We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galare Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Galare Guest House to your Saves list
Galare Guest House
7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Shabby chic?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

This place has its pros and cons. It does have a beautiful courtyard and it's right by the river. The architecture is nostalgic which is nice. I was okay with our room as it was noisy. You can hear people slamming doors and dog fights from the street at night(albeit interesting). If you're sensitive to mosquito bites then look out. I was attacked by the mosquitos and woke up with quite a few bites. Probably because the room had no screen door. The bathroom is very basic and may have some plumbing issues. This guest house is quite affordable but beware this is very much a no frills place.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    85
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
92
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

We visited Chiang Mai in August of '05 and loved our time at the Galare. The rooms were clean, the staff was lovely and the breakfast and other food amenities were simple, good and affordable. We highly recommend this place. There were about 7 ants in our bathroom at any given time, but we accomodated them, as it is was an extremely hot time Chiang Mai during our visit.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2005

We stayed in this guest house for a week in March, having read about it in a book on the plane to Chang Mai. We had no reservation and just walked into this paradise place. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms are basic but have everything you need and are spotless. The balcony outside the room is great for sitting. The restaurant is right on the river and is good, cheap and the perfect place to start the day.
You really do feel like you are in a Thai country inn right in the middle of a crazy bustling city, and everything is w/in walking distance, even the large restaurants and clubs across the river are a pleasant walk over the bridge near the hotel.
For 25.00/nite, this place is one of the worlds best bargains. I would have instantly paid over double that to stay here, and it is WAY better than any other 'guesthouse' in Chang Mai. Our friends picked a large expensive hotel in town and when they came to visit us they kicked themselves.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2005

After 20 hours in the air and 9 hours sitting in airports from L.A. to Chiang Mai, I finally met up with my son and asked the question: Where are we staying?
Since I had not been briefed, I probably seemed a bit confused when he said,
" We'll be staying at a Guest House ".
I suppose I was expecting to be staying at a hotel, but he quickly assured me I would like the location.
Well he was right, the Galare Guest house is located at the end of a quiet street and sits alongside the Ping River.
It is also a short walk from the night market.
We had dinner in the Restaurant, and my son gave me my first tastes of Thai food.
After an Iced Coffee or two, I was feeling pretty good so we took a walk to the end of the street to an internet cafe.
The next couple of days the receptionists at the Galare arranged for private air conditioned vans with english speaking driver/tour guides that made sure we got to do whatever we wanted.
Everything from the King's Winter Palace to the Maisa Elephant Camp, where you can purchase actual paintings made by the elephants!
My son was right, it is not like a hotel, it is more like staying with some friends who have a big house.( friends that really like you)
The beds were comfortable, the hot showers were as good as home. The room had a small refridgerator and the bottled water stayed nice and cold!(Ahhhhhhh)
I really enjoyed the breakfasts overlooking the Ping River from the restaurant.
Dont miss making reservations for the Khan Toke dinner at the Old Chiang Mai Cultural Center...Repeat...Dont miss making reservations for the Khan Toke dinner at the Old Chiang Mai Cultural Center.
And bring your appetite,( Mmmmmm, Burmese Pork Curry!!!!!)
There are also some nice riverfront restaurants as well as floating reataurants which cruise the Ping as you dine.
The decorations of the buildings at the Galare are ecclectic yet very Thai, and along with the dense vegetation, and the river, you find yourself in a sanctuary of peace and quiet, whilst deep in the heart of the second largest city in Thailand.
And remember, the little Ghecko's are your friends!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellard
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2005

I normally stay in mid priced hotels, but after reading all the reviews I decided upon this place. I was not dissapointed. We stayed there in June 2005 and it looked like they were in the process of upgrading some of the rooms. The rooms are basic but have everything that you NEED (a/c, fridge, telly, wardrobe, shower and bed), if a little dark, but then you don't sit in the hotel all day do you, so what does it mater? Staff were friendly and helpfull and the place was clean, which is about the most important thing.

The one thing lacking from the rooms was any tea/coffee making facilities, but room service is availble up till 9:30pm and cold drinks available all night. There is pleasant little balcony area outside the rooms to sit and have a drink or a smoke. There is also a nicely kept little garden area if you want to sit in the sun.

The guesthouse has a small resturant attached which will cater for most tastes and is priced at Thai prices. The only thing that lets the place down, in my eyes, is the pricing structure; the rooms are cheap enough for what you get but don't include breakfast (which I do sort of prefer as it leaves you free to have breakfast when you want, not when the hotel tells you you have to have it), but the internet and the tours are expensive (plenty of other places so this is not a problem) and remember that the prices in the restaurant are all +10%. Then that said, they normally charge a late check-out fee of half a day - we checked out late, but as the place was not busy due to low season, they did not charge us for this.

The guest house is in a very good location, away from the noise and yet an easy walk to all the hustle and bustle of the shops and markets. Plenty of Bhat Buses go past the end of the lane, so getting out and about is easy.

All in all, a very pleasant, friendly and relaxed place to stay. Would I stay there again? Yes, I think I would.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2005

Chiang Mai is one of our favorite cities - we try to go there once a year. For the past four or five years, we've stayed at a great little guest house that is conveniently located near the Night Market, yet seems like it is miles away from the noise & traffic. It's located right on the Ping River, and has lots of greenery and flowers. There are about 35 rooms - they're very comfortable, though not "high style". All the rooms have tvs, fridges and a/c; some of the rooms have (reasonably-priced) broadband. They have an excellent, inexpensive restaurant located on the riverside. They also run tours to various tourist attractions in the area - we haven't taken one, but our friends did, and they were very satisfied. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. It's a family-run place and they've been in business for decades. It seems like most of the people who stay there have been there multiple times (like us). It seems to fill up almost every night in the high season, so book ahead to be sure to get a room (you can book with them online). And, on top of this all, it is very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2005

The Galare was very well placed to the night market. It is at the end of a quiet lane with some pleasant outdoor areas attached. It is a family run business, they are clean efficient and friendly. The dining area is next to the river, the food is plentiful and cheap. The rooms are basic, but OK.
We moved after two nights to the "Riverview" next door which was more upmarket but the staff were distant and we moved back to the Galare which was somehow more relaxed and friendly. The a/c is quite noisy but efficient and is useful for blocking out 'night noises.'
There is a taxi service directly opposite the gate and 'Sopin' the friendly driver speaks quite good English and is a fountain of knowledge. He can be hired for a few hours at reasonable rates for tours etc....often much cheaper to do it that way than to go on organised tours. We had a pleasant stay and will look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galare Guest House

Address: 7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Galare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galare Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galare Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.