We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Wat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 111 attractions in Chiang Mai
Type: Religious Sites, Observation Decks/ Towers, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located high in the hills above Chiang Mai, this magnificent temple was commissioned by King Kuena, ruler of the region from 1367-1388.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting Wat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Found this Wat to be quite large and interesting however it was very busy as we were there on a weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,307
    881
    245
    38
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“What a great place, and good exercise getting there too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had read some TripAdvisor reviews of Doi Suthep and the writers had not been that impressed with the place. I don;t understand why because we found it to be an outstanding example of a temple complex and loved it. Plus climbing the 300+ stairs gave us our exercise for the day. There's also a cable car for the less athletically inclined.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“İmmense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great scenery but packed with tourist.Try to avoid crowds and go there after 7.00pm to see whole CM from the top at night time.You would feel the energy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Worth The Climb Very Special and A Great View of Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ok to start with there are two ways to get to this temple, one is 300 steps the other does not require such hard work but you will probably have to queue. I did it the old fashioned way and felt my age by the top :) but it was worth it. The temple is very busy but also very spectacular and there is a lot to see. The view from the top looks out across Chiang Mai and it's spectacular. There are many temples in Chiang Mai but the ride out to this one is worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A beautiful "Wat" in the Lana style...a photographers paradise.
700 Baht and the Taxi driver will wait to take you back to Chiang Mai.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Phra That Doi Suthep also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Phra That Doi Suthep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wat Phra That Doi Suthep to your Saves list