We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Village

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tamarind Village
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent 2 nights here in April 2013... Absolutely beautiful people and hotel. The facilities are gorgeous and the service is excellent! Very clean and welcoming for anyone, single traveller or couples or families. Can not fault!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    179
    29
    12
    2
See reviews for
99
331
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I can't believe I've waited so long to review this hotel. It was my life's dream to travel to Asia, and when I decided to go to Chiang Mai, I combed TripAdvisor and every possible source for a hotel. I was a little hesitant to stay in the middle of town, but this was the best hotel of my entire trip. It is the perfect balance of urban location and romantic getaway.
The staff is beyond fabulous. I had many questions before, during, and even after my stay and they were kind and informative at every turn. I was give a cake for my birthday, we had massages at the hotel, and ate there several times because it was so easy and the food was so good.
It was very hot when we visited, so the pool was a fantastic advantage (although I do agree with other comments that it can be a bit crowded in the afternoon.) And we liked the other guests and made friends with one family.
The location is just perfect, because you will be able to walk almost anywhere you want. Also the tours that they arranged, to Patara and to the shrine in the mountains, were just perfect for us.
I would never, ever stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in the little individual house next door to the spa and it was the most amazing room of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and i spent six lovely days at the Tamarind village, situated centrally in the old town of Chaing Mai its easy to get around the tourist sites and has bars and shops close by. The room was pretty basic but had every thing we needed,the food was very good and the staff very helpful. The hotel overall is an oasis you can escape to from all the hustle and bustle of the outside world and we would go back without hesitation,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel (3 nights). The location is amazing, right in the middle of the old town. The hotel itself is nicely decorated and very quiet. The food is also very good and the staff very helpful. However the rooms are very small but clean and comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This lovely hotel is perfectly placed in the heart of Chiang Mai, close to the must-see temples. Swimming pool very welcomed. The room was OK, but not more - however, bathroom and amenities were great.
Breakfast is really good, with a lot of choice - from to Thai to international meals.
Will definitely return, and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

First of all I don't normally write reviews but we have just come back after spending four nights in the tamarind village. It's a quiet get away right in the middle of the old city.
Truly fantastic stay at the Tamarind Village. We walked through the main entrace through a bamboo driveway which is beuautiful this makes you feel like uou have come to a little hideaway. The hotel is very peacful and the staff are fantastic. The room was lovely with daily fruit placed in the room. The room was tidy and well kept the furniture was very nice. There was even a little incense burner in the room which helped with the mosquitos and made the room smell lovely. The attention to detail was fantastic. My six year old daughter loves the place and wants to go back.
The pool was always tidy and the staff always asked if you needed anything. My wife liked the daily hand massages abd used the spa. The food was brilliant, there was a wide range of food at breakfast and the food in the restaurant was also very good.
The hotel itself is right in the middle of the old city with inexpensive restaurants and bars near by. The is also a number of temples within walking distance.
Our stay was fantastic we just wish we had booked in to the hotel for a few more nights. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. We will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Truly great, no other words to describe our stay at the Tamarind Village. Walking through the little lane that enters the hotel makes you feel you're going to a very special place and it is! Right in the middle of the old part of Chiang Mai is this little magical place. Beautiful furniture in the rooms, and a good eye for details. It made us feel so happy and really good to stay here for a few days. We even got some inspiration from the material used for the floors in the toilets and restaurant, very stylish! We loved it and if we return to Chiang Mai, we'll definitely be back to your beautiful place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarind Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village

Address: 50/1 Rajdamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Village is a unique and charming boutique property that nestles in the heart of historic Chiang Mai. Surrounded by ancient temples and quaint shopping streets, it takes its name from a magnificent 200 year old tamarind tree that shelters the hotel in a shady embrace.Tamarind Village is situated at the center of Chiang Mai’s old town. Many of Chiang Mai’s historic landmarks and temples such as Thapae Gate, the Three Kings Monument, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang are located within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Each week, Chiang Mai’s famous ‘Sunday Walking Street’ takes place just in front of the hotel’s entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tamarind Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Chiang Mai
Tamarind Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.