We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and overcrowded temple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Phra Singh

Wat Phra Singh
Singharat Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 111 attractions in Chiang Mai
Type: Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This temple was built in 1345 under King Phayu, the fifth king of the Mangrai dynasty.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Busy and overcrowded temple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I always feel temples should give of a vibe of serenity. This is exactly what I believe Wat Phra Singh is lacking, like many other temples inside the moat area of Chiang Mai. It's just too busy and overloaded with tourists walking about. Furthermore, yes, the architecture looks impressive. Although a tiny bit tacky, if you could use this word for a temple.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    148
    45
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Maybe Skip This One...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

unless you have to see every wat in Chiang Mai. We were quite disappointed after having just visited Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, and nearby Wat Lok Molee and Wat Rajamontean Sripoom. All three of these are far more interesting from an architectural point of view. You of course have to go to Doi Suthep but when you're walking around Chiang Mai, make some time to visit the other two wats above (especially Wat Lok Molee).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I prefer to worship in smaller, quieter temple. Didn't go in main temple building.
Walk around compound to find few older buildings with great historical architecture. Top half of building is wood while bottom half is bricks. Inside of the building is impressive too with wax figure of famous monks. Very lifelike and frightened me initially when I see so many old monks staring at me while I enter.
There's also a figure of the King that founded and developed Chiang Mai

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wat?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's a neat place with many vendors set-up so you can buy food and gifts. I found some neat art there. But it's a wat.... we're not religious people so it's pretty to look at and that's about it. The monks kind of creeped me out a little. It doesn't seem to be very strict on their rules for clothing while visiting. I accidentally wore a sleeveless top the day we went and no one asked me to cover up when I went in the buildings. I still felt uncomfortable though. It's only OK. You should totally visit one while you are in Thailand and I guess this one is OK....although I don't have anything else to compare it to since we only visited this one.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

There ar a lot of wats in Chaing Mai but this is one of the prettiest (and most visited therefore). Try 7am for the place to yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Phra Singh also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Phra Singh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Phra Singh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wat Phra Singh to your Saves list