We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farewell old Friend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Montri Hotel

Montri Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montri Hotel
Save
You added Montri Hotel to your Saves list
365 Charoenrat Rd., Faham, Chiang Mai 20500, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Phrae
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Farewell old Friend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Have been staying at the Montri on and off for about a decade, always took my family and friends there. Sadly after my last visit I wouldn't say there if you payed me. New management are penny pinching to the extreme. The best breakfast in Chiang Mai is now a joke, free transfers to the bus station etc have been scrapped and also they are now charging double. Also sadly the staff who are/were great are leaving for happier pastures.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

good deal good value . big room like suit clean nice sheets pillows marttrasses
staff helpfull and nice (small tip 20-3- baht will help/

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I got a room at the Montri for 2,400 baht for three nights as a special low-season promotion. You get what you pay for in life and there are certainly far better hotels in Chiang Mai than the Montri, but at 800 baht a night, it still represents very good value for money. I stayed here four years ago and would certainly stay here again. It enjoys a terrific location near all the bars and restaurants. I found the staff extremely cheerful, friendly and helpful (in fact this is possibly the Montri's biggest selling point) and the rooms are perfectly adequate. The bathroom is modern, the hot water works, the air-conditioning works, and the same day laundry service is cheap. If I had to find fault, the reception area and corridors are very shabby and the whole hotel needs a bit of money pumped into the overall decor. But this is currently the lowest of low seasons in Chiang Mai and I guess most businesses are hurting for lack of tourists.

A few Trip Advisor contributors have criticised the restaurant on the ground floor. I only ate breakfast here once and it was OK., The service was uick enough but I thought the food overpriced. There are far better eating options within a short walking distance. One thing Chiang Mai certainly isn't short of is places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Asia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I've stayed at the Montri many times and it was OK. The hotel was remodeled. Now the rate is double what it used to be, yet the rooms are no bigger than before.

The location is great, but the restaurant, called the Triple N, is terrible.

I ordered a sandwich and waited 15 minutes for it to arrive. Others in the restaurant were served so I went over to the waiter and asked where my food was. He told me they didn't have any bread and therefore could not make the sandwich. They had just decided to not even tell me my food was not coming. I guess they thought it was OK as I would eventually figure it out. Finally they said they had a baguette. I said OK and asked why they never told me the bread had run out. All I got was a blank stare.

Try the hotel if you must, though the Amora hotel down the street on the other side of the moat is much nicer, but avoid the NNN restaurant.

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

This was my second stay at the Montri, and the rooms are currently being upgraded. It is clean, safe, and reasonably priced (the room rate includes breakfast). The Montri is directly across from the Thapae Gate in the old city and has a number of restaurants, tour agencies, and attractions (e.g. Night Market, Sunday Market, Wat chedi Luang) nearby. I would definitely return to the Montri.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I've stayed here on and off over the last few years. In the last year it has undergone a lot of renovation. Value is not the best in Chiang Mai, but it's good and the location is excellent. Things I like about the hotel:
- very pleasant and helpful staff
- great location
- free wifi
Things I like less about the hotel:
- free parking is rather limited, especailly on Sunday nights when the street market is on, So sometime difficult to park if you are driving.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

The Montri Hotel is a very reasonably priced, totally convenient hotel if you want to stay in the old part of Chiang Mai. It's location is just across the road from the Tarpae Gate entry into the older central part of town, where the Sunday markets are. When I stayed there, the left wing of the hotel was totally refurbished, and extremely tastefully decorated, it felt plush. The corner rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor are the bomb, but they are usually booked up pretty quickly or have long term guests in them. In that part of the hotel the aircon is good.

The right wing of the hotel was a bit more down market at the time, and felt a bit like polyester haberdashery with older aircon which didn't work so well (they may have upgraded now), and chintzy early 80s style decoration. There is good cable TV through out the hotel though. They also have an elevator, which means you don't have to lug bags up and down stairs all the time. Especially after the shopping.

It's a very secure hotel, and they have lock boxes and safes behind reception which you can keep all your precious documents in and feel secure about it, when you go out.

Good food, book shops, coffee shops, yoga classes are all easy to walk to, even the night market is only a 15 minute walk away. Not only that but the wall around the Tarpae gate square looks absolutely magical when lit up at night. And you can climb up some of the walls to take great photos of the area.

If you are a backpacker and want to slum it, look for something a bit cheaper, but I think it's worth it to pay the few extra dollars to have good hot water, good service and good security.

Bikes are easy to rent, as Chiang Mai city is relatively flat, and the traffic isn't too bad, so you can get around easily to see the sites.

The hotel has a restaurant downstairs which has an internet cafe, and I think, from memory, if you buy a drink you might either get free internet or at least a discount. The connection is reasonable too (for Asia). Be careful to wipe all your details from the computer after logging off though. The hotel also offers a bus service to and from the airport. Very handy if you are traveling with a few people and a bit of luggage.

This is the hotel that I stay in when in Chiang Mai, repeatedly. Not quite for backpackers, but certainly not too expensive either. Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montri Hotel

Address: 365 Charoenrat Rd., Faham, Chiang Mai 20500, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 75

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.