We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By habit I always stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“By habit I always stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is clean convenient and in my opinion a good value for the money. The room service is not good at all so don't waste your money, the food in almost in edible. The rooms are clean the pool nice and decent staff. I will continue staying here because it is a nice choice for the money.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    320
    154
    76
    52
See reviews for
88
228
81
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed in the hotel during the holidays for two weeks. The hotel management made a New Year's celebration in the hotel's garden which was really beautiful and fun, specially the fire works. The hotel has a convenient location, next to all attractions. The staff were helpful and welcoming and the breakfast buffet has a nice collection of Thai and international food.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muizenberg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very friendly staff.Rooms excellent for the age of hotel.Reception and foyer so beautiful and stylish. Close to all things eg restaurants,pubs haisalon,Nearby massage salons very lower prices but excellent and clean. Near to night market/bazaar.Within walking distance to old city.Just around the corner you are on the Mae Ping river which offers wonderful day cruises and dinner cruises.The river cruises are outstanding.Yes it was one huge pleasure to stay in the Chiang Mai Plaza from 13/10/13 till 16/10/13.Excellent spa.at hotel.A/C in rooms very good and Wi-Fi on the spot in rooms
Every night the most lovely live Thai Music in Foyer

Room Tip: The higher your room the better outlook you have aver the beautiful Chaing Mai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is nice. The room are dated. Though the service from the staff was nothing short of appalling. When we checked in, we were asked to return at 2pm where we were then given a room. I booked through Agoda, and the booking was easily found by staff.

Breakfast is American-style, and is okay.

If I return to Chiang Mai I wouldn't be returning here because of the unfriendliness, disorganisation and poor service from the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Higher floor, away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, clean and staff are very pleasant. Their was some trouble upon check in. Don't come before 2 as they won't let you in your room. Specify whether you want smoking or non smoking. When I booked through agoda I thought I paid for two adults and were charged 600 more baht per day. The food was good and breakfast was included. Shuttle ride back to the airport is twice the price we paid to get here. Very close to the night bizarre.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I am completely dissapointed with this hotel. When we arrived, they didn't even know how to manage our booking (it was from booking.com).
The room is just ok, nothing to highlight... but it is too noisy when people walks and talks in the corridors, and also if there is someone in the rooms next to yours.
We only stayed one night, and we were leaving for an already booked trip, so we didn't have to take public transport from here.
But it is quite far from the city center if you want to walk with children (1-2km from the city center).

Once we did the check-out, they said that everything was correct (they had already charged it from my credit card without advise), but a couple of days later I get a message stating that I had not shown in the hotel on the specified dates and telling me that the hotel was charging (again!) the whole stay in my credit card.

Only the breakfast was quite varied comparing to what we have seen in the rest of hotels we have been.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

There are some great things about this hotel. It has an ideal location, near everything in Chiangmai including the night bazaar, old city and river and easy access by car to the main highway. It is a spacious, charming building with good rooms, a nice pool, decent fitness centre and good breakfast. The downside is the stsff. Therecare not enough of them and most are sour faced and grumpy. Not really the land of smiles! Check in and out are long and inefficient. The bell boys don't even want to open a door when you are loaded with shopping bags and rooms were not cleaned before 3pm. The exceptions are the breakfast greeting girl, the ground floor lift guys and the Thai musicians.
So, put up with the poor staff and the rest is fine.

Room Tip: Pool view is good and floor 3 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Address: 92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.