We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Suriwongse Hotel to your Saves list
Suriwongse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First class service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I've had to think long and hard about what to write in this review as the hotel was under renovation and my 7 month old daughter received several nasty mosquito bites, which became badly infected while in the room in her cot. This was after we had told the staff about there being Mosquitos in the room and resulted us in the having to take her to hospital when we went on to our next destination.
I have to say in all honesty though, had my daughter not suffered this I would be raving about this hotel. Right from our check in we were shown to our room by the manager, who carried our daughter up to the room. When I mentioned that the room had no bath the manger arranged for us to be upgraded immediately and had all our luggage moved to the new room. The room was very spacious and clean.
There was a good choice of food on offer for breakfast and the staff very efficient and attentive. Our daughter received so much attention from all the staff, they really were so wonderful to her.
After breakfast on the first day I found out that there was no pool or gym as they were under renovation. I told the manager that had I have known this at the time of our booking I would have stayed somewhere else. He then arranged for us to be able to use the facilities at their sister hotel virtually right next door. Now I could not ask for more than that. The issues that I had we're more than compensated for without any fuss what so ever.
Thank you Chon (manager) you and your staff more than met our expectations with your kindness and professionalism. I'd like to come back and stay again once the renovations are completed. Great hotel, superb staff in an awesome location. Next time though I shall be bringing a Mosquito plug in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    310
    113
    39
    17
See reviews for
127
163
74
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

really great hotel. staff were amazing. definitely recommend it to any of my friends who visit chiang mai. good location too.

airport shuttle was very easy (we booked a deal which included shuttle, breakfast and room upgrade). my friends came on a later shuttle so there was some confusion re our return shuttle but it was all sorted by the manager promptly.

hotel was undergoing renovations but that did not affect our time there at all.

breakfast was really good. perfect way to start the day.

rooms really neat and spacious (we had three in a room and had plenty of space)

anyway just want to reiterate how kind the staff were. i landed at 8am after a 30 hour journey to get to thailand. they were kind enough to have our room ready because of this (i had emailed weeks before with the request). can't beat great hospitality!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe room with three people. comfortable size for 3. not sure what standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, wa.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

the hotel is still undergoing renovation. Staff was extremely helpful and kind. Breakfast buffet very good and lots of choices. No pool still, which was a major bummer. Beds were very hard, I slept on couch on cushions. But the location was terrific, night market steps away. Safe and a mini fridge that worked were great and the air con worked just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite large and well appointed, street noise not as issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent 3 nights in this hotel in Feb/Mar 2013. We were upgraded when we arrived. the room was amazing, the location is excellent, the night market is literally on the doorstep where you can shop from around 5pm to midnight and beyond. The staff friendly and food good.
Only criticism was that pool was being renovated but we were taken by shuttle to a sister hotel to use their facilities.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room (upgrade). Unfortunately, due to the fact that this hotel is in the centre of C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Renovations notwithstanding the hotel has a few issues that could be easily enough addressed.

-The wifi is woefully inconsistent, with multiple dropouts and the annoying need for repeated logins
-Breakfast is substantial, but nothing special with very little in the way of choice
-TV channel choice is lousy for a native English speaker, unless you are a huge BBC World News fan
-The temporary lobby is a long way around the corner from the old main entrance, yet it is not sign-posted in any way. Even locals are confused as to the whereabouts of the reception desk

On the positive side, staff was generally helpful and the tariff is very affordable. Proximity to the Night Market is a huge plus.

Room Tip: Try for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in the remnants of the operating hotel, the main part is shut and being renovated, so its down a side street to an unsigned entrance to access the lobby.

The staff were officious and helpful, I was happy with the room and was paying a special promo rate , I would hate to pay full quoted room rack price , the rooms are tad tired for a 4 star hotel rating although that would change once the renovations will be complete in the main complex .

The room was large and clean and tidy the daily cleaning staff did a good job

Breakfast was good and plenty of choice some dishes were not covered eg the sausages and potatoe dishes were luke warm at best, while the egg cook and soups etc were great, the staff were very thoughtful an helpful

The position of the hotel was perfect for me near the night markets and a tuk tuk ride from anyhere in Chang Mai, trips and tours can be organised from a desk in the lobby

All in all I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would look to in staying again but would check trip advisor reviews when the works are complete

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is ungoing renovations and is a little disjointed , long walk from hotel entrance to reception, staff were friendly and helpfull . Breakfast was adequate but choices could have been better. Are room has not been renovated as yet and was very tired but clean.
Position of hotel is ideal for night market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suriwongse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suriwongse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.