We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The menu says slow food....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pun Pun Vegetarian Restaurant

Pun Pun Vegetarian Restaurant
6/1 Moo 1, Suthep Road | Wat Suan Dok (Temple), Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
08-5031-8219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 1,244 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hua Hin, Thailand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The menu says slow food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

And it was slow food. Organic vegetarian food, Small, good standard dishes served outside in the shade of a huge tree at the back of a temple, but slow. I suppose if you were not going anywhere and brought a fan, the rating would go up a notch. Friendly enough staff, but absent minded. I would like to try it once more to make sure it wasn't an off day, as I like to support organic restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delectable dishes, serene setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A favourite among expats. You'll find this harmonious little place behind the Monk Chat office in the Wat Suan Dok complex. The tables are all arranged around a massive bodhi tree which provides welcomed shade against the sun and a pleasant atmosphere to take in while you enjoy the food. We had a Kao Soi and a Massaman curry with brown rice, both of which were absolutely outstanding. Rich in flavour, thick in texture and extremely satisfying in our stomachs! Most dishes are around a reasonable 60B.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great place to eat away from the hussle and bussle, the restuarant is at Wat Suan Dok. Very tasty food and very cheap, they have some amazing juices as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“ok food but poor in other area's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

There is more to rating a restaurant than the food, Pun Pun is outdoors which means no air con, no wi-fi and no weather protection. I ordered the indian curry, which was tasteless. I also ordered the fried spring rolls which were ok. For a drink i chose a banana shake which was up there with the best. There was only 1 other customer there, so service was quick. In short there are better eateries than Pun Pun which explains why there is a poor customer turn out, i have also tried Pun Pun's other place at the end of Suthep rd.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
“Good, Healthy and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A good vegetarian restaurant, in a nice location (inside Wat Suan Dok Temple). The food is tasty and very healthy, coming from organic farms.
Good currys, good fruit juice. Staff friendly and good prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pun Pun Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Pun Pun Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pun Pun Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.