We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top North Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top North Guest House
Save
You added Top North Guest House to your Saves list
15 Soi 2 Moonmuang Rd., Pra Sing, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 | The Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It is not the best place, rooms are old but for the price there is a beautiful swimming pool and the place is right in the heart of the tourist area. Nice place for a nice stay. Rooms rate start from 300 baht.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    34
    20
    24
See reviews for
13
32
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Older hotel, slightly shabby, but clean.
Located just inside the old city.
Great value breakfast buffet (100 bhat)
Free wi-fi.
Swimming pool (very nice after a hot day in Chiang Mai)
550 Bhat for a big double room with a/c and fridge. Clean and comfortable.
Better value than most of the guesthouses around this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We ended up staying here after the place we were going to stay had double booked us. We were worried about finding a room as it was Chinese New year and just before Valentine's. Anyway they had a 400 baht room, fan, balcony (sort of), and hot shower. We stayed for nearly two weeks, and it was in a great location. The Lady on the front desk who organises the tours etc was really helpful with any question. We had the buffet breakfast at 7.30 am one morn just morning and it was good value at 100 baht, however later in the morning it looks a little..... stale. Pool was nice as it was very warm weather, however it did feel very soapy which was weird.also the tiles need grouting as me and boyfriend both cut ourselves. Rooms were cleaned everyday and bedsheets changed frequently.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ended up at this guesthouse because of the pool and the unbeatable 300 baht crappy room. The bed was ok, stained pillows, but the place overall needs a big improvement. Dirty bathroom and very old towels provided.Years ago, back in the 90's, I think it was a little heaven downtown of Chiang Mai. Well... at a backpacker price, you attract a certain category of customers; young backpackers, older ones hanging out with young thai women, the usual I guess, but certainly not a high end type of travellers.
We wake up the first morning and head to the restaurant near the pool for our morning coffee. There's a 100 baht buffet available and , which is not our type, so we pass on it. We ask for hot water for our instant coffee like every morning we did during our long trip in Asia but the old woman at the restaurant start to rudly and loudly complain about our behavior. Telling us we were some cheap travelers and we should going back home, so we wouldn't spend money at all! My girlfriend reacted calmly and I didn't say a word, ignoring her. We asked to get hot water at the front desk telling her we couldn't get any at the restaurant and the kind lady give us free hot water, anytime we wanted she said!. Our first morning was ruined by this incident, we moved to an another guesthouse and start over our experience of Chiang Mai. Oh! Don't forget to bring your earplug! Loud base will knock your serenity! I will not recommand this place to a friend who don't need a pool in CM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

this guest house was great for your money, it has a pool and a nice shaded area int he ground. the room were basic with a fridge. we had a fan room which was fine as it was cool enough at night here. the only thing we found was our bed was very hard, but that depends on what you like. otherwise i would definatly recommend this place, nice friendly staff and the resturant does all you can eat for 100bht.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Its a big hostel with its own swimming pool and breakfast buffet for 100 baht. The room are clean, each has a little balcony and do not get to hot. The host is great and helps with everything. You just have to ask. We stayed tour days and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Cheapest room was only 250 bahts so you can not expect much. With that i still got private room, hot shower and very nice swimming pool! i would say: one of the best places to stay in toen if you are a budget traveller! There was some some noise but no problem sleeping with ear blugs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top North Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top North Guest House

Address: 15 Soi 2 Moonmuang Rd., Pra Sing, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 | The Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Top North Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Top North Hotel
Top North Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top North Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.