We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mojito Garden 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mojito Garden 2 to your Saves list
Mojito Garden 2
10 Wiang Kaew Rd, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 122 Reviews
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Basic Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The stuff is super nice & helpful. The room / dorm is budget, clean and everything provide in basic needs. Just the room's wall is poor of sound proof, you will know what your neighbour room doing in midnight. Bring mosquito repellent if you wish to stay there long time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    22
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
10
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a dorm for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Great location in the old town, right next to the Sunday walking market and north gate. Lovely staff- Boom recommended a great cooking course and visit to elephant sanctuary (baan Chang). It's also a great place to meet others as there is a garden where people sit during the day chatting/reading etc and a bar area for having a few beers when its raining. The onsite massage place is also good and reasonably priced. Very clean but I'm not sure they change the blankets... so take a sleeping bag liner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here roughly a month and I happened to be here almost every day the cleaning lady comes in. I notice they change the sheets but never the blankets. There was a girl who had sex with a random guy a few days ago in ky dorm, the same blanket is there unchanged. I have been sweating constsntly on my blanket, sheet and mattress. I feel sorry for the next person who sleeps on with my sweaty blanket. I think they don't change the blankets because they are so thick and not laundry friendly. My suggestion is they get thin blankets and get rid of thick blankets. Why have thick blankets? This isn't Canadian weather. Makes me want to use my own blanket.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at Mojito for a week while in Chiang Mai and had a fabulous time! The staff were very helpful and accommodating, especially Boom. He took me out on his motorbike one morning to show me the local market, and when I finally built up the courage to rent my own bike, he took me on a tour to Tiger Kingdom. I didn't mind staying in the dorm with other people, especially because there were dividers in place for privacy. Food was great as well and you couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A small garden but with pond wher is living stingray. It is quite tame and loves to chat. You shouldn't be afraid of its. Very friendly.
We lived in Basic Twin. It is small cramped house with good ventilation, but but at night it was cool. And a lot of holes through which crept mosquitoes. Thin walls. You can hear everything what about your neighbors talk. Yourself lucky If you do not understand their language)) Almost a feeling that you're sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Mojito Garden 2 twice and plan on staying there again when a return in a week! I go back because the rooms are ALWAYS clean, the staff (especially BOOM) are extremely helpful and friendly, and it's close enough to the fun night life but far enough that it has a quiet, peaceful atmosphere. There is a restaurant on sight and has a great selection! Breakfasts are awesome! You can arrange many tours right at the front desk. I purchased my slow boat ticket into Laos and they did everything for me! Cheap price and comfortable amenities!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hostel was really nice considering that is was only 100Baht per person to stay in one of the dorm rooms. The rooms were really clean, everyone had a locker with a key and their was curtains between the beds for some kind of privacy. You also were given your own towel as well. Just remember though it is a hostel with a mix of people, we did have one night of bad sleep due to some super drunk guy.....but other then that I slept really good. If you don't like to share with people just book ahead and get a private room not a dorm room.

The washroom was located outside in another building. The bathrooms were also clean and the shower was good but mostly cold or barely warm! Also there is a really cute sitting area outside the washroom to relax or socialize with other guest.

They also offer food which was reasonably priced and it was good also. They also have spa packages if you wanted but I personality never tired any of them.

The staff was really nice and helpful. The main guy named "Boom" was soo helpful. He helped us booked our over night trek with elephants and also arranged our flights down to the islands with our ferry included. He was so helpful in the flight booking and made sure we got the best value for the price and checked which days were cheaper and everything for us. We sure kept him busy looking up stuff for us! He also helped get back my friends lost item at the over night trek for us! Also if your looking to go out at night he's totally the guy to party with!

Also the location of the hostel is really nice. It's located in the old Chiang Mai area and it's really quite at night time. Also there's lots of the things you can see around the area just in walking distance. There's a few temples, the women's prison massage and also 7-11.

I would stay there again if I was in Chiang Mia.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are great for the price but if you don't wanna share book ahead and get a private roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mojito Garden 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojito Garden 2

Address: 10 Wiang Kaew Rd, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mojito Garden 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojito Garden 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.