We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aoi Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aoi Garden Home
Save
You added Aoi Garden Home to your Saves list
51/1 Singharaj Soi4 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai, Thailand (Formerly Mojito Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 156 Reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have no idea why this hostel is rated so highly. The staff were friendly but it's Thailand - everyone is friendly. The room I stayed at was awful. There were holes in the walls which led to A TON of mosquitos in the room. You could also hear EVERYTHING - good luck if you're a light sleeper. Also, there were not beds in the double room...just mattresses on the floor. The bathroom was mediocore. Thankfully there was hot water. The food/drinks at the restaurant were good. I would recommend spending a little bit more for a much nicer room elsewhere in town!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    28
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
4
26
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarzana, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I would say that this hostel is good just because of the price. The position is not so good, when we arrived the staff wasn't helpful. The room was too hot, even with the fan on. No air conditioner, lot of mosquitos in the room Because there were spaces in the wall. The staff was a bit better in the days after and the banana pancakes were really good (extra money, not included in the price).

Toilet (shared) and room not clean at all! And you can't use your shoes in the toilet... DISGUSTING! If you don't want people to use shoes it's fine, it's your rule... But please clean the facilities!

I would say to everyone: spend a bit more But go somewhere else...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Me and my gf stayed here during a trip around Asia, and this is my favourite hostel so far, Aoi is constantly going out of her way to go the extra mile for anything and everything to make your trip go smoother. Awesome place

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hostel is really good, and it totally makes you fell like you're at home! Really peaceful, i could hang out there drinking tea the whole day.
The staff is amazing! Really friendly and helpful! I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a peaceful place to say. Lovely owner Aoi helped us book a great excursion for our only full day in town. Tasty breakfast and drinks, cute cats running around, and a really homey feel. Cheap rates for such a clean, well maintained hostel. Hope to be back someday, thank you Aoi!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This amazing hostel locates near the Chang Phuak Gate which is usually called the North Gate, not far away from anywhere. I came here for the first time in April 2013, super like the relaxing and artistic atmosphere, with a beautiful garden, people here talking, sharing travelling experience, the great thing is, there is a monthly BBQ party in the garden if u r lucky enough, may probably join the great activity. Great stall, great price, and great coffee as well, it is like my HOME in Chiangmai, highly recommend my friends who plan to go to Chiangmai live here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the place!!! I stayed here 7 nights in a dorm room and it doesn't feel like a dorm, not cramped IMO, i slept like a baby, when i got here it was 13 degrees in Chiang Mai and Aoi gave us extra blankets without even asking. The towels are changed daily, the bathroom is always clean it does not feel like i'm sharing it with other travellers in the whole house.

The best part of this place is Aoi and Nong they are awesome!!!! They would go out and above their way to make sure you are taken cared of. They took care of the tours and bookings i like with just a phonecall away, they have established connections with everybody so even if you don't have fixed plan coming here, it is perfectly fine. For the price the food is yummy and healthy too. I love the fruits with yogurt and honey and muesli in the morning.

The guests here have this vibe that I really like, I met a lot of great people and other fellow travellers just hanging around the outside garden area. Great community of travellers.

When I cant figure out the map and looking for specific places Nong would even give me a ride in his motorbike and take me there! It is centrally located and walking distance to many great spots and places.

My stay in Chiang Mai was lovely but Aoi Garden made it even more special. =) I miss Aoi's kitty I'd know its morning when i hear the cat's bell, playing around the garden.

I'd definitely come back and bring friends with me when I return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aoi Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoi Garden Home

Address: 51/1 Singharaj Soi4 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai, Thailand (Formerly Mojito Garden)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aoi Garden Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.