We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but a goodie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew to your Saves list
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Huay Kaew Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Oldie but a goodie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fantastic value for moey if you book well in advance. Deluxe room had great views and a funny 'balcony' area, with a sofa in which you can sit and watch the fireworks (Seemed to be every day) and the genral Chiang Mai scenery.

Bed was big and comfortable. Bathroom has plenty of hot water at mains pressure and has complimentary cosmetics. The Pool is excellent. Huge, with a nice cool, deep end. Nice to swim in after a hot day. Breakfast was included and it was an excellent assortment of Thai, western and Chinese foods, unfortunatley the coffee was not too good.

The Lotus is connected to an ageing shopping complex, handy for little things at Tops supermarket or big things as Central Department Store. It is a couple of miutes walk from the shops to the North West Corner of the moat, but a song teaw (any red one, and they pass frequently) is just 20 baht and will essentially take you anywhere within the city limits.

This hotel was once grand. It is fading now, but still offers excellent value. The huge lobby and open area between rooms has music at nights - it seems sad so big a space with only 4 or 5 guests.

Recommended

Room Tip: Go for deluxe. You do not want the isolation of the superior rooms which are off the relic of a form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to received your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    100
    67
    35
    18
See reviews for
40
60
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Me and my wife just stayed for 4 nights in this hotel, and it was a lovely stay, all the staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was large and well equipped, the pool was large an deep, the gym wasn't that good, but it was usable, breakfast was excellent.The best thing , however was the staff, they were so helpful, as I can't speak any Thai, and the staff helped me out by calling my thai boxing trainer and telling him how to get there, also, one very beautiful girl at reception, helped us by showing us on the map where to go etc, and she even topped up my phone for me because I couldn't understand the operator. One of the doorman actually walked us through the mall to show us how to get to the city walls. All the staff were absolutely fantastic.
The hotel itself is actually well within walking distyance of the main Chiang Mai areas, you can walk from the hotel to Chiang Mai gate in around 30 minutes, at an easy pace.
Highly recommended
Scott and Eunce

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to received your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The taxi dropped us at the hotel and the lobby area gave the impression of a great hotel. Lots of space, seating, a place for drinks and snacks, with open hallways to the rooms looking down. Check-in was okay, if not a little quick. We were led to the elevator and taken up a few floors and stopped at a second reception desk. Here we were given our room and shown to another elevator and finally to your room.

The room was spacious with everything you need. A large bed, chairs, desk, TV and bath and shower. It was a bit worn though.

Breakfast buffet came with the room. It was just okay. You needed to time breakfast to avoid the large tour groups and conference groups.

The biggest challenge was getting in and out of the hotel. The entrance did not face the street and there were no signs. From the hotel you could go through a mall that fronted the hotel. But it closed at night and if you came back late by mini-bus it was a quest to get back to the hotel. Taking the elevator from the wing we were in took you to the parking garage and it was a maze and not easy to find your way out.

The mall was a nicety. There are plenty of restaurants and supermarket.

With all the good and great hotels in Chiang Mai I will not stay in this hotel again nor would I feel good recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to received your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in early October 2012. Wonderful time, air-con room, cable T.V.,luxury after staying in Chiang Mai guest houses on an earlier trips. Large twin room, 2 showers with plenty of hot water, small dining and lounge area with great views over Chiang Mai and Doi Suthep up in the mountains. The hotel has 2 entertainment areas - a small piano bar and a larger band area - where music is played up until about midnight every night. Probably what is the largest shopping centre in Chiang Mai right next door. Right on the edge of the old city, so close to many temples, shops and entertainment.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the Doi Suthep wing for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to received your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great hotel. Rooms large and bed sensational. Great service and good breakfast. Free parking. Part of shopping mall. Internet charge a bit steep 80 bht for 30 minutes if you need to spend a lot of time on line, otherwise ok for checking emails once or twice a day.
Will return regularly.

Room Tip: Request one of the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to receive your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent five nights here and booked two deluxe rooms, with breakfast included.
Very old and shabby Hotel, but it was packed out for 3 of our 5 nights.
Rooms are large and traditional, but quite dark and seem unfriendly. We;ve stayed here on four previous occasions and usually have rooms overlooking the pool, but because of the great numbers of guests this was not possible in June.
Two conferences and also a Royal visit, to present merit awards to red Cross and Blood transfusion services by Princess Maha Chakri Sirindoorn. Naturally the hotel was decorated with flags and flowers and swarming with army. police and security ....what an honour for the staff.

The large pool is wonderful for relaxing and exercising. A pity the pool staff [ male and female ] are so obnoxious the way they treat the guests. The pool towels are tattered and torn and quite small. We were not allowed to take them with us on a visit to local hot springs. We used the room towels instead.
The gym and steam and dry saunas were not exactly buzzing, or even switched on !

Bonus for the hotel is the joining shopping mall and supermatket and restaurants. MISTER DONUT has great products and inexpensive coffee.


Wifi is expensive at hotel, so we use the internet cafe across the road from shopping Mall.

In spite of it's age the Hotel has a certain charm.......we could survive the rudeness of the pool staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangSuanKaewHotel, Manager at Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased to received your feedback. We will take your feedback to improve our service and sincerely hope we will have chance to serve you when you come to Chiang Mai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I had read conflicting reviews about the Lotus but after staying there for a couple of nights I would not hesitate to stay again. It is true, that you should book deluxe to get into the newer wing which is where the lovely (and huge) lobby is. The room is a little bigger than many deluxe rooms in comparable hotels. Not brand new, but comfortable, clean and neat. There is an awesome little Nautilus gym in the complex. The pool is quite big but some cracked tiles on the pool floor which could cause minor cuts.

But if you are visiting Chiang Mai for shopping, there is no better location. Adjoined to a massive shopping centre (Kad Suan Kaew) you walk straight into this shopping centre from the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. The old lady at the tour desk was exceptional. Book a tour from her, she offers great rates and goes out of her way to ensure a good tour.

The breakfast was above average but not outstanding. Plenty of variety though. Don't let any reviews scare you off this place. It is fine and I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

Remember the old lady at the tour desk. You won't do better than her!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew

Address: 21 Huay Kaew Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew is one of Chiang Mai's leading convention hotels, situated in the heart of the city. The hotel's location is unique, sitting adjacent to Kad Suan Kaew Shopping Complex and just a walking distance from Nimmanhaemin rd. Surrounded by Chiang Mai's best attraction and entertainment facilities, guests really are spoilt for choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.