We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Village

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Tamarind Village
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The Tamarind Village is a great hotel, every corner is beautiful so I took so many pictures just of the grounds! The location is great as well, right in the old city, and to my husband's great joy, near a good coffee chain (Wawee). To MY great joy it was also near the Sunday night market :) When we arrived there were flowers on our bed and lit votive candles-very romantic! The only problem was the mosquitoes in the room, but they were doing an extermination the next day, so I'm assuming it's always a problem during that time of year (end of rainy season).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    179
    29
    12
    2
See reviews for
99
331
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had booked Lanna deluxe rooms in the Tamarind Village hotel, which were a good size and had everything you'd expect. The buildings are of the Lanna style and the hotel design looks beautiful. Despite being in the heart of the old town, the hotel has a quiet, peaceful ambience, with easy access to the main sites, nightlife and shopping areas.
Unfortunately, our air-con broke twice and on one occassion we had to change rooms on returning to the hotel late at night. However, the hotel did everything they could and offered us a free banquet meal as compensation.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want peace and quiet, with the intimacy of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

What a true gem. We went to Thailand for our honeymoon and stayed at the Tamarind Village while in Chiang Mai. It was perfect. Although it was in the heart of the city, you would never know it. You walk down a walk way/drive way with bamboo and lanterns on each side before entering the property. Everyone on the staff was accomodating, friendly, and willing to bend over backwards to accomodate your requests. The hotel designer used local tribal designs as a theme for the rooms, restaurant, shop, and grounds in general. You just felt relaxed walking through the door. They had excellent, clean, beautifully decorated rooms, and we only took the basic. I thought that for the room, location, breakfast, and feeling of serenity it was worth every penny, under $150 which will hardly get you a flea motel back home. The emenities in the room were the most supoerior of our entire trip as well and the breakfast.... the food was wonderful and high quality. We also had lunch and dinner there once and it was again the highest quality local cuisine of our trip. Everything about this location speaks rustic charm and relaxation. The spa was great as well. They do this lemongrass foot wash before any treatment that is a treat in and of itself. Do not miss out on this hidden gem, you will regret it. We plan to go back to Thailand and use this hotel as our base while travelling to the North of Thailand.

BTW, I read all of the poor reviews about this property and see that they are very old and that honestly some of the issues were ridiculous. You cannot expect every hotel in a developing country to cost $26/night or to be upset that you were charged for a post card when the information clearly states two complementary post cards, give it a rest people.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Ok, so we're not the most luxurious travelers, but this was pretty epic for us. We arrived to Tamarind Village fresh off an overnight train from Bangkok, tired, with our hair disheveled and backpacks on - they promptly handed us a tasty lime drink and treated us like royalty. (And we were used to staying in hostels - so this was amazing...)

Our room was amazing - we had our own little deck, live orchids in the room, fruit baskets, amazing showers, comfy beds - I wish my bedroom at home looked as awesome. ;) We were the only ones utilizing the black-tile pool - and we did it in style. Cannonballs galore. (Yeah we did.) The "Village" is set in a gorgeous garden-style setting with little walk ways to connect the buildings. Breakfast was served poolside and was one of the best hotel-breakfasts we've had to this day.

We also went trekking for 3 nights through the hill tribes (with Apple Tours - great as well) and Tamarind Village held our luggage for us. When we arrived back for a day or so of R & R after sleeping on the ground for a few days (again, dirty as sin...) they handed us another tasty lime beverage at check in and treated us like royalty. (Not the dirty, hiking, backpackers that we were.)

They made Chiang Mai one of our favorite cites we've traveled to. While there - check out HUG bar, the night markets, and Apple Tours sorted us out with a great 3 day trek and a cooking school that we LOVED.

We traveled here in 2005

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one week and it was an almost perfect experience. Some rooms are rather small, but the style and character of its architecture makes a stay in this hotel very enjoyable. The first night was disturbing because of a very loud air condition unit near our window, but it was no problem to get another room. Good breakfast, quiet and central location in the middle of the old town. If you can get a special rate for a longer stay, definitely go for it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful little boutique hotel last week. The staff were absolutely fantastic. I had one day when I was feeling unwell, and they kindly asked twice if they could do anything for me, call a doctor or pick up some medicine for me - very thoughtful. The service was wonderful, always attentive and friendly. We took a package which included 3 night's accommodation, 3 breakfasts, 1 set dinner, 1 90 minute spa treatment, 1 temple tour. My husband and I loved our room which had the most heavenly bed and pillows - like sleeping on a cloud! The breakfast was delicious, and this we enjoyed the 3 mornings that we were there. We had one set Thai Northern Dinner, which was excellent, but we did not dine again because we found the restaurant rather pricey for Thailand. The pool was lovely and being low season, we always had it to ourselves, which was great! The decor is beautiful, classy and simple, both in the hotel and the gardens. The old (over 200 years old) Tamarind tree in the courtyard is magnificent. We both enjoyed a massage in the spa, which was amazing, and part of our package, but again, on the pricey side if treatments outside of the package are taken. I have no hesitation in recommending the Tamarind Village to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Beautiful secluded location away from busy noisy streets outside and feels like another world. Great rooms and restaurant. Were here on our honeymoon and was a great choice

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.