We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, not customer oriented” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 330 hotels in Chiang Mai
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good value, not customer oriented”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The entrance to this hotel is extremely luxurious, just like the entrance of the Great Palace hotel, with elephant statues at the entrance, and Buddhist statues inside. Our room was at the back of the hotel facing the pool, and a long walk away from the lobby. The room itself was nice, provided a bathrobe and slippers, and two complimentary water bottles. There is no safe in the room,

The hotel breakfast was varied, but not tasty. The service was non existent, and the French toast tasted bad.

The hotel has a spa which provided a massage at a price of 2000 baht, not including service or 7% tax. Better go to the night market, and have a better massage for less than 300 baht at the parlour next to the Royal Princess hotel.

Overall, the hotel provided good value for the money paid, however, we had to wait a long time while checking out before our room was checked by the staff, and that when the staff was told we are hurrying to catch a flight. I also did not like the fact that hotel insisted we use the its own cab service to get to the airport, which cost twice as much as it should have.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    276
    124
    57
    42
See reviews for
71
183
71
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Very simple hotel near the night market. I think it is good for groups of tourists. Breakfast is very simple and a bit boring. large Clean and comfortable room furnished with Oriental style medium. Service is okay but nothing more. For $ 45 including breakfast maybe that's okay. Swimming is not very inviting. I do not really like this hotel. Maybe I got used to more?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Enjoyed my 2 nights in a deluxe room which is in the newer wing. Hotel is conveniently located near the night markets and river Ping. Quiet and clean surroundings. Staff we met were polite. Breakfast was adequate. Would probably stay here again in Dec. Don't bother to use the wifi. We paid for 3 hrs and couldn't even send out one email. Front desk politely declined our request for a refund. Not sure if they understood what we said in English.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a deluxe room thro Agoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nites from 17-21 Feb. The lobby was the best thing in the entire hotel. It was nicely and grandly renovated. To solve the query on why the lobby is so much nicely than the rooms, it was renovated due to the lobby being damaged due to flood a few years back.

The rooms are a major disapointment. They are and worn out. This is despite my staying in a deluxe room. asked for connecting rooms were told there arent any. Small CRT TVS, hard bed where i can slightly feel the springs. Room was clean enough. I do not recommend anybody staying here if there need a good night's sleep.

The housekeeping was bad. Everyday, they forgot to refill something. Tissue paper, Coffee sachet, amenities.

They also like to charge you for items typically free in other hotels. On checkout, a pair of disposable bedroom slippers was missing. They took 15 mins to check and as i was rushing to go to the airport, i paid 280baht for a pair of old slippers just to settle the matter!!!!! I later recalled that the price list stated as 100baht. I feel cheated. This incident made me never want to return to the hotel again.

Breakfast was minimally acceptable. I find the decor indoors totally depressing. Dark wood with orange lights gave the place a depressive atmosphere. Nobody told us there were outdoor seating. I discovered on my 4th day. If you have to stay here, go for outdoors seating. It is light, cool air and uplifting mood.

The plus points is only location. There is a massage place next to the 7-11 opp the hotel which has free WIFI. Hotel charges 200baht for 1 hr and pay at reception which is like crazy. There is also a pharmacy on the opp of hotel. The cafe on left of hotel was great, free wifi again on your smartphone.

The alley opp the hotel proivides a shortcut to the daily night bazaar. v

Overall i would never want to stay here again. It mars my whole experience of Chiangmai.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We booked this hotel through asia web.Though requisition was made for an earlier check in by 12 noon,it did not work.We had to wait in the very spacious lobby for more than an hour to get the rooms allotted.The deluxe rooms are really big,though a bit aged.The toilets are clean.The break fast is nice as well with a good variety of dishes.How ever the WIFI charges are really on the higher side @200 THB per hour.Though the initial booking was made for a single day,we managed to get it extended for three more days due to the prime location.It is close to every thing with the night market at a mere 5 minute brisk walk.Thus the overall experience was fine.!!

Room Tip: Try nto have deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,491 reviews 1,491 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 426 cities Reviews in 426 cities
1,388 helpful votes 1,388 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We were with a tour group which booked this hotel. It is a large plush place with Thai themes and a gigantic lobby. Thai folk music is played there in the evening. Rooms are vey large with a large king size bed and 4 pillows. There is a coffee maker and fridge, but no room safe--you have to use safe boxes at the desk. Dated old TV with poor cable choices and reception. Pool area is large and inviting. Breakfast buffet was adequate--not great. The best thing about this hotel is the great location near most major areas in the center of the city.

Use of Wifi was very expensive but there is an internet cafe just to the left of the hotel cost 30 baht (about one dollar) for an hour. Across from the hotel is a good laundry and a 7-11 and an ATM. There are many message places nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roi Et
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed here last year.and have read with mixed thoughts on a lot of the comments here. I also booked through Agoda and had a really Ok price for the room and service I recieved. I think if you dont speak Thai then it could be a problem with the front desk. We found the room big and everything worked. Had room serivce three or four times and they were fast and the food was good, though the menu limited. The pool was fine but cold do with some plants and trees to give it a bit more atmosphere. Breakfast slection quite good, not huge but some things changed daily.
Didnt quite get why they need such a huge lobby as there was never anybody sitting around in it.
All in all very good for the price and close to the night market.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Address: 92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 330 hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.