We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location ,but the stuf not polit.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suriwongse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Suriwongse Hotel to your Saves list
Suriwongse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
ابوظبي
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location ,but the stuf not polit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Good location ,it is in the amung of night bazar, but the stuf not polit. I booked delox room but the give me standard room .and ther is mintenanc in this hotel,so it is noicy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Mr. Salem,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and also for your comments on our hotel and staff services. We have immediately investigated and taken appropriate actions so there is no repetition of the same in the future. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We really hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you once again with the highest standards of services during your next trip to Chiangmai.

Yours sincerely,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    311
    115
    39
    17
See reviews for
127
165
74
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were upgraded to a suite despite paying for a renovated deluxe room. We were told that it’s renovated but when we went to the room, it doesn’t look renovated. We called up the reception to clarify and they insisted that its really renovated. The room looked dated; furniture was old, the worse was the bed – the mattress is decompressed and it literally creaks when you turn during your sleep. We had aches the next day! There were patches of stain marks on the carpet. The room had a musky smell and mosquitoes; the toilet does not have exhaust fan, and plumbing system definitely need overhaul. It was so bad that the reception informed us that we need to change to another suite the next day as the leakage was affecting the room below us. They also requested us to be mindful of how we flush the toilet during the rest of the night. This is how bad the condition of the suite!

The next day, we rejected the suite and asked for deluxe room instead, hoping that it would be a better room. It turned out to be slightly better, at least the bed does not creak but otherwise everything was the same and the toilet plumbing system was in working condition. The only grip I have was the standing shower, it’s a little tight considering the space they have.

The only plus point of this hotel is the location. It’s walking distance to night market, food, massages, tour agencies and its has free shuttle bus that brings you to a shopping mall and back. Staff at the reception was not very knowledgeable. We asked if Walking Street Market is nearby, they told us that its 20min away from hotel and we need to take tuk-tuk. But we managed to walk there in less than 15 min. Breakfast spread was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My 6 night stay at this hotel was a very welcoming and comfortable one. Everything you need is very handy - night bazar, 7/11, Macdonalds, Starbucks and many more local eateries. If it's not handy just step outside and catch a red taxi for a minimum cost. Breakfast is varied and plentiful to start your busy day. Staff are friendly and ready to assist in whatever way they can. I was picked up by the shutle bus and after a long trip was greeted with a cold bottle of water and hot fragranced towel on the way. Overall, its a great location and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor, I had bathroom with a shower and bath, lounge chairs and a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinai C, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us and most of all for your positive comments for our staff and services. Such comments are definitely a great encouragement to our staff to carry on offering the best of services to our valued customers.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Chiang Mai will include the Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with the warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Thank you once again,

Best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Despite most of the negative reviews abt this hotel, i decided to give it a try coz the location is utmost important to me. I stayed in a deluxe orchid at new wing and it was the most worthwhile stay that i ever had. Room is huge though furniture is a bit outdated, no aircon and water heater problem, bathroom is brand new with bathtub n separate shower. Most important thing was no mosquitoes in our room at all. Service is good but not encouraged to join their hotel tours due to price is more expensive than outside travel agents.

Room Tip: My room no. was 550. Rooms located right on top of the bar at level 5 are not sound proof therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supakorn K, General Manager at Suriwongse Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Doreena C,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Suriwongse Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our valued clients.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore are taking the appropriate measures for the improvements in all areas as much as possible.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in Chiang Mai and at the Suriwongse Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards,
Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had paid for two nights through Agoda. The payment was not refundable but I left anyway after the first night. I've never done this before.

The first room that I was given was a huge, old, outdated, dirty and stuffy. It was full of mosquitoes. The first thing I did was to buy mosquito repellent from the 7/11. The next thing I reconsidered my situation and went to ask the reception staff if I could change rooms.

The staff was really nice and they gave me a "deluxe" room without extra cost! That was nice. Unfortunately, the room was not very pleasant. The bathroom had been renovated but the paint was chipping from the walls which were dirty. The thick carpet was worn and filthy. There was a heavy smell, desinfectant and something else that made feel that I cannot breathe. Oh, and there was no safe in the room! From my window I could see a blank wall.

I am not very picky and I've been backpacking quite a lot in South East Asia. This hotel had the worst price/quality ratio I've seen. After a nice breakfast (which was really OK), I left and found another, nice, clean place for the same price.

I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone before it has been completely renovated. Avoid like hell unless you love mosquitoes and don't let the good location misguide you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at room 641. We also booked 2 more rooms for the other family members.
This is a hotel that is showing its age.
We were told that the renovations were complete, but the rooms that we were issued with did not seem new. The wooden door and door frame was painted over but I could see cracks long the edges.
There was a strong musty smell along the corridors, it became a lot more worse in each room, I think it could be the old carpets?

They don't send a staff to bring you to your rooms. For us, upon reaching the room, we could not get the air-conditioning and the lights to work. Hmmmm..
Went to a control panel at the bedsite, then found that you have to use it to operate the a/c and lights.
We could not charge a phone in the morning. Upon calling reception, the instructions were to turn on the controls at the main control panel other than the Master switch. It didn't work when I switched the lights away from the bed where our kid was still sleeping. Called reception, they sent a staff to help.
Staff came to the room and demonstrated that only by switching on all the lights in the room, then the power could work. So the power sockets do not work if the room lights are switched off. If you need to charge your devices at night while you sleep, good luck, unless you can sleep with all the lights on.
One workaround I discovered on day 2 of the stay was to unplug one of the bedroom lights, then use it to charge, with the control for that light turned on.

The rooms do not have the card-based scanning keys, you will be issued with a old-school metal key, one per room.

Was hanging around at the lobby in front of the reception at the night, mosquitoes starting swarming all around, even though I had sprayed myself with citronella. I took out around 8 of them, maybe more. Became too distracting. Went up to the 6th floor lift lobby with my iPad, but managed around maybe ten minutes before saw my first mosquito.

My 5 year old got bitten on the face and the hands on the second night to the 3rd morning. We discovered this in the morning. Odd that the room had biting insects. His ear was badly bitten on the back. We counted at least 14 bites. Not sure if these due to mosquitoes in the room. The wife and myself were spared. Looking at the reviews from around the same time as our stay, it looks like the mosquitoes.
I sprayed our luggage with bed bug spray when we reached home just in case.

The toliets for the other 2 rooms got choked on day 1 and day 3 of our stay.

On the plus side, the hotel is very near the night market and a lot of eating places.

Breakfast was at the 4th floor. It was dimly lit, but we could still make our way around.
Chiangmai is now dry and heavy with hazy. The haze would be bothersome if you are not used to it, or a non-smoker. Outdoor activities with small children are not the best choice. My 2 and 5 year old got runny noses by day 2. To be fair, the 2 year old already had a stuffy nose before landing in Chiangmai.

Temperatures in the day to late night don't dip to below 20 degrees centigrade. The below 20's you might find on the weather reports are only in the wee hours of morning at 3am or so.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

The location was great but the room was poor. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation. We stayed in the 'old building', the room was very old/a bit dirty and Mosquitos were EVERYWHERE!!! There were so many in our room too, we had to buy a can of fly spray and use half of it in there! It was also very musky. I would not stay here until the renovations were done unless I was in the newer building. Breakfast was great though.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suriwongse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suriwongse Hotel

Address: 110 Changklan Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suriwongse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfectly located on the corner of Loikoh and Changklan Road, right at the heart of Chiang Mai’s landmark the “Night Bazaar”. The hotel is a short distance from Chiang Mai International Airport, the railway and bus stations.Conveniently located in the heart of the ancient city, The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike. The hotel is close to the city’s main business district and many of the major attractions are within walking distance. And when the evening comes, you are just a few steps away from the famous Night Bazaar, where you can enjoy a lively blend of shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only a ten-minute drive from Chiang Mai’s International Airport, and within easy reach of the city’s outskirts if you want to get away for a round of golf or to enjoy a day trip in the hills.A few steps from the famous Night Bazaar, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chiang Mai’s many cultural sights and attractions. The Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai caters to cultural adventure seekers embraced by the warmth of local treat combined with quality service. Its contemporary interior blends in perfect harmony with the traditional Thai Lanna style architecture, creating a warm ambience. In a buzzing and vibrant atmosphere, we present exciting dining options with inter-active show kitchens.The traditional influences of the north’s ancient Lanna Kingdom are incorporated into the decor of each of our rooms and suites. Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai’s rooms and suites, enjoy either restful views of the city center or look out over the majestic misty mountain of Doi Suthep. While inside, a range of modern amenities create a haven of comfort where weary travellers can rest and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suriwongse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Suriwongse Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suriwongse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.