We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planned on 1 night... stayed 4!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galare Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Galare Guest House to your Saves list
Galare Guest House
7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Planned on 1 night... stayed 4!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Feel lucky to have discovered this very comfortable place while in Chiang Mai. Initially we planned to stay 1 night then head to Pai but upon checking in we decided to stay another night and in the end stayed 4 nights. The guesthouse has a very cosy layout. The room was fairly big and very comfortable. Staff great. Restaurant also great and cheap. The location is ideal. Quiet setting on the river but close to town. We rented a scooter to get around which I think is best way to see Chiang Mai. Overall we were perfectly satisfied and would highly recommend the Galare Guest House!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    85
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
92
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Galare is quite central to most everything in central Chiang Mai. Their rooms are nice, clean and air conditioned. The staff is very friendly and helpful. While we were there the wi-fi did not work in the rooms--only in the restaurant area. The restaurant offered an excellent breakfast choices, although the price was not included in the hotel charge. Actually this gave us more variety of choices for meals. We really like being only a block away from the night market. Shopping and eating were excellent there. We would definitely go back to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Galare Guest House is located on the Ping River and is just a 5 minute walk from the Night Market. It is small, clean, tucked away, quiet, and very reasonable. Most of the staff speak English and are helpful and friendly. A good restaurant is on site as well as a tour office and we were pleased with both. We met some people who purposely repeatedly stay here for a month at a time, and I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been staying @ this guest house since I was a child. I have always loved it! I recently went back w/ my husband & we both had a wonderful stay. The staff is incredibly helpful & friendly (a lot of the same staff since I started staying there... so 20+ years). The rooms are very simple, but spacious & clean. The restaurant is is right on the river & very tasty. It's in a great location & pretty quiet considering it is only a short 5 minute walk to the Night Bazaar. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone! a lot of bang for your buck :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As previous reviews have noted, this is a pretty good place. Staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are fairly basic but adequate. Location is good, right next to the river, if that is important to you, and a five-minute walk to the night market. Nice to have a restaurant on site, even if it was slightly over-priced. However, I prebooked a five-day stay here because of the positive reviews and was somewhat sorry I did because of the constant noise of howling, barking dogs. The first night I was on the alley where the dogs live, and they fought, snarled and woofed nearly all night. I asked and was promptly given another room on the second floor away from the alley the next night. This was somewhat better, but not great. The alley dog noise was muted in my new location but other dogs that evidently live in the compound directly across from the Galare picked up the slack. I should mention that I'm an experienced traveler in SE Asia and understand some ambient noise from dogs or otherwise is par for the course. This noise was somewhat beyond that. If you're a sound sleeper it should not bother you. If not . . . there are other cheaper alternatives that are quieter. The only other criticism I have is the non-existent Wi-Fi in the rooms, which forced guests to use computers in the restaurant, where the Wi-Fi worked intermittently. I was told this was a temporary problem, so it may have been fixed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is uniquely located on the bank of the Mae Ping River, very close to the famous night bazaar and fruit/flower market. It is very peaceful and relaxed, with a very nice garden. Staff were very friendly and ready to help. The rooms were clean, well-kept, beds were comfortable. A/C, WiFi, hot water, restaurant by the river. In the future, they could work a little on expanding the variety of breakfasts they offer, - even though we were quite happy with what was offered each morning. Our stay in and around ChiangMai would have never been as great as it was, had we not met an amazing English-speaking tour guide/driver, affiliated with this hotel. His name is Tom (Paitoon Panpeach). Immaculate service: very professional, positive, knowledgeable, flexible. Just explain clearly what you want and what you don't - and there will be no hard-selling.
I totally recommend this hotel and this guy - when you plan your trip to Chiang-Mai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Family run. Very clean. Helpful with advice Ono day trips and sightseeing. Within walking distance to day and nighttime markets, some restaurants, and some shopping. Rooms have a/c, fans, tv, Internet. Guest house sits right beside the river making it quite peaceful.

Room Tip: Ground level is always great especially if u have mobility issues or lots of luggage. Guest house do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galare Guest House

Address: 7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Galare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galare Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galare Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.