We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse in good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rustic Guesthouse to your Saves list
Rustic Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   2/15 Ratchawong Road | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice guesthouse in good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here for four nights whilst visiting Chiang Mai and can't complain. The rooms and bathroom were clean and the staff nice and friendly. Stayed in the penthouse which has more stairs than the climb to doi suthep so be careful when booking if you have lots of luggage. The only improvement would be a fridge in the rooms but that may be a personal preference. The hotel is close to the warrot market (2mins walk) the night market (5-10) and the old city entrance to the Sunday market (5-10). If your booking on a budget this is the place to stay, if you want a little more luxury look elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    30
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
71
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Eric and his team are some of the most compassionate people I've met during my trip. From day one the front desk was giving me recommendations on what I should do, and right before I checked out I met Eric, who sat down with me and thoroughly went over all the things I should do in Chiang Mai during my stay. He then proceeded to make sure I understood that I should always come back to them if I need help with anything, even though I had only stayed there for one night (unfortunately for me, they were booked for the rest of my stay). The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the breakfast was fantastic, and the fact that Eric sat down to talk to me for 30 minutes to talk about where he came from while I waited for my cooking school to pick me up was the icing on top of a great stay. I fully recommend going here above anywhere else in Chiang Mai. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Owner at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
thank you so much for your feedback. i am glad you enjoy stay at rustic. You still got a couplle of week in chiang mai so have fun and becareful during firework festival. enjoy your gap year and hope to see you again . :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Rustic is a small boutique guest house with 8 rooms just outside the old city,I stayed here for 3 weeks, definitely one one the best value places for I've stayed at in SE Asia. Rooms are super clean and roomy, the beds are comfortable and best of all the Nick (the owner)and his staff will go out of their way to help you out. Also within 5 mins walk to night bazar. Seems to be fully booked most nights so I'd suggest to get in early if you want to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Owner at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
thank you so much for your review :) hope to see you again next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights at around 1250 baht per night. Before I start a detailed review I just want to mention that we have travelled extensively in SE Asia and have tried a lot of mid-range accommodation. This is by far the best.

The location is good, it's not exactly in the old city but is only 10-15 minutes walk away depending on your pace ( a tuktuk is only 40-60 baht). The night bazaar is only 5min away. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The beds are awesome. It's the best bed we have had on our travels (although I was woken up twice by guests who came back very late at night and made a bit of noise - the walls are not thin, its just guests who don't consider the time and the noise level). The wifi worked like a dream in our room and in the reception. The breakfast was tasty!

The best part of our stay here was Nick the owner, and the staff. They made an incredible effort to give us advice and make sure we were comfortable. They were helpful, open and very accessible.

We wanted to stay another night but the guesthouse was full, so Nick arranged for us to stay at another place which was also great.

If you are looking for a mid range accommodation, please do come stay here. It will totally enhance your Chiang Mai experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Rustic Guesthouse and it felt like home for that short time.
The owner Nik and his staff make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive and always have time to help you with any questions or just to chat.
The room I stayed in was amazing, especially for the price. Plenty of space with lovely wooden decor throughout. Two complimentary bottles of drinking water were provided every day and breakfast was excellent - I highly reccomend the Thai style fried eggs, I must find it how to make it back home.
Location wise this was perfect for me who prefers to walk around places, from here you could easily walk to the old city, the night market, the river plus a never ending supply of bars, restaurants and clubs. There is a market a stones throw away where you can buy food, clothes and souvineers and a 7 Eleven round the corner if you prefer that.
When I came to leave it was a sad time as I enjoyed it so much, nothing was too much trouble and I would like to thank all the staff for making my time in Chiang Mai even more special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick J, Owner at Rustic Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks Oliver for your feedback :) hope it is not too cold when you are back home . hope to see you again next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Rustic was such a lovely guest house the nicest we stayed in on our travels. It felt like a Cosey home as soon as we arrived. Sooooo helpful and friendly and the fried rice breakfast was by far the yummiest fried rice I had in the whole of Thailand - and I had a lot! If you go to Chang mai STAY HERE! Even though its outside the walls it's not a long walk in, or tuk tuk :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nick the manager went out of his way to assist me during my stay at Rustic. He even gave me short tour of the local area on foot so Iknew where to shop. Also walked out to the main street and hailed a song theaw for me. One of thr girls on reception took an item of my clothing needing repair to a local tailor for me. All staff there were friendly and obliging.

Very comfotable bed and nice balcony. Only minor beef was no staff on after 22:00. It was fairly noisy a couple of nights as parents allowed their young girl to run up and down stairs at thebwee hours. Luck of the draw who is staying there I guess.

Room Tip: If your not fit you may not want to stay up on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rustic Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Guesthouse

Address: 2/15 Ratchawong Road | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rustic Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic guest house is a small guest house with 8 bedrooms. The guest house is renovated from traditional Thai shop house to contemporary Thai Lanna architecture home. Each bedroom is decorated with various retro style furnitures and wooden furnishing. The Guest house is located in Kad Luang market which the well known market among the local Thai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rustic Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.