We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Wat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 117 attractions in Chiang Mai
Type: Religious Sites, Observation Decks/ Towers, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located high in the hills above Chiang Mai, this magnificent temple was commissioned by King Kuena, ruler of the region from 1367-1388.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting Wat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Found this Wat to be quite large and interesting however it was very busy as we were there on a weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    776
    211
    34
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a great place, and good exercise getting there too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had read some TripAdvisor reviews of Doi Suthep and the writers had not been that impressed with the place. I don;t understand why because we found it to be an outstanding example of a temple complex and loved it. Plus climbing the 300+ stairs gave us our exercise for the day. There's also a cable car for the less athletically inclined.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“İmmense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great scenery but packed with tourist.Try to avoid crowds and go there after 7.00pm to see whole CM from the top at night time.You would feel the energy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Worth The Climb Very Special and A Great View of Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ok to start with there are two ways to get to this temple, one is 300 steps the other does not require such hard work but you will probably have to queue. I did it the old fashioned way and felt my age by the top :) but it was worth it. The temple is very busy but also very spectacular and there is a lot to see. The view from the top looks out across Chiang Mai and it's spectacular. There are many temples in Chiang Mai but the ride out to this one is worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A beautiful "Wat" in the Lana style...a photographers paradise.
700 Baht and the Taxi driver will wait to take you back to Chiang Mai.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Phra That Doi Suthep also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Phra That Doi Suthep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.