looked a little harder i could have foundsomething a little better .....the room was ok except for the shower which had no nozzle spray on it for a similar price it was more like a hose i asked reception if it could be fixed they said yes but it never got done....they had no safe boxes in the room.....even tho the safe box was at reception it seemed to be real hassle for them to open it to pass me my lap top of a evening.....don't have breakfast here walk 100metres up the road pay a extra 60 baht and have it the pirate cove it worth the walk

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The modern and clean reception suggests the hotel will be the same however as soon as you move towards the elevators it's old, tatty and has definitely seen better days!! Felt as if we were on the set of a horror film dark eerie hallways and constantly slamming doors. We ran out of loo roll and we were not given our complimentary water on either day of our stay. And to top it all off on our corridor was a large brown rat scurrying around. From start to finish a terrible hotel, don't stay here unless you want to have nightmares!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The name suggests an official hotel status with the city. The lobby also has some grandeur which suggests this. But from the moment you reach the reception desk and then venture to your room,
you will be let down. The reception staff are often less than "Thai sweet and courtesy" and the rooms
can be dank, dreary, and dark. Be suspicious of any room photo with a closed curtain, the window probably looks out onto a storage alleyway. The WiFi system only operated in the lobby. While I was there in the fall, 2012, some rooms were being renovated so perhaps the worn out with musty odor room I experienced will be gone in the coming months. The buffet breakfast, in a nicely daylight section of the lobby, was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We were moved to BP after being placed in a disgusting hotel called paradise spa and lodge as part of a package deal with the rip off merchants from ATIT. Because we had just been somewhere so disgusting I immediately really liked BP as soon as we checked in. However the hotel had seen better days, it smelt fairly musty and the aircon dripped into a large puddle on the floor everyday. The corridors smelt rather bad and the pool was surrounded by some sort of building site. However I still kind of liked it in a strange sort of way, the breakfast was good and the room was clean and had a big comfortable bed. The location was decent so if you were travelling in a budget I'd say stay there. To sum up, BP is a shadow of its former self but it still has a kind of charm about it so I'm giving it a good review.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is in a fair location to centre within the old walled town ,plenty of Wats to visit with many reasonably priced restaurant s within walking distance.
The lobby area is bright and airy with a high vaulted ceiling ,unfortunately when you step out of this area and proceed to your room you notice that the hotel has let slip basic maintenance ,the carpet is thread bare,the walls could do with some paint the ceilings have various holes where water has caused damage previously and has not been repaired. The rooms are slightly better condition but could do with an update,bedding clean but poor condition.

Room Tip: I think you could find a better room for the price paid else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I review this as a 'full' hotel and not a small establishment which does not purport to offer full catering, leisure etc. facilities. I have stayed in worse places as a backpacker or where they had charm or location on their side. The hotel was booked by our 'tour' operator as part of an Elephant park trip; lesson learned.

Staff - Unfriendly
Responsiveness - very poor
Lobby - Deceptively ok
Breakfast - poor (though staff here were smiley)
Corridors - worn, exposed wiring, holes in ceiling, carpets grimy Bedrooms (we had two) lights missing, plastic curtains, 6 channel TV, broken bed, saggy/lumpy mattress, blankets we were afraid to touch, bathroom dirty, lukewarm water.
Atmosphere - very loud function in restaurant and noise in corridors until 5am(it was New Years, but!)
Location - Ok, but we could have done much better

The sure sign of this hotel is we didn't want to go back at the end of each of three days1

Room Tip: Find another hotel:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BP Chiang Mai City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BP Chiang Mai City Hotel

Address: 154 Rachmanka Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Felix City Inn)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 337 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BP Chiang Mai City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BP Chiang Mai City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BP Chiang Mai City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.