We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hotel Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Star Hotel Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Soi 4, Loikroh Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I must have been tired when I booked this.. not sure what I was thinking?!
We booked a little late and our priorities were convenience over star ratings. There was no issue with location at all and the only time we spent there was to sleep. The hotel is a little dated and in need of a refurbishment to bring it up to date. When the cab driver dropped us off, I had to question him because it looked a little 'average' from the outside but he assure us there was only one 'star hotel'. Photos on this site look better than the actual rooms.

Bed sheets were too short for the king size bed so by morning the entire sheet would come out and we were left in direct contact with the blanket above the sheet. The sheets had holes in it so it was just uncomfortable to sleep in.

The most disappointing part was the shower - mouldy tiles, the shower glass door wouldn't close so water would pour out onto the bathroom floor and the ants.. lots of tiny little ants all over our toothpaste and brushes. The ants were all over the desk/study area as well so we couldn't leave anything lying around. We later realised these ants were all over Thailand but obviously better managed than at this hotel.

Views were of the back of the building which was a concrete floor full of bush and rubbish. The view farther out was blocked by a dried up bush/tree.

The breakfast was below average quality, food options were limited - I would have preferred to go to McDonalds or 7-11. The 'breakfast box' we asked for (to take with us on our 7am tour) was made up with 2 baby sausages, a triangle sandwich of white bread and jam, container of sauce, container of juice. Needless to say we skipped breakfast. On our return from the tour at 10am we went straight to the buffet to help ourselves. One of the kitchen staff questioned us and didn't look too impressed but I offered to show her the untouched boxes that we were still carrying. She didn't look but went to check with someone else. When she didn't return I approached her to ask if everything was ok (making sure we wouldn't be billed any extra) and she said, 'yes ok'. The next day she was full of smiles. Personally I think we paid for a buffet breakfast and 2 baby sausages and a triangle sandwich is far from a 'buffet. We were glad to leave this place and will definitely look for higher ratings next time!

Room Tip: Choose a hotel with a better rating! If you want location and it meets your budget it's livable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Anastasia C

Thank you for spending time to review us on your recent stayed. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoyed your experience with us.

Our hotel is scheduled for rooms renovation within this upcoming months, so hopefully if you return to us, you'll be able to stay in a more updated rooms.

Regarding your comment s on cleanliness and improve setting of the bathroom, we have addressed your comments with our housekeeping manager concerning the cleanliness of the rooms. Please accept our sincere apology on this and we hope to provide you again with a better room and services next time.

We are sorry that you found our breakfast below standard. We take your comments very seriously indeed. We have shared your comments with our team and we're on the process of improving our standard.

We hope to welcome you again when we have completely update the rooms so we can exceed your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing with us your experience, so we can improve ourselve to a higher level.

We truly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    72
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
18
39
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had little choice of hotel. Not much available for a last minute business trip. But the Star fell below even the appalling standard reflected in other reviews.Not only was my shower putrid with mould and grunge... but the hot water didn't work.

After a very blunt discussion with reception the next morning there was a feeble attempt at removing mould - but still no hot water. A shouting match at reception at midnight resulted in a staff member - with wet hands - jiggling the circuit breakers in the closet to get the hot water system to work.

The rooms are grimy, shabby, and carelessly maintained. Many look at the blank wall of the building next door. Ancient CRT TVs offer a fuzzy picture. The hotel charges for the instant coffee in the room,and around $US10 for 24hours of WiFi. As others have noted - the website images look like they were taken of another hotel.

The location is convenient - the bed comfortable enough - but everything else is woeful.... and worst of all .... just plain dirty.

Room Tip: Insist on viewing the room first. If it is not clean demand another. Do not prepay this hotel - give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Khun Ianfly

Thank you for spending your time to give us straight comments. I see it as an opportunity to improve ourserve.

We sincerely apologize that the hot water did not work properly during your stay. During that time, trying to fix the machine was the only way we could do because we were fully-booked on that time. It's very sad that you has to be in a shouting match with our staff. I have a serious discussion with my front office team and I can ensure that it will not happen again.

We hope you will give us another chance to convince you with a better service.

We truly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Quite a different experience during high season. Housekeeping services were no longer above average. The grout in the shower was dis-colored by mildew. No soap was originally provided. At check in we weren't offered the code for the free wifi. The free breakfast was adequate but no longer above average. My apologies to anyone who acted on my previous review.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Khun Foodjack 45

Thank you for spending time to review us on your recent stay.

The satisfaction of our guests has highest priorities. Please accept our apologizes for the housekeeping issue that you experienced during your stay. We have discussed with our housekeeping as well as food&beverage team concerning our services standard improvement and how to maintain such standard on the high season period.

We certainly would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again with a better service.

We truly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was grossly overpriced as a lure to the discount deals on Agoda. It is not worth $2--300 dollars per night. It is showing signs of age and the carpets and walls are stained and look well worn. The bed was comfortable, the room was basically clean, they charge for your coffee, and location was excellent for the night bazaar, but if you are expecting to see what is on the web, quite honestly expect to be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Khun Derek D

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are truly apologize that we didn't provide you the services you're expected. our hotel is in contact with many online travel agents including agoda. various promotion will be lauched in different period of times. We hope you'll find a better deals with us next time.

Our hotel is schedule for a soft renovation in the upcoming months. We look forward to welcome you again in a future so we can provide you with a better service.

Your review is greatly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

However, the room wasn't that clean. The rugs were dirty and the bathroom had alot of muld.

We stayed at this hotel for 3 night in 2 different rooms. First one was awesome. The other let us to play with a cockroach for couple of hours before going to sleep.

The breakfast was nice and nothing more.

The hotel is in a very good location, near the night bazzar.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Khun EhTal

Thank you for expressed your comment on your recent stay with us.

Please accept our apology regarding to cleanliness of the rooms. We have addressed this issue with our housekeeping and we ensure you that we'll be able to provide you with more impressive service next time.

Thanks again for your kind reviews, we truly appreciate.
Chatnapatr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I hastily booked this hotel directly on their website without checking reviews first. More fool me. It's absolutely nothing like the website & the staff actually chuckle when you bring this up. Even with the alleged 50% early booking discount this hotel is poor value for money. We were locked into a non refundable booking, as many others seem to be, so we stayed but never again
Everything seemed & felt dirty. We even had to tell the maids to change the bedding again on more than one occasion due to finding spurious stains on the 'clean' set
There is no safe in the room & lock boxes in reception can just about hold a families passports so don't get any ideas of everyone's iPads etc being left safely during the day
There are also minimal charging points available so everything had to be done in turn
Oh well lessons learnt & no actual harm done

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Niggly

Thank you for your reviews and we apologize that our hotel have failed to meet your expectations.

Our Hotel is schedule for rooms renovation within this upcoming months. The public area of the hotel will be getting a refresh as well. we will shared review to all staffs and improve to better.

We are looking forward to welcome you again by end of this year so we can provide you with a better service.

We truly appreciate
Chatanaptr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Chiang Mai is probably one of the most spectacular places to visit in Thailand...We enjoyed every bit of our stay.....This hotel hits most of the buttons but also misses quite a few e.g. the carpets need replacement....It's a small property but now they are counting on expansion ...Big Time! Wonderfully located hotel in the heart of Night Bazaar. The hotel had a very authentic feel to it and the service was good. The problem we had was that the "Premiere room" was clearly a regular sized room (which wasn't terribly large to begin with), in which a extra bed had been squeezed, thereby making the room even smaller....but again the location and service makes up for it....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatnapatr, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Arijit_Guha

Thank you so much for spending time to review us.

It's great to know that our hotel had satisfied you and made your stay enjoyable. Star Hotel is a limited service hotel, but we always look for a way to improve our quality.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

We truly appreciate
Chatanaptr Chittaratsaenee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 36 Soi 4, Loikroh Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star hotel, Chiang mai Little Paradise in the heart of Chiang Mai city in the famous Night Bazaar square only 3 minutes walking, only 6 Km from the airport ( 10 minutes drive) and 3 Km from the train station. The Star promises to offer quality service with confort and value, safety and efficient service.You will have everithing you need such as 32" LCD TV, universal plug,Wifi access, free bottled water, minibar and in room safe at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Hotel Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.