We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happened upon this very beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Chiang Man

Wat Chiang Man
Ratchaphakhinai Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$44*
and up
Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples
Ranked #20 of 129 Attractions in Chiang Mai
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
NorCal, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happened upon this very beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

In Chiang Mai, we were walking at dusk heading to dinner when we happened upon this Wat. We decided to walk the grounds before dinner and boy were we glad we did. There is a beautiful pagoda in the back, supported by a pillar of stone and concrete Elephants supporting that. It was just a nicely laid out grounds and really got some beautiful shots.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    77
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wat Chiang Man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is another temple that is easily accessible by taking a walking tour within the city walls of Chiang Mai.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

One of the oldest wats in Chiang Mai. It has a beautiful elephant stupa at the back to the temple so do check that out!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning artwork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

There were just so many temples in Chaing Mai, and we passed many on Thapae rd as we walked to the train station, so we were already pretty overwhelmed before we even walked into one. We set out for the gated city with three temples recommended by staff at our hotel, but ran into a man who has visited Chiang Mai often and he saw our map with the suggestions circled and suggested Wat Chiang Man as well as it was the first temple built in Chiang Mai.

The temple itself looks quite humble from the entrance, its not until you walk through the garden to the elephant pyramid out back, and then into the temple off to the left that you start to see they are all connected by pieces of string.

The second temple houses the crystal Buddha which is obscured behind bars and quite honestly dwarfed by the amazing coloured story displayed on the walls.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete TAHITI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Oldest temple in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wat Chiang Man is the oldest temple in the old city and was built over 800 years ago. The temple is huge with great buddhas inside. In the back there is an old elephant temple/chedi. Another must see temple in the city of Chiang Mai !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Chiang Man also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Chiang Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Chiang Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.