We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real food for our life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Rice / Organic Bistro

Brown Rice / Organic Bistro
48 Chang Moi Rd. Around the Corner From Mike's Burgers Before Thapae Gate | Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
086-918 8428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 127 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Brown Rice has just opened in the restaurant at 85/5 Samlann road Tumbol Phra singha in Chiang Mai. It is an all vegetarian restaurant, specialising in thai food, but also serves several western dishes. It is run by the fantastic Duang, a thai 'masterchef' who has written many cookery books and has appeared on thai tv cooking channels.Business hour.11.00 a.m.-21.00p.m. Close on Wednesday. All our food is freshly prepared and cooked with love. Our dishes are special and from the heart so sometimes they might take a little while. Please be patient and we will serve you as quickly as we can.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real food for our life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'm meat lover.
I hate tofu and mushroom,and I think it's impossible to be vegetarian.
But Duang of Brown rice changed my mind.All the Food from his kitchen made me surprise! Heavenly delicios,fresh beautiful.Tofu,mushroom and vegetables in the dish all are look so yummy.This place's not so big,it cozy like home.Everyone here work hard to servic,It's a family business.
Thanks for good time and exellent food,Thanks Duang,Thanks Brown rice.You all made me found the better way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    20
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a lucky surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We bumped into this restaurant by chance and it was one of our the best choices in town and may be in Thailand

The food was delicious as were the fruit drinks. The dishes nicely presented, and it was the only restaurant in town where we were given cloth table-napkins.

It is true that the nearby road is a bit noisy and the seats are backless, but this did not annoy us and we had a great time and dinner. May be the kindness of the owner and people who helped him made us feel at home so we did not notice the small inconveniences.

The only real disappointment was that two nights later we tried again to dine at this restaurant and it was day of rest, so the restaurant was closed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I'm a Chiang Mai expat local of some 10+ years and only live a few streets away, but it took a customer from Europe to introduce me to Chiang Mai's newest veggie restaurant, Brown Rice. Like WOW. I had the Thai Herb Salad with Mushrooms - crisp, unusual, very generous serving - stunning value for only 75 baht. The chef, Khun Daeng, was able to tell me something of the medicinal 'value of some of the herbs I didn't know about, which was very cool. I also had a wonderful potato-tofu masaman curry and a yummy "come back for more" Tom Yum drink. Relaxed and informal, good choice of music and they even offer vegetarian cooking classes. Centrally located in the Old City with ample on-street parking. I will DEFINITELY be putting this on my regular places-to-eat list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“chairs without back are bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food was okey, not really good. Don't take the fried tofu, it's only tofu with a small salad. And if you have back pain, or you want a good chair, don't go here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9DuangD, Owner at Brown Rice / Organic Bistro, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear customers

Now all the chairs in our restaurant are with the backs and the cushions.
The fried tofu with the small salad ?? May be it's Crispy fry-minced tofu with the spicy green mango salad, please see the pictures.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A veggie revelation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

For a meatlover, a vegetarian restaurant is usually not an easy pick. Flavor comes from meat is a firmly held conviction. Brown Rice however can convert even the utmost believer. It combines veggies in an unprecedentedly delicious and creative way so that there is not even the though of anything missing. Our picks were the mushroom satay, the spring rolls, the mango salad and the massaman curry - all of these dishes were simply breathtaking. The chef is a passionate maestro who is happy to discuss his creations in detail . Anybody who is lucky to read Thai can even buy his own cook books. We will be back soon enough to try all the other delicacies. With this kind of food every day we could easily go without meat for good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Rice / Organic Bistro also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Brown Rice / Organic Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Rice / Organic Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.