We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Suriwongse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Suriwongse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Helpful and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was very impressed by how keen and helpful the staff were. They really look after you! The rooms are clean and reasonably priced and it has everything you would expect of a very professional hotel of international standard. I really enjoyed my stay here and highly recommend it especially if you have plans to visit the Night Bazaar which is right at its door step.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    250
    95
    33
    16
See reviews for
108
127
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

When you have to repair some rooms, you must prevent the smell and noise to annoy some guests at the same floor. The house keeper has to clean the room before they come back and you have to have an inspector to double check for their performances.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location, good breakfast n helpful staff. Will come back again in future.very near to pavilion night bazaar. Walking distance about 5 minutes from back entrance of the hotel. Mc D and Burger King is around the corner. Few western bars too, a very good massage " Tulip Massage" is opposite the hotel. Easy access to Saturday n Sunday Night walking street by calling a tuk tuk, cost about 60 bath.

Room Tip: Free shuttle bus to Airport Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel is so near to night market for everyone in the family and even my mother can enjoy shopping on her wheelchair. The hotel location is so convenient and it is easy for us to get halal food frm Anusan market, or from the nearby mosque and we can always enjoy the turkish kebab sold from the turkish kebab cart near the junction of the hotel. We also enjoy the crispy Thai "goreng pisang" and the soft "char quay" served during breakfast at the hotel. The staff in the htl are so kind and they treat my family like their family.

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe room and room is big!! if only it comes with king size bed and not 02 separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very reasonable priced accomodation that has seen better days but still very comfortable. I was in building B but no real difficulty getting to breakfast in building A. Hotel is old but bathrooms had been remodeled and all very clean and workable.
Location is great right in the thick of things. Night market 50 metres away.Thai boxing stadium 150 metres away. Bars and nightlife easy walking distance. 15 minute walk to Sunday walking street market. Not far from river or old city gate.
Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Rooms in building A would be closer to breakfast otherwise no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porretta Terme, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stay 4 nights, the hotel is luxury for my standard. Part of the hotel is renovation, so the price is much lower then normal... very good deal! The swimming pool and gym were not available, but personally why do you need it in Chiang Mai? Go out and visit this wonderful city. Position, 500 m from night bazaar. Staff very nice (as always in Thailand), breakfast excellent. My suggestion: visit the city with a bike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed for three nights and was pleasantly suprised Firstly the front line /office staff all spoke english this was my third time to thailand and the first time i had experienced this.The staff were very helpful i arrived at 6.30 am and they gave me an early room unheard off.I was so grateful they went the extra mile.The breakfast was great western bacon/eggs/toast fruit and asian food as well.The hotel is being modernised and my room was a little old...but i was willing to accept this .I was very happy i stayed here keep doing what you are doing and when the renovations are done it will be topclass....dont increase the prices though!!! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suriwongse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suriwongse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.