We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very attractive holiday resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Villa Resort

Save Saved
You added Belle Villa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belle Villa Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   135 Moo 5, Tumbol Baanpong, Ampur Hangdong, Chiang Mai 50230, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 331 hotels in Chiang Mai
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very attractive holiday resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

With beautiful views of the mountains the location is very peaceful. The staff are very helpful and speak reasonable English. The accommodation varies from hotel rooms to villa suites suitable for families, so it caters for groups of varying sizes. Breakfast is strange with a mixture of Western and eastern buffet food, often cold (including cold fried eggs). You can ask for scrambled eggs or an omelette and this is made fresh for you. Service for the evening meals was slow. For example, I waited half an hour for my dish after my husband and sister had finished theirs! Stick to the Thai menu as dishes like spaghetti bolognese tasted as if it had come out of a tin.
The resort is about 45 minutes from the airport so you will need to use taxis or hire a car. We went over Xmas, and as the resort is quite high we found it quite cold, so remember to take some sweaters. Our 1st night the waiters were wearing hats and scarves! Each morning elephants were walked up to the hotel and you could buy bananas to feed them.
We enjoyed our week's stay here

Room Tip: In the hotel ask for a room facing the pool with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Great Western, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If your staying at the Belle Villa or the Bella Vista then the Terace resturant of the Belle Villa for Dinner is certainly worth the try. Even though you are in somewhat of a captive situation the quality of the food and the presentation is nothing short of excellent.The River Bass with spicy E-SAN sauce was a beautiful tasting fish.The service and staff were both friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were offered a 2 bedrooms suite at Belle Villa via a time share and upon checking its review about cleanliness and condition were quite sceptical at first about our stay. However, upon checking in, we found the staff of Royal Odyssey very friendly and the suite well maintained with a fully equipped kitchen. When we decide to spend time at the resort, other than swimming/gym, we could borrow books/dvd from Royal Odyssey office. The cleaners also did a very good job in tidying up our place daily. My only complaint is the invasion of mosquitoes at nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, AUSTRALIA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As a member of Royal Resorts / Odyssey, I had read a number of other members Trip-Advisor reports and didn't quite know what to expect.

Reception : We were greeted by Hadji and warmly welcomed. There are a number of very friendly staff members from Odyssey always available during normal working hours.

Our Villa : We were in Villa 8, a two-bedroom unit which was adequate but sub-standard in some respects. The Odyssey hierarchy realise this Resort, part of which is owned by them, needs urgent upgrade and work is in progress. So the problems we experienced should no longer exist in the coming 12 months. We were taken on a visit to one of the newly-renovated 3-bedroom units and it was really nice. Our villa was cleaned on a daily basis with free bottled water included.

Facilities : The 2 swimming pools are lovely and fully operational. The Spa provides various massage programs and my Wife and I had 1-hour Thai massage for 350 Baht pp - great service and value. The Restaurant provides all meals and is open 0630 to 2200. We had breakfast in our villa, but had lunch and dinner a number of times at the Restaurant - food was good, well-priced and the staff did a great job with their restricted English. Odyssey provide a lending library including DVD's. The resort also provides a gym.

Resort : The Resort is situated in the hills west of Chiang Mai, a journey from the main ring road of 20 minutes or so. It is in a lovely quiet area where one can chill out and relax. Staff are always friendly. There are a couple of small streams that are crossed on entering the Resort. It is quite big with a number of villas and 56 hotel style rooms. A short walk down the hill from the Resort is the Doi Resort with coffee shop. Just below the coffee shop is an area where a number of elephants reside, and there were 6 or 7 babies with their mums.

Tours & Sightseeing : Noi is a lovely staff member of Odyssey who did a fantastic job in helping us choose a number of day trips to "Smart Cook" Thai cooking school, Chiang Rai & the Golden Triangle, Doi Inthanon National Park and a river cruise down the Mae PingRiver, visit to the night market and dinner and show at the Cultural Centre. The driver on our trips was very careful with a good sense of humour. Guides Sunny and his Wife Wipa were great value on our trips to Chiang Rai and Doi Inthanon.

Opinion : Overall we have had a great time at Belle Villa Resort with great value for money.

Cons : Limited English speaking TV channels restricted to 3 news / current affairs programs. A broader range of channels must be available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel in the mountain. Very quiet and fresh air. But the hotel needs to be improved. Its getting worse. The owner should keep it good condition. Anyway the hoel is still is a good place for those who like to enjoy out of city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a large room at the end of the lodge part of the resort. The room had the largest king bed we have ever seen. It was roomy, nice, and quiet until the roosters started crowing in the morning! Life in the countryside. It was very nice to be out there in the mountains. it is about 1/2 hour drive to Chiang Mai. I liked being in the country but felt sorry for our Thai friend who was doing all the driving. The grounds were pretty. A few cons: the buffet breakfast was no longer being offered since it was off season Monday morning. The service and food was not great so we bought groceries the other days for breakfast in our room. The 2nd day we got back, the rooms and pictures on our walls were changed. Something was removed and others moved so there were spots on the walls. Weird.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our stayed at this resort was under the time sharing programme, we managed to get a two-bedroom bangalow near to all the resort facilities. This is our up-most destination on our two-week self-drive road trip from Kuala Lumpur. Our 1st night was in Racha Kiri Resort Khanom, 2nd night was in Dusit Thani Hua Hin, 3rd night was in Dheva Mantra Kanchanaburi, 4th night in Kamphaeng Phet and our 5th & 6th night at this charming Belle Villa Chiang Mai. We love the landscaping with cascading small streams that all motorists need to cross via submerged underwater bridge.
Our two-bedroom bangalow/chalet is fully equip with full kitchenettes facilities, TV, i-pod dock, fully air-cond, double-bed in each room and a double sofa-bed at the living. Our balcony is facing a small stream with bbq facility and sitting area as well. The chalet comes with 2 bathrooms and a private car parking space.
The swimming pool is at the lobby/reception complete with sauna next to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belle Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Villa Resort

Address: 135 Moo 5, Tumbol Baanpong, Ampur Hangdong, Chiang Mai 50230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belle Villa Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Belle Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Villa Hotel Chiang Mai
Belle Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.