We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hotel Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Star Hotel Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Soi 4, Loikroh Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel with reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First of all I have to admit that I was not expecting this. The hotel was located at the heart of the Night Bazaar, It is only 2 min walk. Check in was very quick and the hotel staff were respectful and helpful. No complaints at all. You can rent motorbike just across the street of the hotel and explore Chiang Mai. There are also too many TukTuks which can cost only 100 baht. Hotel amenities were enough for the price. Spacious room and there is a sofa for relaxing. However, there were some negative things for the hotel as well. I made a reservation for king sized double bed, yet two twin sized single beds were joined as one single bed. It was not bad but I would have preferred one double bed. In addition, the hotel is really tired and old, maybe a good renovation is needed. But in overall, I was satisfied from Star Hotel when I think the other Hotel prices around.

Room Tip: There are not many options in this area of Chiang Mai especially in nights. There are some restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    72
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
18
39
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is my third visit to this hotel. Yes it is a an old hotel but the owners have made a big effort of redecorating and in some rooms have updated the room facilities. More than can be said with some other hotels close by in this area. Not only are the rooms clean, I have seen a big difference with the staff especially at the reception desk, who more than happy to help. Breakfast facilities have improved but was found to be cold on one or two occasions slight improvement required here.The only downside to this hotel is the expensive internet and the charge for coffee in the room although during the day coffee is available in the reception. It is noted that the hotel's website has been upgraded and it states that you are offered a welcome drink which was not offered during my stay. Also on checkout at the hotel I was asked to pay for a drink taken from the mini bar in the room which I had not taken but was soon removed from the bill. As a regular visitor to Chiang Mai the main reason reason why I choose this hotel is because of it's location close by to the market and other activities in this area.
I will stay at this hotel again should I go back there next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great place if you want to be able to walk the night market and walking street to the old walled city. Small friendly hotel just off the main road, looks nothing from the street but very quiet. Good breakfast for a 3 star, best pay the little extra and book the suite so you have your own sitting room. We had an extra bed put in as there was 3 of us this trip, cost but works. Bathrooms are small but clean and adequate for 4-5 nights. They charge for internet but ask for a free hour card at reception, they should offer you one.

Room Tip: Definatly book a suite, not much more than a normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed there 4 nights. Hotel was old but everything in good kondition and clean. Hotel was behind bigger hotel a smaller street but very near night bazar and nightlife. Sofa in the room was nice and also did not hear any noises during nights.

Only disadvance is that there are no swimming pool. Staff is very nice and ready to help all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Star hotel is located right next to the Night market, in the middle of restaurants, cafes and shops. I had a deluxe room, so it is spacious with a nice view of the city. Breakfast is so-so. Internet is expensive and not really working well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in Star hotel for a week in August 2012. Reaons for staying there

a) It is reasonably cheap, SGD$28 per night especially since I am travelling alone.
b) It within walking distance to night bazzar and chinatown.

The room size was alright, more than enough for a single person. Service level within expectations. The aircon compressor was making a lot of noise when I checked in and had to call twice before the technican fixed it.

The room and toilet are clean. The housekeeper is very diligent and did a fantastic job of cleaning the room. The room does look aged but at least it is comfortable and clean. The area is also quite safe. You can leave your valuables with the hotel reception deposit boxes. It is also easy to get around with the "red buses" that cost about 20 baht per trip.

When I was staying there, the hotel was undering renvotion. They were adding an extension wing and it does get noisy during the day. But since I am out most of the time it does not bother me.

Given a choice I will stay within the city walls instead. The area around the night bazzar is more expensive compared to the city walls area.

There are not much good food to go around within a 5 to 10 minutes walking distance and nothing much to explore. Just a lot of tourists and a lot more expensive prices for products and meals. It not that authentic.

Most of the time I will go to Chinatown which is about 15 to 20 minutes walk. There is a lot of make shift stalls at night at Chinatown that sell a lot of nice food and snacks and the flower market is also nearby and it is definitely more authentic than Night Bazzar.

A lot of locals go there at night.

Chinatown / waraot market prices are definitely much cheaper than elsewhere and it is great shopping there, you can get a lot of good quality cotton material stuff e.g. Clothes, pants, curtains, cushions for low prices. E.g. A collar good quality cotton T-shirt only cost 120 baht.

Another great point about star hotel is the travel agency located within it. I managed to get a cheaper price for the gibbon experience by booking with them. I have actually went around checking with 6 to 7 travel agencies and to my surprise this agency offers the best deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is my second time stay in this hotel, because of it location close to the famous Night Blazaar in Chiang Mai. staffs are very friendly, they even upgrade one of our rooms.
i have my hand basin problem during my 1st day stay, between few minutes the maintenance staff came and fit it.
stayed 19/1 & 20/1/2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 36 Soi 4, Loikroh Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star hotel, Chiang mai Little Paradise in the heart of Chiang Mai city in the famous Night Bazaar square only 3 minutes walking, only 6 Km from the airport ( 10 minutes drive) and 3 Km from the train station. The Star promises to offer quality service with confort and value, safety and efficient service.You will have everithing you need such as 32" LCD TV, universal plug,Wifi access, free bottled water, minibar and in room safe at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Hotel Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.