We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Cafe in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birds Nest Cafe

Birds Nest Cafe
Sinharat Lane Soi 3, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 92 Reviews
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Bird's Nest Cafe specializes in international and Thai fusion cuisine. We focus on using fresh ingredients that are in season and produced locally. We try hard to use as much organic produce as we can. Our entire menu is designed to be vegetarian, but meat can be added to any dish if requested. Our sauces, dressing, pesto, peanut butter, whole wheat and pita bread, granola, yogurt and sour cream are all homemade. We do not use MSG, preservatives or microwave.Bird's Nest Cafe also offers:COOKING VEGETARIAN THAI FOOD WITH YAOYao is the owner of Bird's Nest Cafe and created the menu. She teaches a two day Thai vegetarian cooking course at Pun Pun orgnanic farm where she has lived the last 7 years. For more info please check Bird's Nest facebook page.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Cafe in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I live in Chiang Mai and have frequented many cafes, but the Bird's Nest is by far superior to all others. The food is fresh, delicious, and healthy, but it's the atmosphere of the cafe that is truly unique.It is the best place to catch up with a friend, read a book, or get some work done. Many tables, floor cushions, a hammock, and indoor/outdoor seating with wifi that is always working. Beware though, there is no air con so it is not the place to seek refuge on a hot day. I will sorely miss this cafe when I return to the States.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Healthy Homemade Food Made with Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I make the Birds Nest Cafe a part of our regular brunch routine a few times a month. Whenever we feel like we need to fuel up with some quality food we head to this beautiful gem tucked away on a quiet street in the northwest corner of Chiang Mai's Old City. We first came here on our honeymoon and it was literally the only place I thought to pin on map app. It was that good and memorable. Now that we live here we continue to find ourselves craving their creative Thai dishes, as well as their shakes, fresh juices, and sweets.

Must Try:
The Mediterranean Dip Plate
The Yellow Curry brown rice and cashews (chicken optional)
Kao Soi
Pumpkin Soup
Yoghurt with Honey
Any of the sandwiches
Any of the Shakes

Highly recommend Birds Nest Cafe for anyone wanting a quality meal in a relaxing environment. Additionally, this is a great place to plop down for a couple hours and knock out some work. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and a place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Accidentally stumbled upon this place on my recent trip to Chiang Mai. I had a Penang curry and Mango Lassi and both were delicious. Food was reasonably priced and free wifi if you want somewhere to relax for a while. Highly recommend checking this place out and I'm only regretful that I didn't discover it earlier in my stay!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great spot to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Coconut cinnamon shake! Delicious fresh, organic food made by a very friendly staff. Great atmosphere with hammocks and pillows and people hanging out and enjoying each others company. A great place to do a little work on your computer or meet friends. Sometimes it can get quite busy in there, but the food is worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee, awsome mood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

having slept in a hotel with poor breakfast coffee, this place filled in the gap, had wonderful background jazz music, and very hospitable staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birds Nest Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Birds Nest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds Nest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.