We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully place, rude owners, lots of musquitos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gap's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gap's House
3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 487 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully place, rude owners, lots of musquitos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is a wonderful place to stay, especially after a quite chaotic stay in Bangkok. There is no need to worry about price negotiations; the prices are fixed because of the high demand for the rooms. It is not possible to make reservations.

There are two problems with this place: first the musquitos. They are everywhere, including your room. The windows have protections, but there are enough holes for them to come into the chalets.

The second and the biggest problem is the service: the owners are seriously rude. We could take the musquitos, but not the attitude so we left to another guest house. It's perfect if you're looking for rest for a couple of days, but then it's time to move on.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    29
    19
    8
See reviews for
3
57
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

we went there the other evening for the vegetarian buffet, somebody recommended to us. it starts a 7pm exact. i think, latecomers will eat the cold leftovers....the buffet consists of 5 or 6 dishes ( lukewarm) served in big earthenwear pots plus some fruit. the place is on the first floor of a larger covered "hut". they put you a bottle of water on yr table and that's it. i dont even know if you could order a tea or a beer. there was only one girl in charge for all the people. she was clearly stressed, no wonder, but very friendly, which you could not say of the lady owner of the place who was around at some time and extremely unfriendly.

the place is very dark, the food mediocre and the whole setup canteen/military style. no place to spend a nice evening.

cannot recommend it and would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My sister and I went to ChiangMai in September 2012 and we stayed in Gap house for 3 days.

Overall, we liked this house very much. First of all, as many said, its beautiful garden and the wood houses half hidden in the trees; Secondly, its great location, very convenient and safe, My sister liked the Lily massage nearby. Though some said Lily Massage was not as what she advertised herself, but we still found it with good service. Thirdly, GaP Guesthouse is with a good price performance.

If being asked what are not that satisfying in Gap, i would say maybe its breakfast is a bit too shabby, it will be good if with more choices.

But overall, i liked this house very much and would recommend it to other friends to Chiangmail

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor above the receptionist desk. If next time there, i would choose the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Gaps House looks nice enough when you first walk in, but that's about the extent of it. The rooms are nothing special, the breakfast is average, but the really bad part is the unfriendly staff - mainly the guy who works behind the desk. So rude. Also there's a terrible bug problem at this guesthouse. You have to sit outside in the yard if you want Internet but get eaten alive in the process. I don't know what the issue there is with bugs but it was only in their garden and not elsewhere in Chiang Mai. This issue actually hugely affected our stay and made it unpleasant.
I would definitely look for other accommodation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eldon mo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

the over grown plants and trees looked really neat so i thougth my friend and i would give it a try. the room was a bit below average, a lamp that had been broken and dusty that didnt work still sat in the room. the poeple at the front desk were very unhelpful and didnt want to be asked questions. i took at cooking class from them and when i went to pay for the room the man tried telling me i didnt pay for the cooking class and asked for the receipt, i never received a receipt. the breakfast was average and the same every day. i would not stay at theis place again

Room Tip: sorry hsould not have marked swimming pool and fitness center they didnt have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was my first "touch" with Thailand. I was really pleased with the location of the Guesthouse and most of all the surroundings. The room was medium sized, clean with beautiful furniture and bed. The bathroom was very small and simple. The AC was quiet enough to sleep.

The place has no reservation so you should be there as soon as possible :)

It was like stepping in to a jungle. The garden was superb, we had some simple family of squirrels watching us at our simple Thai breakfast (toasts and eggs). The location of the place is great, you can go everywhere by foot in the city. Next to it is a school with excellent food stalkers and hawkers, just mentioning them makes me hungry :)

They had a cooking school but we had no time to take the classes. Oh, you should ask about a jungle trekking at the reception. We had the 3 day option and it was really unforgettable experience with our guide and sniffing some strange dust from a tube in the mountains ;) Swimming in the rivers and watter falls, sleeping on the wooden floor. Remember to bring something warm it can get cold on the trekking at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we arrived at the buffet 45 minutes after it started. most of the food was already gone, or maybe there wasn't much offered to begin with, but we scraped up what was left off the bottoms of 3 of the 5 dishes. i had left my purse in my chair while visiting the buffet line (which was roughly 2 meters away), but the second time we visited the buffet, i mistakenly left it on the table. it was at that point that the waitress (or someone else, but doubtful as there were only a few other tourists present), took 6,000 baht from my wallet. i noticed it was missing as we were leaving the restaurant & quickly ran back to the table to see if it was there, but the waitress just acted like she didn't know what i was saying. giving her the benefit of the doubt, we rode back to our hotel & tore apart our room, thinking maybe we had left the money. still not finding it, we rode back to gap's & looked around more thoroughly with flashlights & asked the waitress again. we waited for the manager to return & told her what happened & she just apologized. the buffet was hardly worth 90 baht, but if you do decide to go, DON'T LEAVE ANYTHING UNATTENDED!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gap's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap's House

Address: 3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Also Known As:
Gap`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gap's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gap's House to your Saves list