We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice host, feel like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Century House

7 Century House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 7 Century House to your Saves list
7 Century House
270 Ratchaphakinai Road, Sripoom, A.Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice host, feel like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hosts live on ground floor, they are very nice and friendly. They can speak English and the wife can even speak Cantonese. The room is basic and clean, with fan and TV. As I travelled in Jan, so the weather was very comfortable without AC, didn't even need to use the fan. Shared bathroom without soap and toilet paper, so you better take your own. Restaurants are in walking distance. They have tour packages and laundry service, the price is reasonable. Economic stay, recommended for backpackers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saronno, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Guesthouse is ran by a young couple. Both very nice, kind and helpful. They both speak good English. Very economic stay, excellent for backpackers and low budget holidays. Perfect location to start a bicycle tour of Chiang Mai. They will also help you to book tours and activities in Chiang Mai. We also had our laundry done, perfect service! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had booked for two nights but ended up leaving after only half night. I wasn't able to sleep at all since it was extremely noisy and windows did not have any glasses. The rooms are not clean, quite sure the owner does not wash the linen or blankets - e.g. I was asked if I wanted a blanket and I answered yes. The blanket I got was dirty. The floor in the rooms seemed dirty as well. The bathroom had no hand soap or toilet paper, wet floor. A big I am usually a very polite person and can accept a lot but this place was so terrible that I just could not be quite. I warn everyone to stay away. There are much better places in the area that are at the same price and offer at least cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a value for money place. The rooms are comfortable and the hosts, although live on ground floor, are non intrusive

The place is located slightly away from the gateway but is walking distance to several restaurants and few wats. There are places where you can book night bike tour and famous dragon flight in the neighborhood of the guest house

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

7 Century is a very basic guesthouse located in the old city in Chiang Mai. It's a little rough around the edges, but it comes through on all its promises: tv, fan, shared bathroom and rooftop terrace. The rooms are very basic: just the bed, tv, fan and a rack for drying your laundry. You share one bathroom with about three other rooms, which is kind of inconvenient, because it is the only sink/toilet/shower (no separate stand alone sink or toilet) but not too bad.The guesthouse is in a great location - pretty much everything is within walking distance, and the family that runs the place is very lovely and he speaks good English. I would recommend this place - excellent, yet basic, accommodations for the price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 7 Century House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Century House

Address: 270 Ratchaphakinai Road, Sripoom, A.Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 7 Century House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Century House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.