We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rich Lanna House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rich Lanna House to your Saves list
Rich Lanna House
2 Soi 3 Sriphoom Rd. T.Sripoom A.Maung, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 503 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very nice small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel offers a very clean and well equipped environment at a handsome location close to the city. The hotel interior is new and of very high quality in the old northern thai lanna style (wooden furniture with ornaments etc.). Being there you feel like in a living room.
Like traditionally lanna style the rooms are very small and not very high. However very clean well equipped. Good breakfast. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
56
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had 3 beautiful nights in this hotel. It really was the best place we stayed at on our Thailand trip. Huge, well designed and homely room (more like an apartment) on the third floor and away from the main road. Nice comfy bed and lots of cable Tv channels for once. Breakfast buffet was tasty, with some interesting Thai treats and possibly the best coffee in Thailand. The breakfast area was also cute. The whole hotel is very attractive and decorated with Thai arts and crafts, and the pool area looks like it's out of a magazine. Had a quick swim but it was a bit cold for swimming. The staff were all very happy and friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in this great little town. The location is a bit further away from the main attractions and shops but still an easy walk,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at Rich Lanna House for three days over Loy Krathong and at the end of those three days I just didn’t want to leave. I often stay in this part of the old city but closer to Wat Chiang Man so I know the area well. Sripoom road is busy and can be a bit noisy but the hotel is set back a bit from the main road and is peaceful inside. For some people the location may be a bit too far north but it’s an easy walk to Kad Suan Kaew or the Taphae gate area and there are plenty of good little eateries close by.
It’s a small hotel but beautifully decorated and the lobby area has lovely and interesting decoration. The use of teak floors throughout the hotel is great. I had a deluxe room on the second floor and it faced out towards Huay Kaew road rather than in towards the small pool area. Not the best view but the room is so pretty it doesn’t matter. The pool area is nice but compact.
The room I had was large and comfortable, the large double teak bed was great for sleeping and the linens first class. Plenty of hanging space and the room had all the usual features. I loved the lighting and the floors and the use of teak. The bathroom was great too with a large walk in shower with gorgeous tiles and nice toiletries. I can’t really fault the room, in fact I’d like a bedroom just like this at home.
The staff were always sweet and smiling and there’s a coffee shop at the front. Breakfast is taken upstairs at the front of the hotel in either a small aircon room or on an open terrace facing the street. It’s a buffet and for me was slightly disappointing but fine. Would have been nice to have freshly cooked eggs.
I’d happily stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A helpful staff, and a wonderful and beautiful owner, made our stay a memorable event! The location is great for sightseeing, and we were so comfortable in the room at night. We had purchased an antique wall hanging, which the staff arraigned to have professionally cleaned before we checked out. Over and beyond helpful! I will always treasure the present we received on checking out! Thank you Rich Lana House!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was the first and the nicest hotel we stayed in while in Thailand. Very clean, cosy and nicely decorated rooms. We stayed first in a smaller, then in a bigger and more luxurious room and both were very nice. The interior decoration on the hotel is also adorable and stylish. Breakfast was really very nice with some local specialties and plenty of fresh fruits, also some Western-style stuff for those who don't want to eat local (we were not among them so i can't speak of the eggs and bacon but i'm sure they were perfect). The staff was kind and polite, maybe a bit better English wouldn't have done harm.
They also have a café next doors with a beautiful garden and plenty of yummy looking cakes. Souvenirs on display in the hall were nice and affordable, too. I bought a couple and then i saw a lot of similar stuff around Thailand but in worse quality for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a three night stay at Rich Lanna house, they were our introduction to Chiang Mai.
The hotel is quite lovely woods etc and a nice pool with running water to drown out "city noise", good touch! There are many sights nearby, or within a short tuk tuk ride and the water way was beautiful at night. Beds were comfy and the linens were lovely. Best of all was the desk help, though it took some patience, they booked a superb cooking class at WE COOK-thank you! Miw owner and teacher of We Cook was organized, knowledgeable and a real dynamo. Once we were mosquito repellent protected the evening was superb. We had a wonderful time. I have taught cooking classes for over a decade, and taken classes at Le Cordon Bleu, France, America, Italy and Mexico and by all standards her class was wonderful. She makes Thai cooking understandable and easy for those of us from another culture. It was also loads of fun and great entertainment for the evening. They picked us up at our hotel and returned us when we finished, another plus. Thank you for your help while we were staying with you and beyond.
Also the hotel suggested that we book at Rawee Waree for elephant viewing and riding. It was a super resort (a bit of a splurge, do opt for the breakfast included as they are the only choice). We were the only guests and loved everything associated with the elephants. Show, riding, feeding. Kudos Rich Lanna House for your help. Sincerely, Carol and Greg Taylor from Oregon USA

Room Tip: Our only regret was not requesting a low floor room when we booked, climbing to the top floor repeat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautifully decorated in the wooden, Lanna style, with wood carvings and teak furniture. The breakfast was delicious - choices included bacon and eggs, Thai food, wonderful croissants, cereals and fresh fruit. Excellent location - within the city moat and easy to walk to the various temples and explore the area. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rich Lanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Lanna House

Address: 2 Soi 3 Sriphoom Rd. T.Sripoom A.Maung, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rich Lanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rich Lanna House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.