We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exact translation to the word "nice"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Suriwongse Hotel to your Saves list
Suriwongse Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exact translation to the word "nice"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in Suriwongs as a couple during November.
First time I have stayed in the suriwongs.
The location is the best thing the hotel has - really couldnt be better.
The breakfast is average, the staff are nice and the rooms are nice but NOT as shown in the net.
It was defiantly "value for money" but thats about it.
Will probably stay in a better hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dor_Lipszyc,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.

Best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    342
    128
    48
    21
See reviews for
140
189
93
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked online, stay in the room and also on the picture is almost (need to mention, the hotel bed linen is not changed every day, it is best to replace the message), the hotel is not clearly marked, then the time for the driver to open the wrong place the. The reception is English accent a little better than Bangkok, waiters are very warm, lobby play commissioner to explain and book projects, hotel close to the night market, not far from the ancient city, Chiang Mai University to take both convenient double bar car and cheap.

Room Tip: Commissioner lobby play to explain and book projects, hotel close to the night market, not far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Service 10 Rooms 10. Loved it! Was booked to stay in the 4* Centara Duangtawan Hotel on the same road, checked out early and stayed at Suriwongse instead. More polite and better staff, spacious and clean room at a better value!! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely come back to stay again!! :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel our service and location.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have to admit that when I first saw the hotel from the outside, I was kinda worried, but as soon as I walked inside the building. I was relieved and thought that I made the right choice.

Pros: The location is just perfect. You're not directly on the main busy street, but you are so close. I got upgraded to deluxe room, which was spacious and clean. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was also very good.

Cons: The free wi-fi was, however, not very stable, but it was good enough. Also, there was no swimming pool in the building, if you felt like relaxing by the pool on a hot afternoon. I heard from a staff that the hotel offer free shuttle to a swimming pool nearby, but I never made it.

After all, I must say that I'm happy with my choice of staying at Suriwongs and I would go back and stay here again, if I'm going back to Chiangmai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As indicated in the title of this review, My wife and parents had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. I believe a lot of reviewers already mentioned about the proximity to the Night Bazaar so I shall not elaborate. The hotel staff is very friendly as well. There's also one staff that could converse in Mandarin. We stayed in total 3 nights in this hotel with a break after 2 nights as my family headed further North for a night at Chiang Rai. We were able to leave our baggage with the hotel and when we return, we were pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade of our rooms all thanks to the staff. I would recommend the Deluxe Room as it's extremely spacious with a much bigger bathroom as well. I would definitely stay in this hotel again when I visit Chiang Mai again.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Room if price is not the main consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our service and staff.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very good impression when we just reach airport and the driver from the hotel already waiting at the arriving area. Welcome with cool drink and towel....great. Very helpful staff in the front desk and the hotel located extremely great with variety restaurant and just a few step from the Night Bazaar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Khun SuYee73,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A good hotel with friendly employees and good location. Just 5 minutes walk from the night bazzar. Don't get cheated by the small lobby. The rooms are nice, clean and the house keeping is doing a good job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Khun Holiday1228,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our hotel.

I will make sure to forward your positive feedback to the concerned departments. We hope to welcome you soon again in Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai.

Best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suriwongse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suriwongse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.