We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pornping Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pornping Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Pornping Tower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The thing that I liked most about my stay at the Pornping, was how friendly, and helpful the staff were, from the cleaners all the way to the management, I think that is a very important factor in any hotel. Great location in among-st the night market. A nice relaxing little bar, with nice food. I was very surprised to see how tired the rooms were after seeing how beautiful the lobby area was down stairs. Having said that the beds were very comfortable, and my 7 day stay here was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear JamesB5,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with friendly and help of our staff because the most important of Thai hospitality. Hotel location is our benchmark which near night market but not busy. However, bearing your comments in mind, our rooms have been under process.
We do hope we can serve you better in the future as my team and I strive for improvements each day.
Looking forward to welcoming you again for your next visit

Best Regards.

Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    58
    43
    17
    25
See reviews for
20
52
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff were very helpful and nice. Thank you to all. I stayed 8 days. The room was clean and comfortable. The only 2 negatives are..........no coffee of tea making facilities and no English speaking television other than BBC World news. Other hotels do cater for that.
The hotel is close to the Night Bazaar with lots of nice restaurants nearby. I would recommend your hotel to others if the two negatives were amended.
Lisa

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower part. No noise from the nightclub or disco. I was on the 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Lisa G

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great for read your comment that Hotel clean and comfortable. Hotel location is our benchmark which near night market but not busy. Your comments about TV program adn coffer facility in room are under process. Looking forward to welcoming you again for your next visit
Best Regards.

Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seremban
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my second stay here and I was indeed very happy with the service received throughout my short 2 nights stay here. The hotel's pick up was on time, I was mentioned by name upon my check in and was placed on the 10th floor in a deluxe room. The room was white in design( the wall and fittings), it faces the other side but was extremely quiet rendering me very satisfied after a tiring flight from Hat Yai. The wifi was working and I did not evounter any problems in my clean and tidy room. The next morning, there was a small but meaningful gift of fruits from the affable and always courteous Khun Siwach, the Assistant General Manager as a way of welcoming me back. Breakfast was excellent, pancakes. four different types of bread. vegetarian fried noodles,yummy croissants, white rice with side dishes. Drinks were lemongrass tea and orange juice with hot tea or coffee.. more than enough to start my day. The staff in the breakfast dining area were quick to attend to the guests and the smiling lady checking out the guests was Khun Amee, polite and always greeting the guests. I was also happy with the front desk who were quick and prompt to arrange my transfer back to the airport. On the day that I was about to depart, 3 staff attended to my departure and even the security guard waited at the van to greet me goodbye. My opinion is that The Porn Ping Tower is a hotel that acts and treats all the guests with warmth and I will definetely choose this hotel again on my return trip in late November. For Muslim guests, you are only a short walk to Chaeronpratet Soi 1 for halal food and Ban Haw Mosque. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our service. Hotel location is very convenience for everyone especially for Muslim people which close to mosque and halal food street. Our executive chef creates variety of Breakfast for everyone to start a good day. Your compliments have been conveyed to all staff. Again thank you for your comments and Looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qiryat Shemona, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we booked for 5 nights there, at the 1st day we got a room at the 9th floor, all the floor had a strong smell of mold and also the room, the room carpet was wet from cold water near the fridge, we asked to change room and their automatic answer were "fully booked" after they send a guy to fix it, he played with the air-condition and say "ok".. , but the floor stayed cold wet! We asked again roughly to change room, and we good a room at the 18th floor (all of a sudden no more "fully booked")
The smell at the 18th floor was ok, but a lot of noise from 7:30am until 6:00pm from the 20th floor, they are working there building it; there is a sign that say "might be some noise from 10:00-15:30 hrs" not true!!! We told the reception about the noise and the promises us that from tomorrow they will be no noise until 10:00 am, guess what... 7:30 am amazing wake up by their workers again... and it was like that every morning, the reception would say everything that you want to hear, but do whatever they want.
One more thing, we had a mouse in the room we heard him at night, and saw him in the bin and eat our food...
If you are not interested to sleep and don't mind about mouse in the rooms it's the perfect hotel for you.

Room Tip: other hotels at this price would be much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Nitsanyogev,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
We are sorry to read that you have not enjoyed staying at our hotel and would like to apologize for the shortcomings. Your valued comments were conveyed to all department concerns.Our Executive Housekeep and chief engineering went to the room by themselves to find out and make a prevent plan to ensure that will not be happened again. Pest control company was called to solve ths problem and propose the prevent plan due to agreement between ours. Reception, Housekeeper and Engineering staff were call for a meeting how to handling a problem, folllow up with guest's request untill meet their satisfaction. Once again we were sorry for any inconvenience caused you. If you plan to visit chiangmai again please let me know for your plan and be my guest!.
Looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit

Warm Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Need a simple, economical hotel located right outside the Chiang Mai night market? As a single traveler, it is sufficient. Not well lit, dark and dingy for the rooms are lit only by low w stage fluorescent bulbs and the furnishings dated. The poor lighting fosters a sense of cave like, but it has a clean bathroom and bedroom with soft spongy mattresses.

If looking just for a place to call home base, you will be fine here. If traveling with your wife and can afford to go elsewhere, keep her happy and opt for better digs. The breakfast, which is included, is excellent with a good selection and a great way to start the day. I will look for other places next time as there are literally hundreds of options. My Thai friend recommended this place and at $36/ night it is ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Eraldo7411,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great for read your compliment to Variety of our Breakfast and cleanliness of bathroom. Our executive chef create breakfast to fair between western and eastern and also consider western people would like to taste Asian food during spending their time in Asia. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused to your room. Our location which next to night market and overview to the mountain and the river always make our guests always pleasant stay here. Our chief engineering has been assigned to improved some facilities in all rooms. We are pleased to announce that the improving plan for room decorations and furniture will be completed soonest.

Best Regards

Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hello everyone.
Chiang Mai offers many excellent accommodation opportunities. I had good experiences with Pornping tower and am sad to read that some people were not happy here. Yes, it can happen. True, the hotel had seen better days and not everything is up to scratch, but nothing really critical. The hotel employs many people and not all of them are perfect. Yet it is great value for money. You need to book on Internet ( Asiarooms, Agoda etc) to get a good deal. I recommend to book de lux room with breakfast, it is worth it. Ask for western side room, the view of the city and Doi Suthep mountain is superb, the buffet breakfast is good.
Now about complaints. Yes, some problems can occur. The other night I had small problem in my room and went to the reception to talk about it. At 2 am I was transferred to better room. Later that day the deputy manager came to offer personal apology, brought me nice flowers, fruit bowl and offered to drop the fee for that night. Can you expect anything better? That is why I am keen to write this positive feedback. I feel sorry for that bloke whose money was stolen. Very disappointing, but do not get upset just because one bad person. Most people in CM are honest and welcoming. It is a great place. If there is a problem with your room (dirty bathroom, leaking aircon etc.) go to the reception to talk about it and they will help you. If you not happy with any member of the staff ask to see the Assistant Manager Mr Siwach Nitiwaraporn. He is a very nice man, polite and helpful.
By all means, try any other similar hotel to compere. I am happy to recommend you this one, it is great location, too.
May be it was not wise of me to write so positively about this hotel, next time I come here it will be fully booked and I will not get in, ha ha.
Enjoy Chiang Mai, have nice holiday and be happy here.

Jaroslav KOVARICEK, Australia

PS One important recommendation: In Thailand, no matter what the problem is never get upset. Just be polite and smile, the problems will then be easily solved not only with the help of Mr Nitiwaraporn but with Buddha as well. Buddha is a very kind teacher, the king of smiles and happiness.

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe with breakfast, it is worth it. The cheaper rooms may be close to discotheque, too no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our service. Your comment was great to understanding anything can be happened at any time but important how to handle and how fast to action to show how we care to customer, "We care" is our concept to looking after our valued guest. Your valued comment will be a guideline for our training program to "Wow service". we have been under processing plan to improve new design. Again thank you for your comments and Looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochristi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel with over 300 rooms has a “mass tourism” feeling.
The location is good, Deluxe rooms of the higher floors have a nice view and are large, clean, and have central air condition.
The rooms are old as well as the furniture and the 21" TV has only 2 English channels BBC world and National Geographic.
Wifi is free for all hotel guests, is slow but always available.
Breakfast buffet has mostly Thai dishes plus a large selection of bread but no ham, bacon or yoghurt. On one occasion there was cheese.
The people are all friendly but because of the mass-tourism-feeling I missed the Thai hospitality that you may find in a small guesthouse.
An average hotel with value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siwach n, Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear 768 Kowloon,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!
It is great to read that you were happy with our Deluxe room with large and clean. Your compliment was conveyed to Housekeeping department and encourage them to continue keeping all area clean and tidy. Our location which next to night market and overview to the mountain and the river always make our guests always pleasant stay here. Change will be occurred soonest with improving room decoration and all furniture. Breakfast variety now our executive chef is looking in detail to adjust to match with our guest and meet their satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit

Warm Regards
Siwach Nitiwaraporn, Executive Assistant Manager
Porn Ping Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pornping Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pornping Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.